Soldier's Heart: Being the Story of the Enlistment and Due Service of the Boy Charley Goddard in the First Minnesota Volunteers Being the Story of the Enlistment and Due Service of the Boy Charley Goddard in the First Minnesota Volunteers, Gary Paulsen
  • List: $8.95  |  Sale: $6.27
    Club: $4.47
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Soldier's Heart: Being the Story of the Enlistment and Due Service of the Boy Charley Goddard in the First Minnesota Volunteers

Author: Gary Paulsen

Narrator: George Wendt

Unabridged: 1 hr 39 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 07/05/2000

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Military & Wars

Synopsis

Gary Paulsen introduces readers to Charley Goddard in his latest novel, Soldier's Heart.  Charley goes to war a boy, and returns a changed man, crippled by what he has seen.  In this captivating tale Paulsen vividly shows readers the turmoil of war through one boy's eyes and one boy's heart, and gives a voice to all the anonymous young men who fought in the Civil War.


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

Zazoo, Richard Mosher
Zazoo
by Richard Mosher

Zazoo is Vietnamese by birth but feels entirely French. She has lived with her adoptive Grand-Pierre in France in an old stone mill between the river and the canal since she was two, sharing poetry, adventures, and the predictable rhythms of the sea...

Narrator: Joanna Wyatt
Published: 07/23/2002

Front Lines, Michael Grant
Front Lines
by Michael Grant

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines.Wor...

Narrator: Therese Plummer
Published: 01/26/2016

The Bomb, Theodore Taylor
The Bomb
by Theodore Taylor

The winner of the Scott O'Dell Award, The Bomb is a powerful history lesson and a gripping tale of suspense that no listener will ever forget. In 1946, sixteen-year-old Sorry Rinamu watches as U.S. Navy warships appear off the coast of Bikini Island...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 11/25/2003

The River, Gary Paulsen
The River
by Gary Paulsen

The government sends Brian back to the Canadian wilderness in this beloved follow-up to the award-winning classic Hatchet from three-time Newbery Honor-winning author Gary Paulsen!   Two years after Brian Robeson survived fifty-four days alone ...

Narrator: Peter Coyote
Published: 07/05/2000

Hatchet, Gary Paulsen
Hatchet
by Gary Paulsen

13-year-old Brian Robeson learns to survive alone in the Canadian wilderness, armed with his hatchet and resourcefulness.

Narrator: Peter Coyote
Published: 07/05/2000

Brian's Winter, Gary Paulsen
Brian's Winter
by Gary Paulsen

In Hatchet, 13-year-old Brian Robeson learned to survive alone in the Canadian wilderness, armed only with his hatchet. Finally, as millions of readers know, he was rescued at the end of the summer. But what if Brian hadn't been rescued? What if he ...

Narrator: Richard Thomas
Published: 03/11/2008

Four-Four-Two, Dean Hughes
Four-Four-Two
by Dean Hughes

From the author of Soldier Boys and Search and Destroy comes a thought-provoking, action-packed story based on the little-known history of the Japanese Americans who fought with the 442nd Regimental Combat Team during World War II. Yuki Nakahara is ...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 11/08/2016

Missing in Action, Dean Hughes
Missing in Action
by Dean Hughes

Dirty. Lazy. Good-for-nothing. Jay Thacker is used to being called names because his dad is half Navajo. But things are different after he and his mother move to a small town in Utah to stay with his grandparents during WWII. Jay makes friends and e...

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 10/14/2016

The Great War Stories Inspired by Items from the First World War, David Almond
The Great War
by David Almond

In a powerful collection, eleven internationally acclaimed fiction writers draw on personal objects to bring the First World War to life for listeners of all ages.A toy soldier. A butter dish. A compass. Mundane objects, perhaps, but to the remarkab...

Narrator: Nico Evers-Swindell
Published: 04/14/2015
{"id":"319356","ean":"9780553751932","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Soldier's Heart: Being the Story of the Enlistment and Due Service of the Boy Charley Goddard in the First Minnesota Volunteers","subtitle":"Being the Story of the Enlistment and Due Service of the Boy Charley Goddard in the First Minnesota Volunteers","author":"Gary Paulsen","rating_average":"5","narrator":"George Wendt","ubr_id":"319356","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"8.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"5.82","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"George Wendt","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 1 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}