Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker, James McManus
  • List: $10.99  |  Sale: $7.70
    Club: $5.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker

Author: James McManus

Narrator: James McManus

Abridged: 3 hr 35 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 04/01/2003

Genre: Games - Card Games - Poker

Synopsis

Rough sex, black magic, and the science--and eros--of gambling.Meet in the ultimate book about Las Vegas.James McManus was sent to Las Vegas by Harper's to cover the World Series of Poker in 2000, especially the mushrooming progress of women in the $23-million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament's prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outre it took a Manhattan pathologist to identify it. Whether a jury would convict the attractive young couple was another story altogether.McManus risks his entire Harper's advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. Only with actual table experience, he tells his skeptical wife, can he capture the hair-raising brand of poker that determines the world champion. The heart of the book is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament itself--the players, the hand-to-hand, and his own unlikely progress in it.Written in the tradition of The Gambler and The Biggest Game in Town, Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure, a penetrating study of America's card game, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man's effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called "Pleistocene exigencies"--the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.

Recommended

Beat the Dealer A Winning Strategy for the Game of Twenty-One, Edward O. Thorp
Beat the Dealer
by Edward O. Thorp

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: Marc Cashman
Published: 03/22/2016

Poker: The Best Techniques For Making You A Better Player. Everything You Need To Know About Poker From Beginner To Expert: (Ultimiate Poker Book), My Ebook Publishing House
Poker: The Best Techniques For Making...
by My Ebook Publishing House

$0.00 with Free Trial

Narrator: Matt Montanez
Published: 06/19/2017

Straight Flush The True Story of Six College Friends Who Dealt Their Way to a Billion-Dollar Online Poker Empire--and How it All Came Crashing Down…, Ben Mezrich
Straight Flush
by Ben Mezrich

List: $18.99

Sale: $13.29

Club: $9.49

Narrator: Sean Pratt
Published: 05/28/2013
{"id":"243489","ean":"9781593971151","abr":"Abridged","title":"Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker","subtitle":"Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker","author":"James McManus","rating_average":"0","narrator":"James McManus","ubr_id":"0","abr_id":"243489","ubr_price":"0.00","abr_price":"10.99","ubr_memprice":"0.00","abr_memprice":"6.59","ubr_narrator":"","abr_narrator":"James McManus","ubr_length":"Unabridged: ","abr_length":"Abridged: 3 hr"}