Pearl Harbor: A Novel of December 8th A Novel of December 8th, Newt Gingrich
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Pearl Harbor: A Novel of December 8th

Author: Newt Gingrich, William R. Forstchen

Narrator: William Dufris

Unabridged: 12 hr 31 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 05/15/2007

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 2

Synopsis

"A Thrilling Tale of the Attack That Marked America's Darkest Day" ---W.E.B. GriffinPresident Franklin D. Roosevelt's speech on December 8, 1941, lasted a mere six and half minutes. But his words and tone—in a monologue that would later be named the Infamy Speech—sent ripples into a nation and a world that continue even today. The historical implications that emerged from the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor were unprecedented, launching America not only into the depths of a dangerous war, but forever altering the safety and comfort of everyday living. December 8th became a day of speaking out publicly and declaring war; of action, battle, plotting, and victories. This date's significance is resonant and profound as an indelible moment in American history.Fresh from their series on the American Civil War, bestselling authors Newt Gingrich and William R. Forstchen now launch a new epic adventure by applying their imaginations and knowledge to the "Date of Infamy"—the attack on Pearl Harbor.Pearl Harbor covers the full spectrum of characters and events from that historic moment, from national leaders and admirals to the views of ordinary citizens caught in the chaos of war. From the chambers of the Emperor of Japan to the American White House, from the decks of aircraft carriers to the playing fields of the Japanese Naval Academy, this powerful story stretches from the nightmare slaughter of China in the 1930s to the lonely office of Commander James Watson, an American cryptographer, who suspects the impending catastrophic attack. It is a story of intrigue, double-dealing, the horrific brutality of war, and the desperate efforts of men of reason on both sides to prevent a titanic struggle that becomes inevitable.Gingrich and Forstchen's now critically acclaimed approach, which they term "active history," examines how a change in but one decision might have profoundly altered American history. In Pearl Harbor, they pose the question of how the presence of but one more man within the Japanese attacking force could have transfigured the war. More than a retelling, the book also serves as a potent warning, valid still today as an example of what happens when communications and understanding breaks down, and a nation is ill-prepared for the onslaught that might ensue. A compelling, meticulously researched saga, Pearl Harbor is also a novel of valor about those who took part in this cataclysmic moment in world history. It inaugurates a dramatic new Pacific War series that begins with the terrifying account of the day that started it all.

Recommended

Days of Infamy, Newt Gingrich
Days of Infamy
by Newt Gingrich

Gingrich and Forstchen's now critically acclaimed approach, which they term "active history," examines how a change in but one decision might have profoundly altered American history. In Pearl Harbor they explored how history might have been changed...

Narrator: William Dufris
Published: 04/29/2008

The Wartime Sisters A Novel, Lynda Cohen Loigman
The Wartime Sisters
by Lynda Cohen Loigman

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author, Alyson Richman and Lauren Willig. The next powerful audiobook from the author of The Two-Family House about two sisters working in a WWII armory, each with a deep secret. Two estranged si...

Narrator: Emily Lawrence
Published: 01/22/2019

The Paris Seamstress, Natasha Lester
The Paris Seamstress
by Natasha Lester

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally bestselling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.1940: As the German...

Narrator: Penelope Rawlins
Published: 09/18/2018

The Orphan's Tale, Pam Jenoff
The Orphan's Tale
by Pam Jenoff

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after be...

Narrator: Jennifer Wydra
Published: 02/21/2017

The Lost Girls of Paris A Novel, Pam Jenoff
The Lost Girls of Paris
by Pam Jenoff

From the author of the runaway bestseller The Orphan’s Tale comes a remarkable story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female secret agents during World War II.1946, ManhattanOne morning while passing through...

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Published: 01/29/2019

The Girl They Left Behind, Roxanne Veletzos
The Girl They Left Behind
by Roxanne Veletzos

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.On a fr...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 10/09/2018

Cilka's Journey A Novel, Heather Morris
Cilka's Journey
by Heather Morris

From the author of the multi-million copy bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz comes a new novel based on an incredible true story of love and resilience. Her beauty saved her — and condemned her. Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is ...

Narrator: Louise Brealey
Published: 10/01/2019

The Lost Vintage, Ann Mah
The Lost Vintage
by Ann Mah

“If you enjoyed my Sarah’s Key and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, then this wonderful book by Ann Mah is for you.” -- Tatiana de RosnaySweetbitter meets The Nightingale in this page-turning novel about a woman who re...

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/19/2018

The Winemaker's Wife, Kristin Harmel
The Winemaker's Wife
by Kristin Harmel

Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star “Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past…fantastic!” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling...

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 08/13/2019
{"id":"242708","ean":"9781427201287","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Pearl Harbor: A Novel of December 8th","subtitle":"A Novel of December 8th","author":"Newt Gingrich","rating_average":"0","narrator":"William Dufris","ubr_id":"242708","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"William Dufris","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 12 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}