Optimists Die First, Susin Nielsen
  • List: $18.00  |  Sale: $12.60
    Club: $9.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Optimists Die First

Author: Susin Nielsen

Narrator: Julia Whelan

Unabridged: 4 hr 58 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 02/21/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Family

Synopsis

Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will.
 
Beware: Life ahead.
 
Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy life, Petula shut herself off from the world after a family tragedy. She sees danger in all the ordinary things, like crossing the street, a bug bite, or a germy handshake. She knows: life is out to get you.
 
The worst part of her week is her comically lame mandatory art therapy class with a small group of fellow misfits. Then a new boy, Jacob, appears at school and in her therapy group. He seems so normal and confident, though he has a prosthetic arm; and soon he teams up with Petula on a hilarious project, gradually inspiring her to let go of some of her fears. But as the two grow closer, a hidden truth behind why he’s in the group threatens to derail them, unless Petula takes a huge risk. . .

Praise:
Bank Street Best Children’s Books of the Year

“Nielsen writes with sensitivity, empathy, and humor.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred
 
“Nielsen excels at depicting troubled, clever teenagers in familiar environments.” —School Library Journal, Starred 

“[An] empathic and deeply moving story, balanced by sharply funny narration and dialogue.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred

“A poignant exploration into the nuances of healing.” —Quill and Quire, Starred

Recommended

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs
Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
by Ransom Riggs

A mysterious island.An abandoned orphanage.A strange collection of very curious photographs.It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that makes for a thrilling listening experience. A...

Narrator: Jesse Bernstein
Published: 06/07/2011

Winter, Marissa Meyer
Winter
by Marissa Meyer

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana. W...

Narrator: Rebecca Soler
Published: 11/10/2015

Cress, Marissa Meyer
Cress
by Marissa Meyer

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!In this third book in Marissa Meyer's bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they're plotting to overthrow Queen L...

Narrator: Rebecca Soler
Published: 02/04/2014

The Outsiders, S. E. Hinton
The Outsiders
by S. E. Hinton

50 years of an iconic classic! This international bestseller and inspiration for a beloved movie is a heroic story of friendship and belonging. No one ever said life was easy. But Ponyboy is pretty sure that he's got things figured out. He...

Narrator: Jim Fyfe
Published: 07/13/2004

Insurgent, Veronica Roth
Insurgent
by Veronica Roth

One choice can destroy you. Veronica Roth's second #1 New York Times bestseller continues the dystopian thrill ride that began in Divergent.A hit with both teen and adult readers, Insurgent is the action-packed, emotional adventure that inspired th...

Narrator: Emma Galvin
Published: 05/01/2012

Cinder Book One of the Lunar Chronicles, Marissa Meyer
Cinder
by Marissa Meyer

The #1 New York Times Bestselling Series!A wicked mash-up of fairy tale and Terminatora€”set in a Star Wars kind of worlda€”Marissa Meyer's Cinder is a fresh and fiercely ingenious futuristic retelling of CinderellaHumans and a...

Narrator: Rebecca Soler
Published: 01/03/2012

Thirteen Reasons Why, Jay Asher
Thirteen Reasons Why
by Jay Asher

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES AND INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER**SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES**“Eerie, beautiful, and devastating.” —Chicago Tribune“A stealthy hit with staying power. . . . thriller-like pacing.”&#...

Narrator: Debra Wiseman
Published: 10/23/2007

Lord of the Flies, William Golding
Lord of the Flies
by William Golding

William Golding's classic novel of primitive savagery and survival is one of the most vividly realized and riveting works in modern fiction. The tale begins after a plane wreck deposits a group of English school boys, aged six to twelve on an isola...

Narrator: William Golding
Published: 11/26/2002

The Giver, Lois Lowry
The Giver
by Lois Lowry

Lois Lowry’s The Giver is the quintessential dystopian novel, followed by its remarkable companions, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son.Jonas's world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear of pain. There are no choice...

Narrator: Ron Rifkin
Published: 07/05/2000
{"id":"1541364","ean":"9781524723033","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Optimists Die First","subtitle":"","author":"Susin Nielsen","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Julia Whelan","ubr_id":"1541364","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.70","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Julia Whelan","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}