Optimists Die First, Susin Nielsen
  • List: $18.00  |  Sale: $12.60
    Club: $9.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Optimists Die First

Author: Susin Nielsen

Narrator: Julia Whelan

Unabridged: 4 hr 58 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 02/21/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Family

Ages: 13 - 17

Synopsis

Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will.
 
Beware: Life ahead.
 
Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy life, Petula shut herself off from the world after a family tragedy. She sees danger in all the ordinary things, like crossing the street, a bug bite, or a germy handshake. She knows: life is out to get you.
 
The worst part of her week is her comically lame mandatory art therapy class with a small group of fellow misfits. Then a new boy, Jacob, appears at school and in her therapy group. He seems so normal and confident, though he has a prosthetic arm; and soon he teams up with Petula on a hilarious project, gradually inspiring her to let go of some of her fears. But as the two grow closer, a hidden truth behind why he’s in the group threatens to derail them, unless Petula takes a huge risk. . .

Praise:
Bank Street Best Children’s Books of the Year

“Nielsen writes with sensitivity, empathy, and humor.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred
 
“Nielsen excels at depicting troubled, clever teenagers in familiar environments.” —School Library Journal, Starred 

“[An] empathic and deeply moving story, balanced by sharply funny narration and dialogue.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred

“A poignant exploration into the nuances of healing.” —Quill and Quire, Starred

Recommended

If I Stay, Gayle Forman
If I Stay
by Gayle Forman

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Published: 04/16/2009

Secret Heart, David Almond
Secret Heart
by David Almond

List: $12.95

Sale: $9.07

Club: $6.47

Narrator: Graeme Malcolm
Published: 10/08/2002

We Were Liars, E. Lockhart
We Were Liars
by E. Lockhart

List: $18.00

Sale: $12.60

Club: $9.00

Narrator: Ariadne Meyers
Published: 05/13/2014

The Silence of Murder, Dandi Daley Mackall
The Silence of Murder
by Dandi Daley Mackall

List: $24.00

Sale: $16.80

Club: $12.00

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 10/09/2012

Tilt, Ellen Hopkins
Tilt
by Ellen Hopkins

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne
Published: 02/11/2014

Smoke, Ellen Hopkins
Smoke
by Ellen Hopkins

List: $17.95

Sale: $12.57

Club: $8.97

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 09/10/2013

Saint Anything, Sarah Dessen
Saint Anything
by Sarah Dessen

List: $27.50

Sale: $19.25

Club: $13.75

Narrator: Taylor Meskimen
Published: 05/05/2015

Long Way Down, Jason Reynolds
Long Way Down
by Jason Reynolds

List: $9.99

Sale: $7.00

Club: $4.99

Narrator: Jason Reynolds
Published: 10/24/2017

Kit's Wilderness, David Almond
Kit's Wilderness
by David Almond

List: $10.95

Sale: $7.67

Club: $5.47

Narrator: Charles Keating
Published: 03/07/2000
{"id":"1541364","ean":"9781524723033","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Optimists Die First","subtitle":"","author":"Susin Nielsen","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Julia Whelan","ubr_id":"1541364","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.70","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Julia Whelan","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}