Optimists Die First, Susin Nielsen
  • List: $18.00  |  Sale: $12.60
    Club: $9.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Optimists Die First

Author: Susin Nielsen

Narrator: Julia Whelan

Unabridged: 4 hr 58 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 02/21/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Family

Synopsis

Award-winning author Susin Nielsen has written a laugh-out-loud and heartrending novel for fans of Robyn Schneider’s Extraordinary Means and Cammie McGovern’s Say What You Will.
 
Beware: Life ahead.
 
Sixteen-year-old Petula de Wilde is anything but wild. A former crafting fiend with a happy life, Petula shut herself off from the world after a family tragedy. She sees danger in all the ordinary things, like crossing the street, a bug bite, or a germy handshake. She knows: life is out to get you.
 
The worst part of her week is her comically lame mandatory art therapy class with a small group of fellow misfits. Then a new boy, Jacob, appears at school and in her therapy group. He seems so normal and confident, though he has a prosthetic arm; and soon he teams up with Petula on a hilarious project, gradually inspiring her to let go of some of her fears. But as the two grow closer, a hidden truth behind why he’s in the group threatens to derail them, unless Petula takes a huge risk. . .

Praise:
Bank Street Best Children’s Books of the Year

“Nielsen writes with sensitivity, empathy, and humor.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred
 
“Nielsen excels at depicting troubled, clever teenagers in familiar environments.” —School Library Journal, Starred 

“[An] empathic and deeply moving story, balanced by sharply funny narration and dialogue.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred

“A poignant exploration into the nuances of healing.” —Quill and Quire, Starred

Recommended

Saint Anything, Sarah Dessen
Saint Anything
by Sarah Dessen

Peyton, Sydney's charismatic older brother, has always been the star of the family, receiving the lion's share of their parents' attention and—lately—concern. When Peyton's increasingly reckless behavior culminates in an accident, a drun...

Narrator: Taylor Meskimen
Published: 05/05/2015

Bridge of Clay, Markus Zusak
Bridge of Clay
by Markus Zusak

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERAn unforgettable family saga from Markus Zusak, the storyteller who gave us the extraordinary bestseller THE BOOK THIEF, lauded by the New York Times as "the kind of book that can be life-changing." "One of those...

Narrator: Markus Zusak
Published: 10/09/2018

If I Stay, Gayle Forman
If I Stay
by Gayle Forman

In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken fr...

Narrator: Kirsten Potter
Published: 04/16/2009

Miracle on 49th Street, Mike Lupica
Miracle on 49th Street
by Mike Lupica

Josh Cameron is basketball royalty–MVP of the Championship Boston Celtics and a media darling with a spotless reputation. He’s got it all, including something he never even knew he had: a daughter.Twelve-year-old Molly Parker catches Jos...

Narrator: Michele Santopietro
Published: 10/24/2006

Sweet Reckoning, Wendy Higgins
Sweet Reckoning
by Wendy Higgins

Embrace Your fateIt's time.Evil is running rampant, and sweet Anna Whitt is its target. Nobody knows when or how the Dukes will strike, but Anna and her Nephilim allies will do anything necessary to rid the earth of the demons and their oppress...

Narrator: Erin Mallon
Published: 04/29/2014

Long Way Down, Jason Reynolds
Long Way Down
by Jason Reynolds

A YALSA 2018 Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults Selection A Newbery Honor Book A Coretta Scott King Honor Book A Printz Honor Book A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner for Young Adult Literature Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young Peo...

Narrator: Jason Reynolds
Published: 10/24/2017

Emmy & Oliver, Robin Benway
Emmy & Oliver
by Robin Benway

Emmy and Oliver were going to be best friends forever, or maybe even more, before their futures were ripped apart. In Emmy's soul, despite the space and time between them, their connection has never been severed. But is their story still writte...

Narrator: Phoebe Strole
Published: 06/23/2015

We Were Liars, E. Lockhart
We Were Liars
by E. Lockhart

A New York Times BestsellerOne of James Patterson's "Favorite Thrillers for the Beach" (New York Times)"Haunting, sophisticated . . . a novel so twisty and well-told that it will appeal to older readers as well as to adolescents." —Wall Street...

Narrator: Ariadne Meyers
Published: 05/13/2014

Far from the Tree, Robin Benway
Far from the Tree
by Robin Benway

National Book Award Winner and New York Times Bestseller!Perfect for fans of NBC's "This Is Us," Robin Benway’s beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the meaning of family in all its forms&...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 12/05/2017
{"id":"1541364","ean":"9781524723033","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Optimists Die First","subtitle":"","author":"Susin Nielsen","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Julia Whelan","ubr_id":"1541364","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"18.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.70","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Julia Whelan","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 5 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}