My Name Is Mary Sutter, Robin Oliveira
  • List: $24.00  |  Sale: $16.80
    Club: $12.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

My Name Is Mary Sutter

Author: Robin Oliveira

Narrator: Kimberly Farr

Unabridged: 14 hr 39 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Published: 05/13/2010

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

In this stunning historical novel, Mary Sutter is a brilliant, headstrongmidwife from Albany, New York, who dreams of becominga surgeon. Determined to overcome the prejudices against womenin medicine—and eager to run away from her recent heartbreak—Mary leaves home and travels to Washington, D.C. to help tendthe legions of Civil War wounded. Under the guidance of WilliamStipp and James Blevens—two surgeons who fall unwittingly inlove with Mary’s courage, will, and stubbornness in the face ofsuffering—and resisting her mother’s pleas to return home to helpwith the birth of her twin sister’s baby, Mary pursues her medicalcareer in the desperately overwhelmed hospitals of the capital.Like Charles Frazier’s Cold Mountain and Robert Hicks’s TheWidow of the South, My Name Is Mary Sutter powerfully evokesthe atmosphere of the period. Rich with historical detail (includingmarvelous depictions of Lincoln, Dorothea Dix, GeneralMcClellan, and John Hay among others), and full of the tragediesand challenges of wartime, My Name Is Mary Sutter is an exceptionalnovel. And in Mary herself, Robin Oliveira has created atruly unforgettable heroine whose unwavering determination andvulnerability will resonate with readers everywhere.

Recommended

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, Jamie Ford
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
by Jamie Ford

"Sentimental, heartfelt….the exploration of Henry’s changing relationship with his family and with Keiko will keep most readers turning pages...A timely debut that not only reminds readers of a shameful episode in American history, ...

Narrator: Feodor Chin
Published: 01/27/2009

The Thirteenth Tale, Diane Setterfield
The Thirteenth Tale
by Diane Setterfield

When Margaret Lea opened the door to the past, what she confronted was her destiny. All children mythologize their birth. . . . So begins the prologue of reclusive author Vida Winter's beloved collection of stories, long famous for the mystery of ...

Narrator: Bianca Amato,Lynn Redgrave
Published: 09/12/2006

A Reliable Wife, Robert Goolrick
A Reliable Wife
by Robert Goolrick

Robert Goolrick’s riveting debut novel is both foreboding and sensual. When a wealthy man first meets his mail-order bride in 1907, he realizes this statuesque beauty is anything but a “simple missionary’s daughter.” But he d...

Narrator: Mark Feuerstein
Published: 04/16/2009

The White Queen, Philippa Gregory
The White Queen
by Philippa Gregory

Philippa Gregory, "the queen of royal fiction" (USA Today) Presents the first of a new series set amid the deadly feuds of England known as the Wars of the Roses. Brother turns on brother to win the ultimate prize, the throne of England, in this d...

Narrator: Emilia Fox,Bianca Amato
Published: 08/18/2009

Sarah's Key, Tatiana de Rosnay
Sarah's Key
by Tatiana de Rosnay

Paris, July 1942: Sarah, a ten year-old girl, is brutally arrested with her family by the French police in the Vel' d'Hiv' roundup, but not before she locks her younger brother in a cupboard in the family's apartment, thinking that she will be back ...

Narrator: Polly Stone
Published: 04/29/2009

The Orchardist, Amanda Coplin
The Orchardist
by Amanda Coplin

“[A] mysterious, compelling, elemental novel….In The Orchardist, Amanda Coplin shows us what’s unknowable.” —Bonnie Jo Campbell, author of National Book Award finalist, American Salvage“Within this world are comp...

Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Published: 08/21/2012

Mistress of the Art of Death, Ariana Franklin
Mistress of the Art of Death
by Ariana Franklin

The national bestselling hit hailed by the New York Times as a "vibrant medieval mystery...[it] outdoes the competition." In medieval Cambridge, England, Adelia, a female forensics expert, is summoned by King Henry II to investigate a series of gru...

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor
Published: 02/06/2007

Year of Wonders A Novel of the Plague, Geraldine Brooks
Year of Wonders
by Geraldine Brooks

An unforgettable tale of a brave young woman during the plague in 17th century England from the author The Secret Chord and of March, winner of the Pulitzer Prize.  When an infected bolt of cloth carries plague from London to an isolated v...

Narrator: Geraldine Brooks
Published: 08/05/2010

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly BestsellerFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two f...

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017
{"id":"896238","ean":"9781101223024","abr":"Unabridged","title":"My Name Is Mary Sutter","subtitle":"","author":"Robin Oliveira","rating_average":"4.75","narrator":"Kimberly Farr","ubr_id":"896238","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"15.60","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kimberly Farr","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 14 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}