Mama Flora's Family, Alex Haley
  • List: $15.95  |  Sale: $11.16
    Club: $7.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Mama Flora's Family

Author: Alex Haley, David Stevens

Narrator: Debbi Morgan

Abridged: 5 hr 48 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 10/01/1998

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

In the tradition of Roots and Queen, Mama Flora's Family is a sweeping epic of contemporary American history, culled from the unpublished works of award-winning writer Alex Haley. It is the poignant story of three generations of an African-American family who start out as destitute sharecroppers in Tennessee.Mama Flora is the heart and strength of the family, shepherding her children through hard times after the murder of her husband by white land holders. She has passionate ambitions for her son Willie, but he dashes her dreams by abandoning his church-going roots and moving to Chicago. After fighting in the Second World War, he marries his childhood sweetheart and struggles to build a new urban life for his family.Flora's dreams are realized by Ruthana, her sister's child, whom Mama Flora adopts. Ruthana graduates from college, and as a social worker in Harlem, counsels underprivileged women. Through her love for the radical poet Ben, Ruthana begins to understand her heritage, and after a sojourn in Africa comes to a redemptive understanding of herself.In Chicago, Willie's twin son and daughter embrace Muslim militancy and Black Power, and eventually, drugs on their rocky road through the 1960s. Mama Flora struggles to maintain her family, but she also is caught up in the turbulent times.Mama Flora's Family is an American tale as dramatic and touching as anything Alex Haley ever wrote.

Recommended

City of Girls A Novel, Elizabeth Gilbert
City of Girls
by Elizabeth Gilbert

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Blair Brown
Published: 06/04/2019

Where the Crawdads Sing, Delia Owens
Where the Crawdads Sing
by Delia Owens

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 08/14/2018

Olive, Again A Novel, Elizabeth Strout
Olive, Again
by Elizabeth Strout

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Kimberly Farr
Published: 10/15/2019

In the Beauty of the Lilies A Novel, John Updike
In the Beauty of the Lilies
by John Updike

List: $27.50

Sale: $19.25

Club: $13.75

Narrator: Jason Culp
Published: 01/28/2020

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005

The Secrets We Kept A novel, Lara Prescott
The Secrets We Kept
by Lara Prescott

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Carlotta Brentan
Published: 09/03/2019

The End of the Ocean A Novel, Maja Lunde
The End of the Ocean
by Maja Lunde

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Jane Copland
Published: 01/14/2020

The Heap A Novel, Sean Adams
The Heap
by Sean Adams

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: David Sadzin
Published: 01/07/2020
{"id":"494723","ean":"9780743549875","abr":"Abridged","title":"Mama Flora's Family","subtitle":"","author":"Alex Haley","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Debbi Morgan","ubr_id":"0","abr_id":"494723","ubr_price":"0.00","abr_price":"15.95","ubr_memprice":"0.00","abr_memprice":"9.57","ubr_narrator":"","abr_narrator":"Debbi Morgan","ubr_length":"Unabridged: ","abr_length":"Abridged: 5 hr 30 min"}