Letters to the Lost, Iona Grey
  • List: $32.99  |  Sale: $23.10
    Club: $16.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Letters to the Lost

Author: Iona Grey

Narrator: Avita Jay

Unabridged: 16 hr 56 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 05/06/2015

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 2

Synopsis

An accomplished novel from a talented writer, Letters to the Lost is a stunning, emotional love story. Iona Grey's prose is warm, evocative, and immediately engaging; her characters become so real you can't bear to let them go.I promised to love you forever, in a time when I didn't know if I'd live to see the start of another week. Now it looks like forever is finally running out. I never stopped loving you. I tried, for the sake of my own sanity, but I never even got close, and I never stopped hoping either.Late on a frozen February evening, a young woman is running through the streets of London. Having fled from her abusive boyfriend and with nowhere to go, Jess stumbles onto a forgotten lane where a small, clearly unlived in old house offers her best chance of shelter for the night. The next morning, a mysterious letter arrives and when she can't help but open it, she finds herself drawn inexorably into the story of two lovers from another time. In London 1942, Stella meets Dan, a US airman, quite by accident, but there is no denying the impossible, unstoppable attraction that draws them together. Dan is a B-17 pilot flying his bomber into Europe from a British airbase; his odds of survival are one in five. In the midst of such uncertainty, the one thing they hold onto is the letters they write to each other. Fate is unkind and they are separated by decades and continents. In the present, Jess becomes determined to find out what happened to them. Her hope—inspired by a love so powerful it spans a lifetime—will lead her to find a startling redemption in her own life in this powerfully moving novel.

Recommended

The Lost Vintage, Ann Mah
The Lost Vintage
by Ann Mah

“If you enjoyed my Sarah’s Key and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, then this wonderful book by Ann Mah is for you.” -- Tatiana de RosnaySweetbitter meets The Nightingale in this page-turning novel about a woman who re...

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/19/2018

Cilka's Journey A Novel, Heather Morris
Cilka's Journey
by Heather Morris

From the author of the multi-million copy bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz comes a new novel based on an incredible true story of love and resilience. Her beauty saved her — and condemned her. Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is ...

Narrator: Louise Brealey
Published: 10/01/2019

Days of Infamy, Newt Gingrich
Days of Infamy
by Newt Gingrich

Gingrich and Forstchen's now critically acclaimed approach, which they term "active history," examines how a change in but one decision might have profoundly altered American history. In Pearl Harbor they explored how history might have been changed...

Narrator: William Dufris
Published: 04/29/2008

The Orphan's Tale, Pam Jenoff
The Orphan's Tale
by Pam Jenoff

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after be...

Narrator: Jennifer Wydra
Published: 02/21/2017

The Winemaker's Wife, Kristin Harmel
The Winemaker's Wife
by Kristin Harmel

Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star “Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past…fantastic!” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling...

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 08/13/2019

The Lost Girls of Paris A Novel, Pam Jenoff
The Lost Girls of Paris
by Pam Jenoff

From the author of the runaway bestseller The Orphan’s Tale comes a remarkable story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female secret agents during World War II.1946, ManhattanOne morning while passing through...

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Published: 01/29/2019

The Paris Seamstress, Natasha Lester
The Paris Seamstress
by Natasha Lester

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally bestselling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.1940: As the German...

Narrator: Penelope Rawlins
Published: 09/18/2018

The Wartime Sisters A Novel, Lynda Cohen Loigman
The Wartime Sisters
by Lynda Cohen Loigman

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author, Alyson Richman and Lauren Willig. The next powerful audiobook from the author of The Two-Family House about two sisters working in a WWII armory, each with a deep secret. Two estranged si...

Narrator: Emily Lawrence
Published: 01/22/2019

The Girl They Left Behind, Roxanne Veletzos
The Girl They Left Behind
by Roxanne Veletzos

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.On a fr...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 10/09/2018
{"id":"949221","ean":"9781427262677","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Letters to the Lost","subtitle":"","author":"Iona Grey","rating_average":"4.5","narrator":"Avita Jay","ubr_id":"949221","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"32.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"19.79","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Avita Jay","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 17 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}