Juliet's Nurse, Lois Leveen
  • List: $23.99  |  Sale: $16.79
    Club: $11.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Juliet's Nurse

Author: Lois Leveen

Narrator: Nicola Barber

Unabridged: 10 hr 44 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 09/23/2014

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

An enthralling new telling of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet—told from the perspective of Juliet’s nurse.In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet-nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappellettis’ darkest secrets. Those secrets—and the nurse’s deep personal grief—erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter, and a family. By turns sensual, tragic, and comic, Juliet’s Nurse gives voice to one of literature’s most memorable and distinctive characters, a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona’s wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare’s play, this is a never-before-heard tale of the deepest love in Verona—the love between a grieving woman and the precious child of her heart. In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, Juliet’s Nurse is a rich prequel that reimagines the world’s most cherished tale of love and loss, suffering and survival.

Recommended

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018

Outlander, Diana Gabaldon
Outlander
by Diana Gabaldon

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: Davina Porter
Published: 03/30/2012

Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/05/2016

The Huntress A Novel, Kate Quinn
The Huntress
by Kate Quinn

List: $42.99

Sale: $30.10

Club: $21.49

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 02/26/2019

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amor Towles

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 09/06/2016

The Nickel Boys A Novel, Colson Whitehead
The Nickel Boys
by Colson Whitehead

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: JD Jackson
Published: 07/16/2019

The Alice Network, Kate Quinn
The Alice Network
by Kate Quinn

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/06/2017

Heads You Win, Jeffrey Archer
Heads You Win
by Jeffrey Archer

List: $32.99

Sale: $23.10

Club: $16.49

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 11/06/2018
{"id":"596424","ean":"9781442376335","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Juliet's Nurse","subtitle":"","author":"Lois Leveen","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Nicola Barber","ubr_id":"596424","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Nicola Barber","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 44 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}