How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens, Benedict Carey
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens

Author: Benedict Carey

Narrator: Steve Kramer

Unabridged: 7 hr 20 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 09/09/2014

Genre: Psychology - Cognitive Psychology

Synopsis

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives.

From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We’re told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the music, and maintain a strict ritual if we want to ace that test, memorize that presentation, or nail that piano recital.

But what if almost everything we were told about learning is wrong? And what if there was a way to achieve more with less effort?

In How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey’s search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives—and less of a chore.

By road testing many of the counterintuitive techniques described in this book, Carey shows how we can flex the neural muscles that make deep learning possible. Along the way he reveals why teachers should give final exams on the first day of class, why it’s wise to interleave subjects and concepts when learning any new skill, and when it’s smarter to stay up late prepping for that presentation than to rise early for one last cram session. And if this requires some suspension of disbelief, that’s because the research defies what we’ve been told, throughout our lives, about how best to learn.

The brain is not like a muscle, at least not in any straightforward sense. It is something else altogether, sensitive to mood, to timing, to circadian rhythms, as well as to location and environment. It doesn’t take orders well, to put it mildly. If the brain is a learning machine, then it is an eccentric one. In How We Learn, Benedict Carey shows us how to exploit its quirks to our advantage.

Recommended

Smarter Next Year The Revolutionary Science for a Smarter, Happier You, Dr. David Bardsley
Smarter Next Year
by Dr. David Bardsley

List: $9.99

Sale: $7.00

Club: $4.99

Narrator: Tom Parks
Published: 03/05/2019

Thinking, Fast and Slow, Daniel Kahneman
Thinking, Fast and Slow
by Daniel Kahneman

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Patrick Egan
Published: 10/25/2011

The Organized Mind How to Put Things in Place, Focus on What Matters, and Live Well, Daniel J. Levitin
The Organized Mind
by Daniel J. Levitin

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Luke Daniels
Published: 08/19/2014

The Marshmallow Test Mastering Self-Control, Walter Mischel
The Marshmallow Test
by Walter Mischel

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Alan Alda
Published: 09/23/2014

The Biggest Bluff How I Learned to Pay Attention, Master Myself, and Win, Maria Konnikova
The Biggest Bluff
by Maria Konnikova

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Maria Konnikova
Published: 06/23/2020

The Anxiety Toolkit Strategies for Fine-Tuning Your Mind and Moving Past Your Stuck Points, Alice Boyes
The Anxiety Toolkit
by Alice Boyes

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Karen Saltus
Published: 05/01/2015

Stumbling on Happiness, Daniel Gilbert
Stumbling on Happiness
by Daniel Gilbert

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: Daniel Gilbert
Published: 05/02/2006

Successful Aging A Neuroscientist Explores the Power and Potential of Our Lives, Daniel J Levitin
Successful Aging
by Daniel J Levitin

List: $27.50

Sale: $19.25

Club: $13.75

Narrator: Daniel J Levitin
Published: 01/07/2020

The Biology of Desire Why Addiction Is Not a Disease, Marc Lewis
The Biology of Desire
by Marc Lewis

List: $34.98

Sale: $24.48

Club: $17.48

Narrator: Don Hagen
Published: 08/01/2015
{"id":"580945","ean":"9780449807781","abr":"Unabridged","title":"How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens","subtitle":"The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens","author":"Benedict Carey","rating_average":"4.67","narrator":"Steve Kramer","ubr_id":"580945","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Steve Kramer","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}