How We Disappeared, Jing-Jing Lee
  • List: $24.99  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

How We Disappeared

Author: Jing-Jing Lee

Narrator: Angela Lin, Ryun Yu

Unabridged: 11 hr 49 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 05/07/2019

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 2

Synopsis

*A Library Journal “Emerging Stars” Pick*A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel set in World War II Singapore about a woman who survived the Japanese occupation and a man who thought he had lost everything—for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky OnesSingapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a “comfort woman.” After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family’s experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

Recommended

To Wake the Giant A Novel of Pearl Harbor, Jeff Shaara
To Wake the Giant
by Jeff Shaara

List: $27.50

Sale: $19.25

Club: $13.75

Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Published: 05/19/2020

The Wartime Sisters A Novel, Lynda Cohen Loigman
The Wartime Sisters
by Lynda Cohen Loigman

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Emily Lawrence
Published: 01/22/2019

The Black Swan of Paris A Novel, Karen Robards
The Black Swan of Paris
by Karen Robards

List: $36.99

Sale: $25.90

Club: $18.49

Narrator: Nancy Peterson
Published: 06/30/2020

The Things We Cannot Say, Kelly Rimmer
The Things We Cannot Say
by Kelly Rimmer

List: $27.99

Sale: $19.59

Club: $13.99

Narrator: Ann Marie Gideon
Published: 03/19/2019

The Paris Seamstress, Natasha Lester
The Paris Seamstress
by Natasha Lester

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Penelope Rawlins
Published: 09/18/2018

Daughter of the Reich A Novel, Louise Fein
Daughter of the Reich
by Louise Fein

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Marisa Calin
Published: 05/12/2020

The Flight Girls A Novel, Noelle Salazar
The Flight Girls
by Noelle Salazar

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Xe Sands
Published: 07/02/2019

The Lost Girls of Paris A Novel, Pam Jenoff
The Lost Girls of Paris
by Pam Jenoff

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Published: 01/29/2019

The Girl They Left Behind, Roxanne Veletzos
The Girl They Left Behind
by Roxanne Veletzos

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 10/09/2018
{"id":"3106227","ean":"9781488206351","abr":"Unabridged","title":"How We Disappeared","subtitle":"","author":"Jing-Jing Lee","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Angela Lin","ubr_id":"3106227","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Angela Lin","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 49 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}