How Sex Works, Dr. Sharon Moalem
  • List: $21.99  |  Sale: $15.39
    Club: $10.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

How Sex Works

Author: Dr. Sharon Moalem

Narrator: Oliver Wyman

Unabridged: 8 hr 11 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 04/28/2009

Genre: Science - Life Sciences - Biology

Synopsis

“Read this book and discover sex again, but from a scientific perspective, and see why it evolved. It’s almost as much fun, and needs less energy.” — Peter Macinnis, author of 100 Discoveries: The Greatest Breakthroughs in History "How Sex Works manages to inject science writing with the prurient thrill of a gossip rag." —O magazine Medical maverick and New York Times bestselling author of Survival of the Sickest Dr. Sharon Moalem presents an insightful and engaging voyage through the surprising history and evolution of sexual reproduction. Fans of Freakonomics, Blink, You: The Owner’s Manual, and Why Do Men Have Nipples will find many engaging insights in How Sex Works.

Recommended

Behave The Biology of Humans at Our Best and Worst, Robert M. Sapolsky
Behave
by Robert M. Sapolsky

The New York Times bestseller“It’s no exaggeration to say that Behave is one of the best nonfiction books I’ve ever read.” —David P. Barash, The Wall Street Journal"It has my vote for science book of the ...

Narrator: Michael Goldstrom
Published: 05/02/2017

The Dragons of Eden Speculations on the Evolution of Human Intelligence, Carl Sagan
The Dragons of Eden
by Carl Sagan

The Pulitzer Prize WinnerDr. Carl Sagan takes us on a great reading adventure, offering his vivid and startling insight into the brain of man and beast, the origin of human intelligence, the function of our most haunting legends--and their amazing l...

Narrator: JD Jackson
Published: 07/25/2017

Bonk The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex, Mary Roach
Bonk
by Mary Roach

The study of sexual physiology—what happens, and why, and how to make it happen better—has been a paying career or a diverting sideline for scientists as far-ranging as Leonardo da Vinci and James Watson. The research has taken place beh...

Narrator: Sandra Burr
Published: 04/07/2008

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Rebecca Skloot
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
by Rebecca Skloot

Now a major motion picture from HBO® starring Oprah Winfrey and Rose Byrne.Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer who worked the same land as her slave ancestors, yet her cells&mdas...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 02/02/2010

The Human Superorganism How the Microbiome Is Revolutionizing the Pursuit of a Healthy Life, Rodney Dietert, PhD
The Human Superorganism
by Rodney Dietert, PhD

"Eyeopening... Fascinating... may presage a paradigm shift in medicine.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"Teeming with information and big ideas... Outstanding.”—Booklist (starred review)The origin of asth...

Narrator: Jonathan Todd Ross
Published: 07/12/2016

Signature in the Cell DNA and the Evidence for Intelligent Design, Stephen C. Meyer
Signature in the Cell
by Stephen C. Meyer

Named one of the top books of 2009 by the Times Literary Supplement (London), this controversial and compelling audiobook from Dr. Stephen C. Meyer presents a convincing new case for intelligent design (ID), based on revolutionary discoveries in sc...

Narrator: Derek Shetterly
Published: 12/20/2016

I Contain Multitudes The Microbes Within Us and a Grander View of Life, Ed Yong
I Contain Multitudes
by Ed Yong

Joining the ranks of popular science classics like The Botany of Desire and The Selfish Gene, a groundbreaking, wondrously informative, and vastly entertaining examination of the most significant revolution in biology since Darwin—a “mi...

Narrator: Charlie Anson
Published: 08/09/2016

The Red Queen Sex and the Evolution of Human Nature, Matt Ridley
The Red Queen
by Matt Ridley

Referring to Lewis Carroll's Red Queen from Through the Looking-Glass, a character who has to keep running to stay in the same place, Matt Ridley demonstrates why sex is humanity's best strategy for outwitting its constantly mutating internal preda...

Narrator: Simon Prebble
Published: 01/18/2011

An Elegant Defense The Extraordinary New Science of the Immune System: A Tale in Four Lives, Matt Richtel
An Elegant Defense
by Matt Richtel

A magnificently reported and soulfully crafted exploration of the human immune system–the key to health and wellness, life and death. An epic, first-of-its-kind book, entwining leading-edge scientific discovery with the intimate stories of fo...

Narrator: Fred Sanders
Published: 03/12/2019
{"id":"172130","ean":"9780061768705","abr":"Unabridged","title":"How Sex Works","subtitle":"","author":"Dr. Sharon Moalem","rating_average":"4.25","narrator":"Oliver Wyman","ubr_id":"172130","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"21.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Oliver Wyman","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 11 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}