House on Endless Waters: A Novel, Emuna Elon
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

House on Endless Waters: A Novel

Author: Emuna Elon

Narrator: Jonathan Davis

Unabridged: 10 hr 9 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 01/07/2020

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 2

Synopsis

“Readers will find Elon’s lyrical prose haunting as she moves between past and present, constructing a heartbreaking, moving tale that brings understanding and acceptance.” —Booklist “Extraordinary—a vibrant, page-turning family mystery.” —Jennifer Cody Epstein, bestselling author of Wunderland “A story of love, loss, and yearning. Lyrically phrased and often powerfully visual…this deeply felt tale offers a rewarding meditation on survival.” —Kirkus Reviews, (starred review) In the tradition of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, comes an exquisitely moving novel about a writer who discovers the truth about his mother’s wartime years in Amsterdam, unearthing a shocking family secret that becomes the subject of his magnum opus.At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to promote his books, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Historical Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon footage portraying prewar Dutch Jewry and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with his father, his older sister...and an infant he doesn’t recognize. This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, shining a light on Amsterdam’s dark wartime history—the underground networks that hid Jewish children away from danger and those who betrayed their own for the sake of survival. The deeper into the past Yoel digs to tell the story of his life, the better he understands his mother’s silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime—Who am I?—becomes. Part family mystery, part wartime drama, House on Endless Waters is an unforgettable meditation on identity, belonging, and the inextricable nature of past and present.

Recommended

The Book of Lost Names, Kristin Harmel
The Book of Lost Names
by Kristin Harmel

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Madeleine Maby
Published: 07/21/2020

Fast Girls A Novel of the 1936 Women’s Olympic Team., Elise Hooper
Fast Girls
by Elise Hooper

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Karissa Vacker
Published: 07/07/2020

The Winemaker's Wife, Kristin Harmel
The Winemaker's Wife
by Kristin Harmel

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 08/13/2019

The London Restoration, Rachel McMillan
The London Restoration
by Rachel McMillan

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Hannah Curtis
Published: 08/18/2020

Cilka's Journey A Novel, Heather Morris
Cilka's Journey
by Heather Morris

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Louise Brealey
Published: 10/01/2019

The Things We Cannot Say, Kelly Rimmer
The Things We Cannot Say
by Kelly Rimmer

List: $27.99

Sale: $19.59

Club: $13.99

Narrator: Ann Marie Gideon
Published: 03/19/2019

The Lost Girls of Paris A Novel, Pam Jenoff
The Lost Girls of Paris
by Pam Jenoff

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Published: 01/29/2019

The Flight Girls A Novel, Noelle Salazar
The Flight Girls
by Noelle Salazar

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Xe Sands
Published: 07/02/2019

The Black Swan of Paris A Novel, Karen Robards
The Black Swan of Paris
by Karen Robards

List: $36.99

Sale: $25.90

Club: $18.49

Narrator: Nancy Peterson
Published: 06/30/2020
{"id":"3616757","ean":"9781797102382","abr":"Unabridged","title":"House on Endless Waters: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Emuna Elon","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Jonathan Davis","ubr_id":"3616757","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jonathan Davis","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 8 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}