Home and Away: A World War II Christmas Story A World War II Christmas Story, Dean Hughes
  • List: $13.95  |  Sale: $9.77
    Club: $6.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Home and Away: A World War II Christmas Story

Author: Dean Hughes

Narrator: Kirby Heyborne

Unabridged: 4 hr 5 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 12/01/2015

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

A historical fiction novel told from the perspective of a son fighting on the battlefields of Europe during World War II and his mother, struggling with worry and uncertainty as she tries to maintain a normal, happy Christmas holiday Norma Hayes has always tried to make Christmas special for her family, but 1944 will make that more difficult with money being tight and wartime rationing making everything hard to come by. Aware of his mothers hardships and the worry from having her eldest son at war, Normas second son, Dennis, is determined to buy his mother a special gift this Christmas: a lavender blue dress he hopes will bring her comfort. Meanwhile, on a battlefield far from home in Holland, Normas soldier son catches a familiar scent of lavender, which briefly transports him back to the homefront and to the perfume scent his mother wore, giving him a short respite and reuniting the family once againif only in his imagination.

Recommended

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly BestsellerFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two f...

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amor Towles

“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” —Ann Patchett“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours ...

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 09/06/2016

The Alice Network, Kate Quinn
The Alice Network
by Kate Quinn

In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin...

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/06/2017

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.“The Ta...

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018

Memoirs of A Geisha, Arthur Golden
Memoirs of A Geisha
by Arthur Golden

Speaking to us with the wisdom of age and in a voice at once haunting and immediate, Nitta Sayuri tells the story of her life as a geisha. Sayuri's story begins in a poor fishing village in 1929, when, as a nine-year-old with unusual blue-gray eyes...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne,Elaina Erika Davis
Published: 07/05/2000

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary . . . monumental masterpiece.”—Booklist, that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career. “Follett risks all and comes out a...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary...monumental masterpiece” (Booklist) that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career.“Follett risks all and comes out a clear winner,&r...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Fiery Cross, Diana Gabaldon
The Fiery Cross
by Diana Gabaldon

The year is 1771. Claire Randall is still an outlander, out of place and out of time. But now she is linked by love to her only anchor--Jamie Fraser. They have crossed oceans and centuries to build a life together in North Carolina. But tensions, bo...

Narrator: Davina Porter
Published: 05/04/2002

Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly

Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades.  New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/05/2016
{"id":"1181144","ean":"9781504678704","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Home and Away: A World War II Christmas Story","subtitle":"A World War II Christmas Story","author":"Dean Hughes","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Kirby Heyborne","ubr_id":"1181144","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"13.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.07","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kirby Heyborne","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}