Handbook for Boys, Walter Dean Myers
  • List: $15.99  |  Sale: $11.20
    Club: $7.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Handbook for Boys

Author: Walter Dean Myers

Narrator: Peter Francis James

Abridged: 2 hr 37 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 02/22/2005

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - People & Places - United States - African American

Ages: 10 - 14

Synopsis

"What you need to do," Kevin said, "is publish a book called Rules for Every Thing.""If I publish a book," Duke said, "I'm going to call it Handbook for Boys."Growing up is tough...really tough.But what if you had a handbook that told you how to figure things out? How to stay out of trouble? How to think about success? How to think about the guy on the street?At Duke's Place, Jimmy and Kevin find out that the handbook isn't written down. It means listening to Duke and his friends talk about their lives. But how can Duke, a senior citizen, understand what it is to be young now?In the tradition of his award-winning book Monster, Walter Dean Myers once again breaks new ground with this extraordinary, original, and complex novel about learning to be a man.

Recommended

Willow, Tonya Cherie Hegamin
Willow
by Tonya Cherie Hegamin

It is 1848.On one side of the Mason-Dixon Line lives fifteen-year-old Willow, her master’s favorite servant. She’s been taught to read and has learned to write. She is permitted to spend much of her time riding her horse to the riverbank...

Narrator: Janina Edwards
Published: 02/11/2014

47, Walter Mosley
47
by Walter Mosley

47 is the first young adult novel to be written by bestselling author Walter Mosley. A master storyteller, Mosley deftly mixes speculative and historical fiction in this daring novel. Set in a plantation, 47 (a young slave boy) is growing up under...

Narrator: Ossie Davis
Published: 04/12/2005

When I Was the Greatest, Jason Reynolds
When I Was the Greatest
by Jason Reynolds

In Bed Stuy, New York, a small misunderstanding can escalate into having a price on your head—even if you’re totally clean. This gritty, triumphant debut captures the heart and the hardship of life for an urban teen.A lot of the stuff th...

Narrator: JB Adkins
Published: 04/08/2014

The Hate U Give, Angie Thomas
The Hate U Give
by Angie Thomas

8 starred reviews ∙ William C. Morris Award Winner ∙ National Book Award Longlist ∙ Printz Honor Book ∙ Coretta Scott King Honor Book ∙ #1 New York Times Bestseller!"Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds"Stu...

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 02/28/2017

Bang!, Sharon Flake
Bang!
by Sharon Flake

Mann lost his younger brother, Jason, two years ago–an innocent bystander in a shooting on his own porch. These murders are a frequent occurrence in Mann’s neighborhood. They’re so common, in fact, that he and his best friend, Kee-...

Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Published: 04/11/2006

Handbook for Boys, Walter Dean Myers
Handbook for Boys
by Walter Dean Myers

"What you need to do," Kevin said, "is publish a book called Rules for Every Thing.""If I publish a book," Duke said, "I'm going to call it Handbook for Boys."Growing up is tough...really tough.But what if you had a handbook that told you how to fi...

Narrator: Peter Francis James
Published: 02/22/2005

Dear Martin, Nic Stone
Dear Martin
by Nic Stone

"Powerful, wrenching.” –JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down"Raw and gripping." –JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys"A must-read!” &n...

Narrator: Dion Graham
Published: 10/17/2017

American Ace, Marilyn Nelson
American Ace
by Marilyn Nelson

This riveting novel in verse, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Toni Morrison, explores American history and race through the eyes of a teenage boy embracing his newfound identity   Connor’s grandmother leaves his dad a letter wh...

Narrator: Marilyn Nelson
Published: 01/12/2016

On the Come Up, Angie Thomas
On the Come Up
by Angie Thomas

This is the highly anticipated second novel by Angie Thomas, the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning The Hate U Give.Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least win her...

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 02/05/2019
{"id":"171428","ean":"9780060839215","abr":"Abridged","title":"Handbook for Boys","subtitle":"","author":"Walter Dean Myers","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Peter Francis James","ubr_id":"0","abr_id":"171428","ubr_price":"0.00","abr_price":"15.99","ubr_memprice":"0.00","abr_memprice":"9.59","ubr_narrator":"","abr_narrator":"Peter Francis James","ubr_length":"Unabridged: ","abr_length":"Abridged: 3 hr 51 min"}