Florence Adler Swims Forever, Rachel Beanland
  • List: $23.99  |  Sale: $16.79
    Club: $11.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Florence Adler Swims Forever

Author: Rachel Beanland

Narrator: Jonathan Davis, Tim Paige, Carly Robins, Jonathan Todd Ross, Tara Sands, Jesse Vilinsky, Gabra Zackman, Rachel Beanland

Unabridged: 10 hr 48 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 07/07/2020

Genre: Fiction - Family Life

Synopsis

Over the course of one summer that begins with a shocking tragedy, three generations of the Adler family grapple with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Manhattan Beach and The Dollhouse. “Rachel Beanland is a writer of uncommon wit and wisdom, with a sharp and empathetic eye for character. She’ll win you over in the most old fashioned of ways: She simply tells a hell of a story.” —Rebecca Makkai, Pulitzer Finalist for The Great BelieversAtlantic City, 1934. Every summer, Esther and Joseph Adler rent their house out to vacationers escaping to “America’s Playground” and move into the small apartment above their bakery. Despite the cramped quarters, this is the apartment where they raised their two daughters, Fannie and Florence, and it always feels like home. Now Florence has returned from college, determined to spend the summer training to swim the English Channel, and Fannie, pregnant again after recently losing a baby, is on bedrest for the duration of her pregnancy. After Joseph insists they take in a mysterious young woman whom he recently helped emigrate from Nazi Germany, the apartment is bursting at the seams. Esther only wants to keep her daughters close and safe but some matters are beyond her control: there’s Fannie’s risky pregnancy—not to mention her always-scheming husband, Isaac—and the fact that the handsome heir of a hotel notorious for its anti-Semitic policies, seems to be in love with Florence. When tragedy strikes, Esther makes the shocking decision to hide the truth—at least until Fannie’s baby is born—and pulls the family into an elaborate web of secret-keeping and lies, bringing long-buried tensions to the surface that reveal how quickly the act of protecting those we love can turn into betrayal. Based on a true story and told in the vein of J. Courtney Sullivan’s Saints for All Occasions and Anita Diamant’s The Boston Girl, Beanland’s family saga is a breathtaking portrait of just how far we will go to in order to protect our loved ones and an uplifting portrayal of how the human spirit can endure—and even thrive—after tragedy.

Recommended

Where'd You Go, Bernadette, Maria Semple
Where'd You Go, Bernadette
by Maria Semple

List: $14.98

Sale: $10.49

Club: $7.49

Narrator: Kathleen Wilhoite
Published: 08/14/2012

This Is How It Always Is, Laurie Frankel
This Is How It Always Is
by Laurie Frankel

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Gabra Zackman
Published: 01/24/2017

The Lying Life of Adults, Elena Ferrante
The Lying Life of Adults
by Elena Ferrante

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Ann Goldstein
Published: 09/01/2020

The Nest, Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
The Nest
by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Mia Barron
Published: 03/22/2016

Truly Madly Guilty, Liane Moriarty
Truly Madly Guilty
by Liane Moriarty

List: $32.99

Sale: $23.10

Club: $16.49

Narrator: Caroline Lee
Published: 07/26/2016

Ask Again, Yes A Novel, Mary Beth Keane
Ask Again, Yes
by Mary Beth Keane

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Molly Pope
Published: 05/28/2019

Commonwealth, Ann Patchett
Commonwealth
by Ann Patchett

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Hope Davis
Published: 09/13/2016

A Good Neighborhood A Novel, Therese Anne Fowler
A Good Neighborhood
by Therese Anne Fowler

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Adenrele Ojo
Published: 02/04/2020

Nothing to See Here, Kevin Wilson
Nothing to See Here
by Kevin Wilson

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Marin Ireland
Published: 11/05/2019
{"id":"4108916","ean":"9781797107059","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Florence Adler Swims Forever","subtitle":"","author":"Rachel Beanland","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Jonathan Davis","ubr_id":"4108916","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jonathan Davis","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 47 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}