Firestarter, Stephen King
  • List: $23.99  |  Sale: $16.79
    Club: $11.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Firestarter

Author: Stephen King

Narrator: Dennis Boutsikaris

Unabridged: 14 hr 53 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 01/01/2016

Genre: Fiction - Science Fiction - Genetic Engineering

Synopsis

Stephen King’s “gem of a story” (Chicago Tribune) about a child with extraordinary psychic powers who is on the run from the government. A #1 national bestseller.Andy McGee and Vicky Tomlinson participated in a drug experiment run by a veiled government agency known as The Shop. One year later, they marry. Two years later, their little girl, Charlie, sets her teddy bear on fire by simply staring at it. Now that Charlie is eight, she doesn’t start fires anymore. Her parents have taught her to control her pyrokinesis, the ability to set anything—toys, clothes, even people—aflame. But The Shop knows about and wants this pigtailed “ultimate weapon.” Shop agents set out to hunt down Charlie and her father in a ruthless chase that traverses the streets of New York and the backwoods of Vermont. “Terrifying and gripping” (The Miami Herald) Firestarter is chilling proof that “Stephen King is superb” (Time).

Recommended

Thorns, Robert Silverberg
Thorns
by Robert Silverberg

Duncan Chalk is a monstrous media mogul with a vast appetite for other peoples pain. He feeds off it and carefully nurtures it in order to feed it to the public. It is inevitable that Chalk should home in on Minner Burris, a space traveler whose bod...

Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki
Published: 07/14/2015

Stand on Zanzibar, John Brunner
Stand on Zanzibar
by John Brunner

Norman Niblock House is a rising executive at General Technics, one of a few all-powerful corporations. His work is leading General Technics to the forefront of global domination, both in the marketplace and politically---it's about to take over a c...

Narrator: Bruce Sterling
Published: 08/02/2011

The Immortalist A Sci-Fi Thiriller, Scott Britz
The Immortalist
by Scott Britz

For fans of Robin Cook and Michael Crichton comes a medical thriller that melds cutting-edge science with ripped-from-the-headlines terror. What happens when a new immortality drug leads to an explosive outbreak of a deadly virus that, if not contai...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/14/2015

Ancestor, Scott Sigler
Ancestor
by Scott Sigler

“The ancestors are out there…you have to believe me.”From acclaimed author Scott Sigler—New York Times bestselling creator of Infected and Contagious—comes a tale of genetic experimentation’s worst nightmare come...

Narrator: Scott Sigler
Published: 06/22/2010

When the Wind Blows, James Patterson
When the Wind Blows
by James Patterson

Frannie O'Neill is a young and talented veterinarian living in Colorado. Plagued by the mysterious murder of her husband, David, a local doctor, Frannie throws herself into her work. It is not long before another bizarre murder occurs and Kit Harri...

Narrator: Kimberly Schraf,Blair Brown
Published: 04/26/2016

Nova, Margaret Fortune
Nova
by Margaret Fortune

*36:00:00* The clock activates so suddenly in my mind, my head involuntarily jerks a bit to the side. The fog vanishes, dissipated in an instant as though it never was. Memories come slotting into place, their edges sharp enough to leave furrows, an...

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 06/02/2015

The Lake House, James Patterson
The Lake House
by James Patterson

Six extraordinary children are trying to lead normal lives in the Rocky Mountain countryside. They live in different homes, with different families, but there is something powerful that connects them. Something that puts them in terrible danger.The...

Narrator: Hope Davis
Published: 08/01/2005

And Again, Jessica Chiarella
And Again
by Jessica Chiarella

In the spirit of Station Eleven and The Age of Miracles, this exciting literary debut novel imagines the consequences when four ordinary individuals are granted a chance to continue their lives in genetically perfect versions of their former bodies....

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 01/12/2016

REV REV Warriors Series Book 1, T.R. Harris
REV
by T.R. Harris

Internationally bestselling science fiction author T. R. Harris introduces his exciting new military/space opera series about the future of space warfare . . . and the destiny of mankind. Every kid wanted to be a REV, but very few ever would. Zac ...

Narrator: Keith Sellon-Wright
Published: 07/18/2018

About the Author

Stephen Edwin King was born in 1947 in the city of Portland, Maine. He attended the University of Maine, where he received a B.A. degree in English in 1970. He married his present wife, Tabitha, in 1971, and they have three children. King is an American author of contemporary horror, supernatural fiction, suspense, science fiction, and fantasy. His novels have sold more than 350 million copies. Many have been made into films, television movies, and comics. He has published 54 novels using a pen name (Richard Bachman) for a few of them. Many of his stories take place in his home state of Maine.

He has won about every possible literary award beginning with his 1980 novella, The Way Station. His most notable literary award was in 2007 for the Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America.King has had the common human weaknesses including alcoholism and drug addiction. His health during that period was so bad that he barely remembered writing the novel, Cujo. The first novel written after he quit all dependent drugs and alcohol was Needful Things.Stephen King's wife, Tabitha, has published nine of her own novels along with both sons being published writers. His daughter is a Unitarian Universalism Church minister with her same sex partner.

A life altering happening beset King in June of 1999. King was walking on the shoulder of Route 5, in Lovell, Maine, when a driver, who was distracted by an unrestrained dog, struck him from behind. His severe injuries kept him in the hospital until July 9. His lawyer purchased the van that hit him to prevent it from being sold on eBay. It was crushed at a junkyard. King thought that he would not write again, but did resume writing with this caveat, "I'm writing, but I'm writing at a slower pace".

His most notable novels are: Carrie, The Shining, The Stand, Misery, It, The Dark Tower, Under the Dome, and The Shawshank Redemption.

{"id":"1184093","ean":"9781508217053","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Firestarter","subtitle":"","author":"Stephen King","rating_average":"4.18","narrator":"Dennis Boutsikaris","ubr_id":"1184093","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Dennis Boutsikaris","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 15 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}