Dear Martin, Nic Stone
  • List: $15.00  |  Sale: $10.50
    Club: $7.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Dear Martin

Author: Nic Stone

Narrator: Dion Graham

Unabridged: 4 hr 32 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 10/17/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - People & Places - United States - African American

Synopsis

"Powerful, wrenching.” –JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down

"Raw and gripping." –JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys

"A must-read!” –ANGIE THOMAS, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone joins industry giants Jason Reynolds and Walter Dean Myers as she boldly tackles American race relations in this stunning New York Times bestselling debut, a William C. Morris Award Finalist.

Justyce McAllister is a good kid, an honor student, and always there to help a friend—but none of that matters to the police officer who just put him in handcuffs. Despite leaving his rough neighborhood behind, he can't escape the scorn of his former peers or the ridicule of his new classmates.

Justyce looks to the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. for answers. But do they hold up anymore? He starts a journal to Dr. King to find out.

Then comes the day Justyce goes driving with his best friend, Manny, windows rolled down, music turned up—way up, sparking the fury of a white off-duty cop beside them. Words fly. Shots are fired. Justyce and Manny are caught in the crosshairs. In the media fallout, it's Justyce who is under attack.

"Vivid and powerful." -Booklist, Starred Review
 
"A visceral portrait of a young man reckoning with the ugly, persistent violence of social injustice." -Publishers Weekly

Recommended

American Ace, Marilyn Nelson
American Ace
by Marilyn Nelson

This riveting novel in verse, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Toni Morrison, explores American history and race through the eyes of a teenage boy embracing his newfound identity   Connor’s grandmother leaves his dad a letter wh...

Narrator: Marilyn Nelson
Published: 01/12/2016

Bang!, Sharon Flake
Bang!
by Sharon Flake

Mann lost his younger brother, Jason, two years ago–an innocent bystander in a shooting on his own porch. These murders are a frequent occurrence in Mann’s neighborhood. They’re so common, in fact, that he and his best friend, Kee-...

Narrator: Dominic Hoffman
Published: 04/11/2006

47, Walter Mosley
47
by Walter Mosley

47 is the first young adult novel to be written by bestselling author Walter Mosley. A master storyteller, Mosley deftly mixes speculative and historical fiction in this daring novel. Set in a plantation, 47 (a young slave boy) is growing up under...

Narrator: Ossie Davis
Published: 04/12/2005

Mississippi Trial, 1955, Chris Crowe
Mississippi Trial, 1955
by Chris Crowe

Winner of the 2003 International Reading Association Award for Young Adult Novel. This gripping story is based on the true events of the murder of Emmett Till, one of the nation's most notorious crimes that helped spark the ...

Narrator: Victor Bevine
Published: 01/08/2019

The Hate U Give, Angie Thomas
The Hate U Give
by Angie Thomas

8 starred reviews ∙ William C. Morris Award Winner ∙ National Book Award Longlist ∙ Printz Honor Book ∙ Coretta Scott King Honor Book ∙ #1 New York Times Bestseller!"Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds"Stu...

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 02/28/2017

Handbook for Boys, Walter Dean Myers
Handbook for Boys
by Walter Dean Myers

"What you need to do," Kevin said, "is publish a book called Rules for Every Thing.""If I publish a book," Duke said, "I'm going to call it Handbook for Boys."Growing up is tough...really tough.But what if you had a handbook that told you how to fi...

Narrator: Peter Francis James
Published: 02/22/2005

When I Was the Greatest, Jason Reynolds
When I Was the Greatest
by Jason Reynolds

In Bed Stuy, New York, a small misunderstanding can escalate into having a price on your head—even if you’re totally clean. This gritty, triumphant debut captures the heart and the hardship of life for an urban teen.A lot of the stuff th...

Narrator: JB Adkins
Published: 04/08/2014

Willow, Tonya Cherie Hegamin
Willow
by Tonya Cherie Hegamin

It is 1848.On one side of the Mason-Dixon Line lives fifteen-year-old Willow, her master’s favorite servant. She’s been taught to read and has learned to write. She is permitted to spend much of her time riding her horse to the riverbank...

Narrator: Janina Edwards
Published: 02/11/2014

On the Come Up, Angie Thomas
On the Come Up
by Angie Thomas

This is the highly anticipated second novel by Angie Thomas, the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning The Hate U Give.Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least win her...

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 02/05/2019
{"id":"1836705","ean":"9781524782337","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Dear Martin","subtitle":"","author":"Nic Stone","rating_average":"4.29","narrator":"Dion Graham","ubr_id":"1836705","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"15.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.75","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Dion Graham","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 4 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}