Curious Toys, Elizabeth Hand
  • List: $25.98  |  Sale: $18.19
    Club: $12.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Curious Toys

Author: Elizabeth Hand

Narrator: Carol Monda

Unabridged: 10 hr 45 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 10/15/2019

Genre: Fiction - Mystery & Detective - Amateur Sleuth

Synopsis

An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in "this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike." (Sarah McCarry)In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old daughter of a carnival fortune-teller, dresses as a boy and joins a teenage gang that roams the famous Riverview amusement park, looking for trouble.Unbeknownst to the well-heeled city-dwellers and visitors who come to enjoy the midway, the park is also host to a ruthless killer who uses the shadows of the dark carnival attractions to conduct his crimes. When Pin sees a man enter the Hell Gate ride with a young girl, and emerge alone, she knows that something horrific has occurred. The crime will lead her to the iconic outsider artist Henry Darger, a brilliant but seemingly mad man. Together, the two navigate the seedy underbelly of a changing city to uncover a murderer few even know to look for.

Recommended

The Delightful Life of a Suicide Pilot, Colin Cotterill
The Delightful Life of a Suicide Pilo...
by Colin Cotterill

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Clive Chafer
Published: 06/02/2020

A Quiet Life In The Country A Lady Hardcastle Mystery, T E Kinsey
A Quiet Life In The Country
by T E Kinsey

List: $9.99

Sale: $7.00

Club: $4.99

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Published: 10/04/2016

And Then You Were Gone A Novel, R. J. Jacobs
And Then You Were Gone
by R. J. Jacobs

List: $19.95

Sale: $13.97

Club: $9.97

Narrator: Amy McFadden
Published: 03/13/2019

The Word is Murder, Anthony Horowitz
The Word is Murder
by Anthony Horowitz

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Rory Kinnear
Published: 06/05/2018

The Frame-Up, Meghan Scott Molin
The Frame-Up
by Meghan Scott Molin

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Andrea Emmes
Published: 12/01/2018

A Long Time Coming, Aaron Elkins
A Long Time Coming
by Aaron Elkins

List: $14.99

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.49

Narrator: David Colacci
Published: 08/07/2018

The Shadows We Hide, Allen Eskens
The Shadows We Hide
by Allen Eskens

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Zach Villa
Published: 11/13/2018

The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers, Lilian Jackson Braun
The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers
by Lilian Jackson Braun

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 01/02/2007

The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes A Stewart Hoag Mystery, David Handler
The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes
by David Handler

List: $21.99

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: Sean Runnette
Published: 10/31/2017
{"id":"3464895","ean":"9781549142765","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Curious Toys","subtitle":"","author":"Elizabeth Hand","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Carol Monda","ubr_id":"3464895","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.89","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Carol Monda","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}