Coraline, Neil Gaiman
  • List: $14.99  |  Sale: $10.50
    Club: $7.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Coraline

Author: Neil Gaiman

Narrator: Neil Gaiman

Unabridged: 3 hr 36 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 11/11/2003

Genre: Fiction - Magic Realism

Synopsis

In Coraline's family's new flat there's a locked door. On the other side is a brick wall—until Coraline unlocks the door . . . and finds a passage to another flat in another house just like her own.Only different.The food is better there. Books have pictures that writhe and crawl and shimmer. And there's another mother and father there who want Coraline to be their little girl. They want to change her and keep her with them. . . . Forever.Coraline is an extraordinary fairy tale/nightmare from the uniquely skewed imagination of #1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman.

Recommended

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, Haruki Murakami
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage
by Haruki Murakami

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage is the long-awaited new novel—a book that sold more than a million copies the first week it went on sale in Japan—from the award-winning, internationally best-selling author Haruk...

Narrator: Philip Gabriel
Published: 08/12/2014

Pinball, 1973, Haruki Murakami
Pinball, 1973
by Haruki Murakami

Published in 1980 by Japanese author Haruki Murakami, Pnball, 1973 is the second book in the "Trilogy of the Rat" series. It is preceded by Hear the Wind Sing (1979) and followed by A Wild Sheep Chase (1982), and is the second novel written by ...

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

Hear the Wind Sing, Haruki Murakami
Hear the Wind Sing
by Haruki Murakami

Hear the Wind Sing is the first novel by Haruki Murakami. First published in the June 1979 issue of Gunzo, one of the most influential literary magazines in Japan, it was published one month later as a book. Hear the Wind Sing is the first book in t...

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

A Secret History of Witches, Louisa Morgan
A Secret History of Witches
by Louisa Morgan

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters, and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman. Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mA¨re Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, t...

Narrator: Polly Lee
Published: 09/05/2017

The Ten Thousand Doors of January, Alix E. Harrow
The Ten Thousand Doors of January
by Alix E. Harrow

In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut. In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity hersel...

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 09/10/2019

Wind/Pinball Two novels, Haruki Murakami
Wind/Pinball
by Haruki Murakami

NATIONAL BESTSELLERIn the spring of 1978, a young Haruki Murakami sat down at his kitchen table and began to write. The result: two remarkable short novels—Hear the Wind Sing and Pinball, 1973—that launched the career of one of...

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

The Lonely Hearts Hotel A Novel, Heather O'Neill
The Lonely Hearts Hotel
by Heather O'Neill

NATIONAL BESTSELLERLonglisted for the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for FictionA Globe and Mail Most Anticipated BookA NOW Magazine Book You Have to ReadA Toronto Star Book We Can’t Wait to Read“Heather O...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 05/09/2017

Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights, Salman Rushdie
Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights
by Salman Rushdie

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • Los Angeles Times • San Francisco Chronicle • Harper’s Bazaar • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • The Guardian &b...

Narrator: Robert G. Slade
Published: 09/08/2015

All the Names They Used for God Stories, Anjali Sachdeva
All the Names They Used for God
by Anjali Sachdeva

For fans of Dave Eggers and Kelly Link, an exhilarating collection of stories that explores the mysterious, often dangerous forces that shape our lives—from censorship and terrorism to technology and online dating. Spanning centuries, continen...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 02/20/2018

About the Author

A self-described "feral child who was raised in libraries," Gaiman credits librarians with fostering a life-long love of reading: "I wouldn't be who I am without libraries. I was the sort of kid who devoured books, and my happiest times as a boy were when I persuaded my parents to drop me off in the local library on their way to work, and I spent the day there.

Gaiman began his writing career in England as a journalist. His first book was a Duran Duran biography that took him three months to write, and his second was a biography of Douglas Adams, Don't Panic: The Official Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy Companion. Gaiman describes his early writing: "I was very, very good at taking a voice that already existed and parodying or pastiching it." Violent Cases was the first of many collaborations with artist Dave McKean. This early graphic novel led to their series Black Orchid, published by DC Comics.

The groundbreaking series Sandman followed, collecting a large number of US awards in its 75 issue run, including nine Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards and three Harvey Awards. In 1991, Sandman became the first comic ever to receive a literary award, the 1991 World Fantasy Award for Best Short Story.

Neil Gaiman is credited with being one of the creators of modern comics, as well as an author whose work crosses genres and reaches audiences of all ages.

Neil Gaiman writes books for readers of all ages, including the following collections and picture books for young readers: M is for Magic (2007); Interworld (2007), co-authored with Michael Reaves; The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish (1997); The Wolves in the Walls (2003); the Greenaway-shortlisted Crazy Hair (2009), illustrated by Dave McKean; The Dangerous Alphabet (2008), illustrated by Gris Grimly; Blueberry Girl (2009); and Instructions (2010), illustrated by Charles Vess.

Gaiman is the New York Times bestselling author of the novels Neverwhere (1995), Stardust (1999), the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning American Gods (2001), Anansi Boys (2005), and Good Omens (with Terry Pratchett, 1990), as well as the short story collections Smoke and Mirrors (1998) and Fragile Things (2006).

His first collection of short fiction, Smoke and Mirrors: Short Fictions and Illusions, was nominated for the UK's MacMillan Silver Pen Awards as the best short story collection of the year. Most recently, Gaiman was both a contributor to and co-editor with Al Sarrantonio of Stories (2010), and his own story in the volume, The Truth Is A Cave In The Black Mountains, has been nominated for a number of awards.

American Gods has been released in an expanded tenth anniversary edition, and there is an HBO series in the works.

Gaiman was the first author ever to win both the Newbery Medal and the Carnegie Medal with the same book. "Twenty-three years ago, we lived in a little Sussex town in a tall house across the lane from a graveyard. We didn't have a garden, and our 18-month-old son loved riding a tricycle. If he tried riding in the house he would have died because there were stairs everywhere, so every day I would take him down our precipitous stairs, and he would ride his little tricycle round and round the gravestones. As I watched him happily toddling I would think about how incredibly at home he looked. I thought that I could do something like The Jungle Book with that same equation of boy, orphaned, growing up somewhere else, but I could do it in a graveyard. I had that idea when I was 24 years old. I sat down and tried writing it and thought, "This is a really good idea, and this isn't very good writing. I'm not good enough for this yet, and I will put it off until I'm better."

The film adaptation of The Graveyard Book is in production.

Reviews Write A Review

AudiobooksNow review by Charlene on 2007-09-22 04:44:43

Silly, nonsensical waste of words. You wrote a better short in your freshman year of high school.

AudiobooksNow review by Christine on 2009-07-30 06:21:18

If you like dark fairytales, you'll probably like Coraline. The story has a strange dreamlike quality, and it's a quick read, too.

{"id":"171253","ean":"9780060735562","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Coraline","subtitle":"","author":"Neil Gaiman","rating_average":"4.17","narrator":"Neil Gaiman","ubr_id":"171253","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"14.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"8.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Neil Gaiman","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 3 hr 37 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}