Cloud Atlas, David Mitchell
  • List: $22.00  |  Sale: $15.40
    Club: $11.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Cloud Atlas

Author: David Mitchell

Narrator: Various

Unabridged: 19 hr 53 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 11/16/2004

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

List of Readers:
The Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing, read by Scott Brick
Letters From Zedelghem, read by Richard Matthews
Half-Lives: The First Luisa Rey Mystery, read by Cassandra Campbell
The Ghastly Ordeal of Timothy Cavendish, read by John Lee
An Orison of Sonmi~451, read by Kim Mai Guest
Sloosha’s Crossin’ an’ Ev’rythin’ After, read by Kirby Heyborne

Recommended

The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Alexander McCall Smith
The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency
by Alexander McCall Smith

This remarkably fresh and charming best-seller took the WD by storm upon its publication. It has since earned two Booker Judges’ Special Recommendations and was voted one of the “International Books of the Year and the Millennium&rdqu...

Narrator: Lisette Lecat
Published: 04/25/2003

Room, Emma Donoghue
Room
by Emma Donoghue

Held captive for years in a small shed, a woman and her precocious young son finally gain their freedom, and the boy experiences the outside world for the first time. Inspiration for the MAJOR MOTION PICTURE starring Academy Award winner Brie Lar...

Narrator: Michal Friedman
Published: 09/13/2010

The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern
The Night Circus
by Erin Morgenstern

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque d...

Narrator: Jim Dale
Published: 09/13/2011

The Lucky One, Nicholas Sparks
The Lucky One
by Nicholas Sparks

Is there really such thing as a lucky charm? The hero of Nicholas Sparks's new novel believes he's found one in the form of a photograph of a smiling woman he's never met, but who he comes to believe holds the key to his destiny. The chain of event...

Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd
Published: 09/30/2008

The Birth of Venus, Sarah Dunant
The Birth of Venus
by Sarah Dunant

Alessandra Cecchi is not quite fifteen when her father, a prosperous cloth merchant, brings a young painter back from northern Europe to decorate the chapel walls in the family’s Florentine palazzo. A child of the Renaissance, with a precociou...

Narrator: Kathe Mazur,Jenny Sterlin
Published: 02/17/2004

Infinite Jest Part III: The Endnotes, David Foster Wallace
Infinite Jest
by David Foster Wallace

A gargantuan, mind-altering comedy about the Pursuit of Happiness in America set in an addicts' halfway house and a tennis academy, and featuring the most endearingly screwed-up family to come along in recent fiction, Infinite Jest explores essenti...

Narrator: Sean Pratt
Published: 08/14/2012

The Lacuna, Barbara Kingsolver
The Lacuna
by Barbara Kingsolver

In The Lacuna, her first novel in nine years, Barbara Kingsolver, the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of The Poisonwood Bible and Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life, tells the story of Harrison William Shepherd, a man caugh...

Narrator: Barbara Kingsolver
Published: 11/03/2009

The Shadow of the Wind, Carlos Ruiz Zafon
The Shadow of the Wind
by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Barcelona, 1945—just after the war, a great world city lies in shadow, nursing its wounds, and a boy named Daniel awakes on his eleventh birthday to find that he can no longer remember his mother’s face. To console his only child, Daniel...

Narrator: Jonathan Davis
Published: 01/01/2005

The Art of Racing in the Rain, Garth Stein
The Art of Racing in the Rain
by Garth Stein

Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny...

Narrator: Christopher Evan Welch
Published: 05/13/2008
{"id":"319928","ean":"9780739305058","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Cloud Atlas","subtitle":"","author":"David Mitchell","rating_average":"3.89","narrator":"Various","ubr_id":"319928","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.30","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Various","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 18 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}