Citizens Creek, Lalita Tademy
  • List: $14.99  |  Sale: $10.50
    Club: $7.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Citizens Creek

Author: Lalita Tademy

Narrator: Bahni Turpin, J.D. Jackson

Unabridged: 15 hr 33 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Published: 11/04/2014

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

The New York Times bestselling author of the Oprah Book Club Pick Cane River brings us the evocative story of a once-enslaved man who buys his freedom after serving as a translator during the American Indian Wars, and his granddaughter, who sustains his legacy of courage.Cow Tom, born into slavery in Alabama in 1810 and sold to a Creek Indian chief before his tenth birthday, possessed an extraordinary gift: the ability to master languages. As the new country developed westward, and Indians, settlers, and blacks came into constant contact, Cow Tom became a key translator for his Creek master and was hired out to US military generals. His talent earned him money—but would it also grant him freedom? And what would become of him and his family in the aftermath of the Civil War and the Indian Removal westward?Cow Tom’s legacy lives on—especially in the courageous spirit of his granddaughter Rose. She rises to leadership of the family as they struggle against political and societal hostility intent on keeping blacks and Indians oppressed. But through it all, her grandfather’s indelible mark of courage inspires her—in mind, in spirit, and in a family legacy that never dies.Written in two parts portraying the parallel lives of Cow Tom and Rose, Citizens Creek is a beautifully rendered novel that takes the listener deep into a little known chapter of American history. It is a breathtaking tale of identity, community, family—and above all, the power of an individual’s will to make a difference.

Recommended

The Alice Network, Kate Quinn
The Alice Network
by Kate Quinn

In an enthralling new historical novel from national bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin...

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/06/2017

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly BestsellerFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two f...

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017

Memoirs of A Geisha, Arthur Golden
Memoirs of A Geisha
by Arthur Golden

Speaking to us with the wisdom of age and in a voice at once haunting and immediate, Nitta Sayuri tells the story of her life as a geisha. Sayuri's story begins in a poor fishing village in 1929, when, as a nine-year-old with unusual blue-gray eyes...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne,Elaina Erika Davis
Published: 07/05/2000

Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly

Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades.  New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/05/2016

The Fiery Cross, Diana Gabaldon
The Fiery Cross
by Diana Gabaldon

The year is 1771. Claire Randall is still an outlander, out of place and out of time. But now she is linked by love to her only anchor--Jamie Fraser. They have crossed oceans and centuries to build a life together in North Carolina. But tensions, bo...

Narrator: Davina Porter
Published: 05/04/2002

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary...monumental masterpiece” (Booklist) that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career.“Follett risks all and comes out a clear winner,&r...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary . . . monumental masterpiece.”—Booklist, that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career. “Follett risks all and comes out a...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.“The Ta...

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amor Towles

“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” —Ann Patchett“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours ...

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 09/06/2016
{"id":"606281","ean":"9781480562516","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Citizens Creek","subtitle":"","author":"Lalita Tademy","rating_average":"3.33","narrator":"Bahni Turpin","ubr_id":"606281","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"14.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"9.74","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Bahni Turpin","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}