Chasing Phil: The Adventures of Two Undercover Agents with the World's Most Charming Con Man The Adventures of Two Undercover Agents with the World's Most Charming Con Man, David Howard
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Chasing Phil: The Adventures of Two Undercover Agents with the World's Most Charming Con Man

Author: David Howard

Narrator: Joe Ochman

Unabridged: 10 hr 12 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 10/10/2017

Genre: True Crime - White Collar Crime

Synopsis

A thrilling true crime caper, bursting with colorful characters and awash in ‘70s glamour, that spotlights the FBI's first white-collar undercover sting
 
1977, the Thunderbird Motel. J.J. Wedick and Jack Brennan—two fresh-faced, maverick FBI agents—were about to embark on one of their agency's first wire-wearing undercover missions. Their target? Charismatic, globetrotting con man Phil Kitzer, whom some called the world's greatest swindler. From the Thunderbird, the three men took off to Cleveland, to Miami, to Hawaii, to Frankfurt, to the Bahamas—meeting other members of Kitzer's crime syndicate and powerful politicians and businessmen he fooled at each stop. But as the young agents, playing the role of proteges and co-conspirators, became further entangled in Phil's outrageous schemes over their months on the road, they also grew to respect him—even care for him. Meanwhile, Phil began to think of Jack and J.J. as best friends, sharing hotel rooms and inside jokes with them and even competing with J.J. in picking up women.
 
Phil Kitzer was at the center of dozens of scams in which he swindled millions of dollars, but the FBI was mired in a post-Watergate malaise and slow to pivot toward a new type of financial crime that is now all too familiar. Plunging into the field with no undercover training, the agents battled a creaky bureaucracy on their adventures with Phil, hoping the FBI would recognize the importance of their mission. Even as they grew closer to Phil, they recognized that their endgame—the swindler's arrest—was drawing near… 
 
Anchored by larger-than-life characters, framed by exotic locales and an irresistible era, Chasing Phil is high drama and propulsive reading, delivered by an effortless storyteller.

Recommended

Filthy Rich A Powerful Billionaire, the Sex Scandal that Undid Him, and All the Justice that Money Can Buy: The Shocking True Story of Jeffrey Epstein, James Patterson
Filthy Rich
by James Patterson

A shocking true crime tale of money, power, and sex from the world's most popular thriller writer.Jeffrey Epstein rose from humble origins to the rarefied heights of New York City's financial elite. A college dropout with an instinct for numbers--a...

Narrator: Jason Culp
Published: 10/10/2016

DarkMarket Cyberthieves, Cybercops and You, Misha Glenny
DarkMarket
by Misha Glenny

"This extraordinarily powerful book demonstrates how utterly we lack the shared supranational tools needed to fight cybercrime. Essential reading." --Roberto Saviano, author of GommorahThe benefits of living in a digital, globalized society are enor...

Narrator: Jonathan Cowley
Published: 10/04/2011

Just Desserts, Katy Vine
Just Desserts
by Katy Vine

In partnership with Texas Monthly, Katy Vine's "Just Desserts" is now available as an audio download, where the length and timeliness of a podcast meets the high-quality production of a full-length audio program.Mr. and Mrs. Jenkins led a perfectly ...

Narrator: Lydia Mackay
Published: 01/09/2018

Kingdom of Lies Unnerving Adventures in the World of Cybercrime, Kate Fazzini
Kingdom of Lies
by Kate Fazzini

"Kingdom of Lies is a brilliant and bold debut, as full of suspense as the best crime thrillers.a€ a€”Linda Fairstein, New York Times bestselling author of Blood Oath In the tradition of Michael Lewis and Tom Wolfe, a fascinating an...

Narrator: Khristine Hvam
Published: 06/11/2019

Noncompliant A Lone Whistleblower Exposes the Giants of Wall Street, Carmen Segarra
Noncompliant
by Carmen Segarra

A first-hand account of the oversight of the big banks in the wake of the financial crisis, from the Federal Reserve examiner who refused to be silencedIn 2011, Carmen Segarra took a job as at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York supervising for Go...

Narrator: Roxana Ortega
Published: 10/16/2018

Heist The Oddball Crew behind the $17 Million Loomis Fargo Theft, Jeff Diamant
Heist
by Jeff Diamant

The bizarre true story of the criminals behind the second-largest bank heist in American history One night in a small North Carolina town, a down-on-his-luck guard at Loomis Fargo manages to steal $17 millionliterally more than one ton of cash. Des...

Narrator: Jeffrey Kafer
Published: 08/04/2015

The Informant A True Story, Kurt Eichenwald
The Informant
by Kurt Eichenwald

From an award-winning New York Times investigative reporter comes a gripping account of one of the most captivating and bizarre tales in the history of the FBI and corporate America.It was one of the FBI's biggest secrets: Mark Whitacre, a senior ex...

Narrator: Arthur Morey
Published: 08/11/2009

The Informant A True Story, Kurt Eichenwald
The Informant
by Kurt Eichenwald

From an award-winning New York Times investigative reporter comes a gripping account of one of the most captivating and bizarre tales in the history of the FBI and corporate America.It was one of the FBI's biggest secrets: Mark Whitacre, a senior ex...

Narrator: Arthur Morey
Published: 12/27/2005

Why They Do It Inside the Mind of the White-Collar Criminal, Eugene Soltes
Why They Do It
by Eugene Soltes

Drawing on intimate details from personal visits, letters, and phone calls with former executives turned white-collar criminals, as well as psychological, sociological, and historical research, Why They Do It is a breakthrough look at the dark side ...

Narrator: Johnny Heller
Published: 10/11/2016
{"id":"1883968","ean":"9780525499206","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Chasing Phil: The Adventures of Two Undercover Agents with the World's Most Charming Con Man","subtitle":"The Adventures of Two Undercover Agents with the World's Most Charming Con Man","author":"David Howard","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Joe Ochman","ubr_id":"1883968","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Joe Ochman","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}