Captive Queen: A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Alison Weir
  • List: $31.95  |  Sale: $22.36
    Club: $15.97
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Captive Queen: A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine

Author: Alison Weir

Narrator: Rosalyn Landor

Unabridged: 19 hr 21 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks

Published: 07/13/2010

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

Renowned for her highly acclaimed and bestselling British histories, Alison Weir has in recent years made a major impact on the fiction scene with her novels about Queen Elizabeth and Lady Jane Grey. In this latest offering, she imagines the world of Eleanor of Aquitaine, the beautiful twelfthcentury woman who was queen of France until she abandoned her royal husband for the younger man who would become king of England. In a relationship based on lust and a mutual desire for great power, Henry II and Eleanor took over the English throne in 1154, thus beginning one of the most influential reigns and tumultuous royal marriages in all of history. In this novel, Weir uses her extensive knowledge to paint a most vivid portrait of this fascinating woman.

Recommended

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT—A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly BestsellerFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two f...

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amor Towles

“The book is like a salve. I think the world feels disordered right now. The count’s refinement and genteel nature are exactly what we’re longing for.” —Ann Patchett“How delightful that in an era as crude as ours ...

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 09/06/2016

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz-Birkenau tattooist Ludwig (Lale) Sokolov—an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity.“The Ta...

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary...monumental masterpiece” (Booklist) that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career.“Follett risks all and comes out a clear winner,&r...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest Book 3 of the Millennium Trilogy, Stieg Larsson
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest
by Stieg Larsson

Lisbeth Salander—the heart of Larsson’s two previous novels—lies in critical condition, a bullet wound to her head, in the intensive care unit of a Swedish city hospital. She’s fighting for her life in more ways than one: if ...

Narrator: Reg Keeland
Published: 05/25/2010

The Girl Who Played with Fire Book 2 of the Millennium Trilogy, Stieg Larsson
The Girl Who Played with Fire
by Stieg Larsson

Mikael Blomkvist, crusading journalist and publisher of the magazine Millennium, has decided to run a story that will expose an extensive sex trafficking operation between Eastern Europe and Sweden, implicating well-known and highly placed members o...

Narrator: Simon Vance
Published: 07/28/2009

Innocent Traitor A Novel of Lady Jane Grey, Alison Weir
Innocent Traitor
by Alison Weir

New York Times best-selling author Alison Weir has earned her reputation as the preeminent historian of British royalty. Now with Innocent Traitor, Weir utilizes her vast knowledge and captivating narrative style to craft her first historical novel,...

Narrator: Various
Published: 02/02/2007

Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly

Inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this powerful debut novel reveals an incredible story of love, redemption, and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades.  New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/05/2016

The Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary . . . monumental masterpiece.”—Booklist, that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career. “Follett risks all and comes out a...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007
{"id":"102159","ean":"9781441754691","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Captive Queen: A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine","subtitle":"A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine","author":"Alison Weir","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Rosalyn Landor","ubr_id":"102159","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"31.95","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"20.77","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rosalyn Landor","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 17 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}