Bright Lights Big Ass
  • List: $20.00  | Sale: $14.00
    $0.00 with Free Trial
    • facebook
    • Twitter
    • googleplus
    • pinterest

Details

Bright Lights, Big Ass: A Self-Indulgent, Surly, Ex-Sorority Girl's Guide to Why it Often Sucks in the City, or Who are These Idiots and Why Do They All Live Next Door to Me?

Author: Jen Lancaster

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein

Unabridged: 12 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Published: 05/12/2009

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs

Synopsis

Unabridged ? 10 hours

Jen Lancaster hates to burst your happy little bubble, but life in the big city isn't all it's cracked up to be. Contrary to what you see on TV and in the movies, most urbanites aren't party-hopping in slinky dresses and strappy stilettos. But lucky for us, Lancaster knows how to make the life of the lower crust mercilessly funny and infinitely entertaining.

Recommended

The Tender Bar
by J. R. Moehringer

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.J....

Narrator: Adam Grupper
Published: 09/05/2017

Cooked
by Jeff Henderson

This riveting memoir is the incredible story of Jeff Henderson's rollercoaster ride from high-stakes cocaine dealer to prison inmate to world-class chef. Barely old enough to drink legally, Henderson was clearing $35,000 per week as one of the most ...

Narrator: Jeff Henderson
Published: 03/15/2007

Such a Pretty Fat
by Jen Lancaster

A NOTE FROM JEN LANCASTER:"To whom the fat rolls…I'm tired of books where a self-loathing heroine is teased to the point where she starves herself skinny in hopes of a fabulous new life. And I hate the message that women can't poss...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

A Long Way Gone
by Ishmael Beah

This is how wars are fought now by children, hopped up on drugs, and wielding AK-47s. In the more than fifty violent conflicts going on worldwide, it is estimated that there are some 300,000 child soldiers. Ishmael Beah used to be one of them. How d...

Narrator: Ishmael Beah
Published: 08/05/2008

The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

My Friend Leonard
by James Frey

New York Times best-selling author James Frey pens the candid memoir of his recovery from drug and alcohol addictions with My Friend Leonard. After a stint in jail, James is rocked by further tragedy. Teetering on the brink of breakdown, he turn...

Narrator: Andy Paris
Published: 11/03/2005

You Better Not Cry
by Augusten Burroughs

You've eaten too much candy at Christmasa€¦but have you ever eaten the face off a six-footstuffed Santa? You've seen gingerbread housesa€¦but have you ever made your own gingerbread tenement? You've woken up with a hangovera&...

Narrator: Augusten Burroughs
Published: 10/27/2009

Comfort Me with Apples
by Ruth Reichl

In Ruth Reichl’s latest book — one that will delight her fans and convert those as yet uninitiated to her charming tales — the author brings to life her adventures in pursuit of good meals and good company. Picking up where Tender...

Narrator: Ruth Reichl
Published: 04/10/2001

Lucky
by Alice Sebold

The critically acclaimed memoir from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lovely Bones In a memoir hailed for its searing candor and wit, Alice Sebold reveals how her life was utterly transformed when, as an eighteen-year-old college ...

Narrator: Alice Sebold
Published: 01/01/2003

Reviews Write A Review

AudiobooksNow review by Sandy on 2008-05-01 20:35:20

This book is so true and so genuine and so FUNNY! I was literally laughing out loud and nodding my head while I was reading this. Jen Lancaster can take the ordinary in our lives and make it screamingly funny. Loved every word.

AudiobooksNow review by Stephanie on 2012-11-07 22:38:34

This book was awful and a huge waste of time. The whole time, I couldnt help but think she was trying to emulate Plum Skyes Bergdorf Blondes which she spends practically an entire chapter talking about. This book is not written well, shes surly and quite honestly annoying, and does nothing but complain about her unfortunate position when all she does is bug her husband who is trying to be productive while she feels sorry for herself and whines like a child. Seriously, dont waste your time.

{"id":"897077","ean":"9781440641060","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Bright Lights, Big Ass: A Self-Indulgent, Surly, Ex-Sorority Girl's Guide to Why it Often Sucks in the City, or Who are These Idiots and Why Do They All Live Next Door to Me?","subtitle":"A Self-Indulgent, Surly, Ex-Sorority Girl's Guide to Why it Often Sucks in the City, or Who are These Idiots and Why Do They All Live Next Door to Me?","author":"Jen Lancaster","rating_average":"4.05","narrator":"Jamie Heinlein","ubr_id":"897077","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Jamie Heinlein","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 12 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}