Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys
  • List: $23.00  |  Sale: $16.10
    Club: $11.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Between Shades of Gray

Author: Ruta Sepetys

Narrator: Emily Klein

Unabridged: 7 hr 46 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Published: 03/22/2011

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Holocaust

Ages: 12 - 17

Synopsis

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post

From New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea, comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival.

A New York Times notable book
An international bestseller
A Carnegie Medal nominee
A William C. Morris Award finalist
A Golden Kite Award winner

Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?

A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.

Praise for Between Shades of Gray:

"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." --The New York Times Book Review

"Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." --The Los Angeles Times

"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." --The Wall Street Journal

* "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." --Booklist, starred review

Recommended

The Librarian of Auschwitz, Antonio Iturbe
The Librarian of Auschwitz
by Antonio Iturbe

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Marisa Calin
Published: 10/10/2017

The Book Thief, Markus Zusak
The Book Thief
by Markus Zusak

List: $25.50

Sale: $17.85

Club: $12.75

Narrator: Allan Corduner
Published: 09/26/2006

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, John Boyne
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
by John Boyne

List: $12.50

Sale: $8.75

Club: $6.25

Narrator: Michael Maloney
Published: 09/26/2006

Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In), Ruta Sepetys
Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In)
by Ruta Sepetys

List: $23.00

Sale: $16.10

Club: $11.50

Narrator: Emily Klein
Published: 12/18/2018

The Fountains of Silence, Ruta Sepetys
The Fountains of Silence
by Ruta Sepetys

List: $27.50

Sale: $19.25

Club: $13.75

Narrator: Maite Jauregui
Published: 10/01/2019

Out of the Easy, Ruta Sepetys
Out of the Easy
by Ruta Sepetys

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Lauren Fortgang
Published: 02/12/2013

Prisoner of Night and Fog, Anne Blankman
Prisoner of Night and Fog
by Anne Blankman

List: $25.99

Sale: $18.20

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Heather Wilds
Published: 04/22/2014

Salt to the Sea, Ruta Sepetys
Salt to the Sea
by Ruta Sepetys

List: $23.00

Sale: $16.10

Club: $11.50

Narrator: Jorjeana Marie
Published: 02/09/2016

Milkweed, Jerry Spinelli
Milkweed
by Jerry Spinelli

List: $12.95

Sale: $9.07

Club: $6.47

Narrator: Ron Rifkin
Published: 09/09/2003
{"id":"896395","ean":"9781101484630","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Between Shades of Gray","subtitle":"","author":"Ruta Sepetys","rating_average":"4.42","narrator":"Emily Klein","ubr_id":"896395","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.95","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Emily Klein","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}