Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys
  • List: $23.00  |  Sale: $16.10
    Club: $11.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Between Shades of Gray

Author: Ruta Sepetys

Narrator: Emily Klein

Unabridged: 7 hr 46 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Published: 03/22/2011

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Holocaust

Synopsis

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington Post

From New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea, comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival.

A New York Times notable book
An international bestseller
A Carnegie Medal nominee
A William C. Morris Award finalist
A Golden Kite Award winner

Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?

A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.

Praise for Between Shades of Gray:

"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." --The New York Times Book Review

"Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." --The Los Angeles Times

"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." --The Wall Street Journal

* "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." --Booklist, starred review

Recommended

The Book Thief, Markus Zusak
The Book Thief
by Markus Zusak

DON’T MISS BRIDGE OF CLAY, MARKUS ZUSAK’S FIRST NOVEL SINCE THE BOOK THIEF.  The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of boo...

Narrator: Allan Corduner
Published: 09/26/2006

Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit
Anna and the Swallow Man
by Gavriel Savit

Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production A New York Times BestsellerA Booklist Editors’ Choice Audio An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year A Shelf Awareness&#...

Narrator: Allan Corduner
Published: 01/12/2016

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke, Anne Blankman
Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke
by Anne Blankman

Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to b...

Narrator: Heather Wilds
Published: 04/21/2015

Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In), Ruta Sepetys
Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In)
by Ruta Sepetys

An international bestseller, a #1 New York Times bestseller, and now a major motion picture! Ruta Sepetys's Between Shades of Gray is now the film Ashes in the Snow! "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are import...

Narrator: Emily Klein
Published: 12/18/2018

The Librarian of Auschwitz, Antonio Iturbe
The Librarian of Auschwitz
by Antonio Iturbe

*Recommended by Parents' Choice*This program features an author's note read by Dita Kraus.Based on the experience of real-life Auschwitz prisoner Dita Kraus, The Librarian of Auschwitz is the incredible story of a girl who risked her life to keep th...

Narrator: Marisa Calin
Published: 10/10/2017

Tropical Secrets, Margarita Engle
Tropical Secrets
by Margarita Engle

Last year, in Berlinon the Night of Crystalmy grandfather was killedwhile I held his hand.Daniel has escaped Nazi Germany with nothing but a desperate dream that he might one day find his parents again. But that golden land called New York has turne...

Narrator: Matt Green
Published: 04/28/2009

Prisoner of Night and Fog, Anne Blankman
Prisoner of Night and Fog
by Anne Blankman

In 1930s Munich, danger lurks behind dark corners, and secrets are buried deep within the city. But Gretchen Müller, who grew up in the National Socialist Party under the wing of her uncle Dolf, has been shielded from that side of society ever...

Narrator: Heather Wilds
Published: 04/22/2014

Milkweed, Jerry Spinelli
Milkweed
by Jerry Spinelli

A stunning novel of the Holocaust from Newbery Medalist, Jerry SpinelliHe's a boy called Jew. Gypsy. Stopthief. Filthy son of Abraham.He's a boy who lives in the streets of Warsaw. He's a boy who steals food for himself, and the other orphans. He'...

Narrator: Ron Rifkin
Published: 09/09/2003

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, John Boyne
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
by John Boyne

BONUS FEATURE: Conversation between the author and the editor, David Fickling.Berlin 1942When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and the family mus...

Narrator: Michael Maloney
Published: 09/26/2006
{"id":"896395","ean":"9781101484630","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Between Shades of Gray","subtitle":"","author":"Ruta Sepetys","rating_average":"4.42","narrator":"Emily Klein","ubr_id":"896395","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.95","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Emily Klein","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}