• Regular: $25.00

    Sale: $17.50 (30% Off)

    Club: $12.50

Details

Before We Were Yours: A Novel

Author: Lisa Wingate

Narrator: Catherine Taber

Unabridged: 14 hr 20 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 06/06/2017

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.*Library JournalPraise for Before We Were Yours“A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets.”—People“Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you’ll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann’s legacy.”—Parade“One of the year’s best books . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel.”—The Huffington Post“Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation’s history and weaves a tale of enduring power.”—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun

Recommended

The Boleyn Inheritance
by Philippa Gregory

Three women share one fate: the Boleyn Inheritance From the bestselling author of The Other Boleyn Girl comes a novel about three women whose positions brought them wealth, power, deceit, and terror in England after the death of Anne Boleyn. Ann...

Narrator: Bianca Amato
Published: 12/05/2006

The Thirteenth Tale
by Diane Setterfield

When Margaret Lea opened the door to the past, what she confronted was her destiny. All children mythologize their birth. . . . So begins the prologue of reclusive author Vida Winter's beloved collection of stories, long famous for the mystery of ...

Narrator: Jill Tanner,Henshall
Published: 09/12/2006

Year of Wonders
by Geraldine Brooks

An unforgettable tale of a brave young woman during the plague in 17th century England from the author The Secret Chord and of March, winner of the Pulitzer Prize.  When an infected bolt of cloth carries plague from London to an isolated v...

Narrator: Geraldine Brooks
Published: 08/05/2010

Memoirs of A Geisha
by Arthur Golden

Speaking to us with the wisdom of age and in a voice at once haunting and immediate, Nitta Sayuri tells the story of her life as a geisha. Sayuri's story begins in a poor fishing village in 1929, when, as a nine-year-old with unusual blue-gray eyes...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne,Elaina Erika Davis
Published: 07/05/2000

Gap Creek
by Robert Morgan

An Oprah's Book Club Selection<br><br>After losing both her father and brother before turning 17, Julie faces fire, flood, grifters, sickness, and starvation with grim determination and remarkable stamina. By capturing the earthy details...

Narrator: Jill Hill
Published: 10/22/2002

World Without End
by Ken Follett

In 1989 Ken Follett astonished the literary world with The Pillars of the Earth, a sweeping epic novel set in twelfth-century England centered on the building of a cathedral and many of the hundreds of lives it affected. Critics were overwhelme...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

The Constant Princess
by Philippa Gregory

"I am Catalina, Princess of Spain, daughter of the two greatest monarchs the world has ever known...and I will be Queen of England." Thus, bestselling author Philippa Gregory introduces one of her most unforgettable heroines: Katherine of Aragon. ...

Narrator: Kate Burton
Published: 12/06/2005

The Pillars of the Earth
by Ken Follett

If you liked the Century Trilogy, you’ll love the “extraordinary . . . monumental masterpiece.”—Booklist, that changed the course of Ken Follett’s already phenomenal career. “Follett risks all and comes out a...

Narrator: John Lee,Richard E. Grant
Published: 10/09/2007

A Breath of Snow and Ashes
by Diana Gabaldon

Eagerly anticipated by her legions of fans, this sixth novel in Diana Gabaldon’s bestselling Outlander saga is a masterpiece of historical fiction from one of the most popular authors of our time.Since the initial publication of Outlander fift...

Narrator: Geraldine James
Published: 09/27/2005
{"id":"1697980","ean":"9781524780685","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Before We Were Yours: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Lisa Wingate","rating_average":"4.17","narrator":"Catherine Taber","ubr_id":"1697980","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.25","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Catherine Taber","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 14 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}