Beasts Made of Night, Tochi Onyebuchi
  • List: $25.00  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Beasts Made of Night

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi

Narrator: Prentice Onayemi

Unabridged: 9 hr 17 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 10/31/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Fantasy - Dark Fantasy

Ages: 12 - 17

Synopsis

"...The beginning of a great saga..." —NPR.org

"This compelling Nigerian-influenced fantasy has a wonderfully unique premise and lush, brilliant worldbuilding that will consume you until the last page."—Buzzfeed

"...Unforgettable in its darkness, inequality, and magic." —VOYA, Starred Review

"...A paean to an emerging black legend."—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review 

Black Panther meets Nnedi Okorafor's Akata Witch in Beasts Made of Night, the first book in an epic fantasy duology. 
 
In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts—lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt. Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family. 

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves—and his own life. 

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable series opener that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.

iBooks Most Anticipated YA Books of the Fall 
io9’s All the Science Fiction and Fantasy Books to Keep On Your Radar This Fall
BuzzFeed’s 22 YA Novels You’ll Want To Read From Cover To Cover This Fall
A 2017 BookExpo Buzz Book
A Junior Library Guild Selection 

Recommended

The Young Elites, Marie Lu
The Young Elites
by Marie Lu

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Carla Corvo
Published: 10/07/2014

The Cruel Prince, Holly Black
The Cruel Prince
by Holly Black

List: $24.98

Sale: $17.49

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Caitlin Kelly
Published: 01/02/2018

The Lost Book of the White, Cassandra Clare
The Lost Book of the White
by Cassandra Clare

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: BD Wong
Published: 09/01/2020

Chain of Gold, Cassandra Clare
Chain of Gold
by Cassandra Clare

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Finty Williams
Published: 03/03/2020

Born at Midnight, C. C. Hunter
Born at Midnight
by C. C. Hunter

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Katie Schorr
Published: 11/07/2012

The Red Scrolls of Magic, Cassandra Clare
The Red Scrolls of Magic
by Cassandra Clare

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: BD Wong
Published: 04/09/2019

The Clockwork Princess, Cassandra Clare
The Clockwork Princess
by Cassandra Clare

List: $23.95

Sale: $16.77

Club: $11.97

Narrator: Daniel Sharman
Published: 03/19/2013

Awake at Dawn, C. C. Hunter
Awake at Dawn
by C. C. Hunter

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Katie Schorr
Published: 12/18/2012

Sorcery of Thorns, Margaret Rogerson
Sorcery of Thorns
by Margaret Rogerson

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Emily Ellet
Published: 06/04/2019
{"id":"1916454","ean":"9780525524908","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Beasts Made of Night","subtitle":"","author":"Tochi Onyebuchi","rating_average":"3","narrator":"Prentice Onayemi","ubr_id":"1916454","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.25","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Prentice Onayemi","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}