Beasts Made of Night, Tochi Onyebuchi
  • List: $25.00  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Beasts Made of Night

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi

Narrator: Prentice Onayemi

Unabridged: 9 hr 17 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 10/31/2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Fantasy - Dark Fantasy

Ages: 12 - 17

Synopsis

"...The beginning of a great saga..." —NPR.org

"This compelling Nigerian-influenced fantasy has a wonderfully unique premise and lush, brilliant worldbuilding that will consume you until the last page."—Buzzfeed

"...Unforgettable in its darkness, inequality, and magic." —VOYA, Starred Review

"...A paean to an emerging black legend."—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review 

Black Panther meets Nnedi Okorafor's Akata Witch in Beasts Made of Night, the first book in an epic fantasy duology. 
 
In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts—lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt. Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family. 

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves—and his own life. 

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable series opener that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.

iBooks Most Anticipated YA Books of the Fall 
io9’s All the Science Fiction and Fantasy Books to Keep On Your Radar This Fall
BuzzFeed’s 22 YA Novels You’ll Want To Read From Cover To Cover This Fall
A 2017 BookExpo Buzz Book
A Junior Library Guild Selection 

Recommended

Chosen at Nightfall, C. C. Hunter
Chosen at Nightfall
by C. C. Hunter

Don't miss this magnificent final chapter in the breathtaking Shadow Falls series! Kylie's epic journey is about to lead her exactly where she belongs…When Kylie Galen entered Shadow Falls Camp, she left her old life behind forever and disco...

Narrator: Katie Schorr
Published: 04/23/2013

Born at Midnight, C. C. Hunter
Born at Midnight
by C. C. Hunter

Don't miss this spectacular new young adult fantasy series from C.C. Hunter! Born at Midnight will steal your heart and haunt your dreams. Welcome to Shadow Falls camp, nestled deep in the woods of a town called Fallen…One night Kylie Galen f...

Narrator: Katie Schorr
Published: 11/07/2012

The Clockwork Princess, Cassandra Clare
The Clockwork Princess
by Cassandra Clare

Danger and betrayal, love and loss, secrets and enchantment are woven together in the breathtaking finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series.Danger inte...

Narrator: Daniel Sharman
Published: 03/19/2013

Whispers at Moonrise, C. C. Hunter
Whispers at Moonrise
by C. C. Hunter

Shadow Falls Camp is back in session with the most explosive installment yet. A shocking new threat will rock Shadow Falls—changing it forever and altering Kylie's journey in ways she never imagined.Even at a camp for supernatural teens, Kyli...

Narrator: Katie Schorr
Published: 10/02/2012

Awake at Dawn, C. C. Hunter
Awake at Dawn
by C. C. Hunter

Step into the world of Shadow Falls, a camp that helps teens tap into their special…talents. Once you visit, you'll never forget it—and you'll never, ever be the same.From the moment Kylie Galen arrived at Shadow Falls Camp, she's had o...

Narrator: Katie Schorr
Published: 12/18/2012

The Young Elites, Marie Lu
The Young Elites
by Marie Lu

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Legend series   I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.   Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the i...

Narrator: Carla Corvo
Published: 10/07/2014

Taken at Dusk A Shadow Falls Novel, C. C. Hunter
Taken at Dusk
by C. C. Hunter

Step into Shadow Falls, a camp for teens with supernatural powers. Here friendship thrives, love takes you by surprise, and our hearts possess the greatest magic of all.Kylie Galen wants the truth so badly she can taste it. The truth about who her ...

Narrator: Katie Schorr
Published: 12/18/2012

The Cruel Prince, Holly Black
The Cruel Prince
by Holly Black

An instant bestseller!By #1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black, the first book in a stunning new series about a mortal girl who finds herself caught in a web of royal faerie intrigue. Of course I want to be like them. They're beautiful a...

Narrator: Caitlin Kelly
Published: 01/02/2018

The Red Scrolls of Magic, Cassandra Clare
The Red Scrolls of Magic
by Cassandra Clare

From #1 New York Times bestseller Cassandra Clare and award-winner Wesley Chu comes the first book in a new series that follows High Warlock Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood as they tour the world after the Mortal War. The Red Scrolls of Magic is a Sh...

Narrator: BD Wong
Published: 04/09/2019
{"id":"1916454","ean":"9780525524908","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Beasts Made of Night","subtitle":"","author":"Tochi Onyebuchi","rating_average":"3","narrator":"Prentice Onayemi","ubr_id":"1916454","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.25","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Prentice Onayemi","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr 20 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}