Bang!, Sharon Flake
  • List: $17.50  |  Sale: $12.25
    Club: $8.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Bang!

Author: Sharon Flake

Narrator: Dominic Hoffman

Unabridged: 6 hr 6 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 04/11/2006

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - People & Places - United States - African American

Ages: 14 - 17

Synopsis

Mann lost his younger brother, Jason, two years ago–an innocent bystander in a shooting on his own porch. These murders are a frequent occurrence in Mann’s neighborhood. They’re so common, in fact, that he and his best friend, Kee-lee, keep a running tally of all the deceased, since no one else seems to be paying attention. Even that is not enough.

More and more, Mann escapes reality through painting and horseback riding, but eventually turns to fighting, cheap thrills, and much worse. In a last-ditch effort, Mann’s father does the one thing he thinks will teach his son how to survive. Drawing from an ancient African tradition, he abandons Mann and Kee-lee in the woods, leaving them to navigate their way home, alone.

What seems like a good idea quickly turns tragic when a father’s good intentions force his son down a destructive path. Could anything be worse than losing one son? Another wrong turn and it will all be over for Mann as well. Bang!

This realistic portrait of inner-city life is both sober and transcendent. Through its honesty, listeners are compelled to open their eyes to what’s happening in their own homes and in the world around them.

Recommended

American Ace, Marilyn Nelson
American Ace
by Marilyn Nelson

This riveting novel in verse, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Toni Morrison, explores American history and race through the eyes of a teenage boy embracing his newfound identity   Connor’s grandmother leaves his dad a letter wh...

Narrator: Marilyn Nelson
Published: 01/12/2016

The Hate U Give, Angie Thomas
The Hate U Give
by Angie Thomas

8 starred reviews ∙ William C. Morris Award Winner ∙ National Book Award Longlist ∙ Printz Honor Book ∙ Coretta Scott King Honor Book ∙ #1 New York Times Bestseller!"Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds"Stu...

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 02/28/2017

Dear Martin, Nic Stone
Dear Martin
by Nic Stone

"Powerful, wrenching.” –JOHN GREEN, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Turtles All the Way Down"Raw and gripping." –JASON REYNOLDS, New York Times bestselling coauthor of All American Boys"A must-read!” &n...

Narrator: Dion Graham
Published: 10/17/2017

Mississippi Trial, 1955, Chris Crowe
Mississippi Trial, 1955
by Chris Crowe

Winner of the 2003 International Reading Association Award for Young Adult Novel. This gripping story is based on the true events of the murder of Emmett Till, one of the nation's most notorious crimes that helped spark the ...

Narrator: Victor Bevine
Published: 01/08/2019

Willow, Tonya Cherie Hegamin
Willow
by Tonya Cherie Hegamin

It is 1848.On one side of the Mason-Dixon Line lives fifteen-year-old Willow, her master’s favorite servant. She’s been taught to read and has learned to write. She is permitted to spend much of her time riding her horse to the riverbank...

Narrator: Janina Edwards
Published: 02/11/2014

On the Come Up, Angie Thomas
On the Come Up
by Angie Thomas

This is the highly anticipated second novel by Angie Thomas, the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning The Hate U Give.Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least win her...

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 02/05/2019

47, Walter Mosley
47
by Walter Mosley

47 is the first young adult novel to be written by bestselling author Walter Mosley. A master storyteller, Mosley deftly mixes speculative and historical fiction in this daring novel. Set in a plantation, 47 (a young slave boy) is growing up under...

Narrator: Ossie Davis
Published: 04/12/2005

When I Was the Greatest, Jason Reynolds
When I Was the Greatest
by Jason Reynolds

In Bed Stuy, New York, a small misunderstanding can escalate into having a price on your head—even if you’re totally clean. This gritty, triumphant debut captures the heart and the hardship of life for an urban teen.A lot of the stuff th...

Narrator: JB Adkins
Published: 04/08/2014

Handbook for Boys, Walter Dean Myers
Handbook for Boys
by Walter Dean Myers

"What you need to do," Kevin said, "is publish a book called Rules for Every Thing.""If I publish a book," Duke said, "I'm going to call it Handbook for Boys."Growing up is tough...really tough.But what if you had a handbook that told you how to fi...

Narrator: Peter Francis James
Published: 02/22/2005
{"id":"320487","ean":"9780739331163","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Bang!","subtitle":"","author":"Sharon Flake","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Dominic Hoffman","ubr_id":"320487","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.38","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Dominic Hoffman","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}