Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8, Kim Van Alkemade
  • List: $23.99  |  Sale: $16.79
    Club: $11.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8

Author: Kim Van Alkemade

Narrator: Corey Brill, Andi Arndt

Unabridged: 12 hr 16 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 03/06/2018

Genre: Fiction - Historical

Synopsis

NOW AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER “Bachelor Girl plunges the reader deep into life during the Jazz Age…and the revealing of other secrets and confessions will keep readers up all night looking for answers.” —Booklist, starred review From the New York Times bestselling author of Orphan #8 comes a fresh and intimate novel in the vein of Lilac Girls and The Alice Network about the destructive power of secrets and the redemptive power of love—inspired by the true story of Jacob Ruppert, the millionaire owner of the New York Yankees, and his mysterious bequest in 1939 to an unknown actress, Helen Winthrope Weyant.When the owner of the New York Yankees baseball team, Colonel Jacob Ruppert, takes Helen Winthrope, a young actress, under his wing, she thinks it’s because of his guilt over her father’s accidental death—and so does Albert Kramer, Ruppert’s handsome personal secretary. Helen and Albert develop a deepening bond the closer they become to Ruppert, an eccentric millionaire who demands their loyalty in return for his lavish generosity. New York in the Jazz Age is filled with possibilities, especially for the young and single. Yet even as Helen embraces being a “bachelor girl”—a working woman living on her own terms—she finds herself falling in love with Albert, even after he confesses his darkest secret. When Ruppert dies, rumors swirl about his connection to Helen after the stunning revelation that he has left her the bulk of his fortune, which includes Yankee Stadium. But it is only when Ruppert’s own secrets are finally revealed that Helen and Albert will be forced to confront the truth about their relationship to him—and to each other. Inspired by factual events that gripped New York City in its heyday, Bachelor Girl is a hidden history gem about family, identity, and love in all its shapes and colors.

Recommended

Lilac Girls, Martha Hall Kelly
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 04/05/2016

The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
by Heather Morris

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 09/04/2018

The Huntress A Novel, Kate Quinn
The Huntress
by Kate Quinn

List: $42.99

Sale: $30.10

Club: $21.49

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 02/26/2019

Heads You Win, Jeffrey Archer
Heads You Win
by Jeffrey Archer

List: $32.99

Sale: $23.10

Club: $16.49

Narrator: Richard Armitage
Published: 11/06/2018

Outlander, Diana Gabaldon
Outlander
by Diana Gabaldon

List: $34.99

Sale: $24.50

Club: $17.49

Narrator: Davina Porter
Published: 03/30/2012

Before We Were Yours, Lisa Wingate
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Emily Rankin
Published: 06/06/2017

The Nickel Boys A Novel, Colson Whitehead
The Nickel Boys
by Colson Whitehead

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: JD Jackson
Published: 07/16/2019

The Lions of Fifth Avenue A Novel, Fiona Davis
The Lions of Fifth Avenue
by Fiona Davis

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Erin Bennett , Lisa Flanagan
Published: 07/28/2020

A Gentleman in Moscow, Amor Towles
A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amor Towles

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Nicholas Guy Smith
Published: 09/06/2016
{"id":"2060227","ean":"9781508253518","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Bachelor Girl: A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8","subtitle":"A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8","author":"Kim Van Alkemade","rating_average":"3.75","narrator":"Corey Brill","ubr_id":"2060227","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Corey Brill","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 14 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}