At the Wolf's Table, Rosella Postorino
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

At the Wolf's Table

Author: Rosella Postorino

Narrator: Leah Janeczko, Polly Stone

Unabridged: 10 hr 36 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 01/29/2019

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 2

Synopsis

"Narrator Polly Stone gives us a believable depiction of Rosa Sauer...The story is compelling, and the performance memorable." — AudioFile MagazineAt the Wolf's Table is a moving audiobook based on the untold true story of the women conscripted to be Hitler’s food tasters, from internationally bestselling author Rosella Postorino."They called it the Wolfsschanze, the Wolf’s Lair. 'Wolf' was his nickname. As hapless as Little Red Riding Hood, I had ended up in his belly. A legion of hunters was out looking for him, and to get him in their grips they would gladly slay me as well."Germany, 1943: Twenty-six-year-old Rosa Sauer’s parents are gone, and her husband Gregor is far away, fighting on the front lines of WWII. Impoverished and alone, she makes the fateful decision to leave war-torn Berlin to live with her in-laws in the countryside, thinking she’ll find refuge there. But one morning, the SS come to tell her she has been conscripted to be one of Hitler’s tasters: three times a day, she and nine other women go to his secret headquarters, the Wolf’s Lair, to eat his meals before he does. Forced to eat what might kill them, the tasters begin to divide into The Fanatics, those loyal to Hitler, and the women like Rosa who insist they aren’t Nazis, even as they risk their lives every day for Hitler’s. As secrets and resentments grow, this unlikely sisterhood reaches its own dramatic climax. What’s more, one of Rosa’s SS guards has become dangerously familiar, and the war is worsening outside. As the months pass, it becomes increasingly clear that Rosa and everyone she knows are on the wrong side of history.Praise for At the Wolf's Table:"[Postorino's] ability to beautifully convey feelings of guilt, shame, love and remorse in a single gesture is a sign that we will be hearing more from her." — New York Times Book Review

Recommended

The Wartime Sisters A Novel, Lynda Cohen Loigman
The Wartime Sisters
by Lynda Cohen Loigman

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author, Alyson Richman and Lauren Willig. The next powerful audiobook from the author of The Two-Family House about two sisters working in a WWII armory, each with a deep secret. Two estranged si...

Narrator: Emily Lawrence
Published: 01/22/2019

Days of Infamy, Newt Gingrich
Days of Infamy
by Newt Gingrich

Gingrich and Forstchen's now critically acclaimed approach, which they term "active history," examines how a change in but one decision might have profoundly altered American history. In Pearl Harbor they explored how history might have been changed...

Narrator: William Dufris
Published: 04/29/2008

The Orphan's Tale, Pam Jenoff
The Orphan's Tale
by Pam Jenoff

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after be...

Narrator: Jennifer Wydra
Published: 02/21/2017

The Winemaker's Wife, Kristin Harmel
The Winemaker's Wife
by Kristin Harmel

Instant #1 bestseller from The Globe and Mail (Toronto) and The Toronto Star “Love and betrayal, forgiveness and redemption combine in a heady tale of the ever-present past…fantastic!” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling...

Narrator: Robin Eller
Published: 08/13/2019

The Lost Girls of Paris A Novel, Pam Jenoff
The Lost Girls of Paris
by Pam Jenoff

From the author of the runaway bestseller The Orphan’s Tale comes a remarkable story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female secret agents during World War II.1946, ManhattanOne morning while passing through...

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Published: 01/29/2019

The Paris Seamstress, Natasha Lester
The Paris Seamstress
by Natasha Lester

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally bestselling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.1940: As the German...

Narrator: Penelope Rawlins
Published: 09/18/2018

The Girl They Left Behind, Roxanne Veletzos
The Girl They Left Behind
by Roxanne Veletzos

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.On a fr...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 10/09/2018

The Lost Vintage, Ann Mah
The Lost Vintage
by Ann Mah

“If you enjoyed my Sarah’s Key and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, then this wonderful book by Ann Mah is for you.” -- Tatiana de RosnaySweetbitter meets The Nightingale in this page-turning novel about a woman who re...

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/19/2018

Cilka's Journey A Novel, Heather Morris
Cilka's Journey
by Heather Morris

From the author of the multi-million copy bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz comes a new novel based on an incredible true story of love and resilience. Her beauty saved her — and condemned her. Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is ...

Narrator: Louise Brealey
Published: 10/01/2019
{"id":"2562468","ean":"9781250316912","abr":"Unabridged","title":"At the Wolf's Table","subtitle":"","author":"Rosella Postorino","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Leah Janeczko","ubr_id":"2562468","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Leah Janeczko","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 36 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}