At the Wolfs Table
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

At the Wolf's Table

Author: Rosella Postorino

Narrator: Leah Janeczko, Polly Stone

Unabridged: 10 hr 36 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Published: 01/29/2019

Genre: Fiction - Historical - World War 2

Synopsis

At the Wolf's Table is a moving audiobook based on the untold true story of the women conscripted to be Hitlera€™s food tasters, from internationally bestselling author Rosella Postorino.

"They called it the Wolfsschanze, the Wolfa€™s Lair. 'Wolf' was his nickname. As hapless as Little Red Riding Hood, I had ended up in his belly. A legion of hunters was out looking for him, and to get him in their grips they would gladly slay me as well."

Germany, 1943: Twenty-six-year-old Rosa Sauera€™s parents are gone, and her husband Gregor is far away, fighting on the front lines of WWII. Impoverished and alone, she makes the fateful decision to leave war-torn Berlin to live with her in-laws in the countryside, thinking shea€™ll find refuge there. But one morning, the SS come to tell her she has been conscripted to be one of Hitlera€™s tasters: three times a day, she and nine other women go to his secret headquarters, the Wolfa€™s Lair, to eat his meals before he does. Forced to eat what might kill them, the tasters begin to divide into The Fanatics, those loyal to Hitler, and the women like Rosa who insist they arena€™t Nazis, even as they risk their lives every day for Hitlera€™s.

As secrets and resentments grow, this unlikely sisterhood reaches its own dramatic climax. Whata€™s more, one of Rosaa€™s SS guards has become dangerously familiar, and the war is worsening outside. As the months pass, it becomes increasingly clear that Rosa and everyone she knows are on the wrong side of history.

Recommended

The Girl They Left Behind
by Roxanne Veletzos

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.On a fr...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 10/09/2018

Days of Infamy
by Newt Gingrich

Gingrich and Forstchen's now critically acclaimed approach, which they term "active history," examines how a change in but one decision might have profoundly altered American history. In Pearl Harbor they explored how history might have been changed...

Narrator: William Dufris
Published: 04/29/2008

The Wartime Sisters
by Lynda Cohen Loigman

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author, Alyson Richman and Lauren Willig. The next powerful audiobook from the author of The Two-Family House about two sisters working in a WWII armory, each with a deep secret. Two estranged si...

Narrator: Emily Lawrence
Published: 01/22/2019

The Good at Heart
by Ursula Werner

Based on the author’s discoveries about her great-grandfather, this stunning debut novel takes place over three days when World War II comes to the doorstep of an ordinary German family living in an idyllic, rural village near the Swiss border...

Narrator: Gibson Frazier
Published: 02/21/2017

The Light Over London
by Julia Kelly

Reminiscent of Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale, this sweeping, entrancing story is a must-read for fans of remarkable women rising to challenges they could never have predicted. It’s always been easier for ...

Narrator: Lucy Brownhill
Published: 01/08/2019

The Madonna of the Mountains
by Elise Valmorbida

“A riveting adventure for the soul . . . just the kind of evocative historical fiction I love.”—Sara Gruen, author of At the Water’s Edge and Water for ElephantsAn epic, inspiring novel about one woman&rsq...

Narrator: Cecilia Gragnani
Published: 06/12/2018

The Paris Seamstress
by Natasha Lester

For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale comes an internationally bestselling World War II novel that spans generations, crosses oceans, and proves just how much two young women are willing to sacrifice for love and family.1940: As the German...

Narrator: Penelope Rawlins
Published: 09/18/2018

The Lost Vintage
by Ann Mah

“If you enjoyed my Sarah’s Key and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale, then this wonderful book by Ann Mah is for you.” -- Tatiana de RosnaySweetbitter meets The Nightingale in this page-turning novel about a woman who re...

Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld
Published: 06/19/2018

Letters to the Lost
by Iona Grey

An accomplished novel from a talented writer, Letters to the Lost is a stunning, emotional love story. Iona Grey's prose is warm, evocative, and immediately engaging; her characters become so real you can't bear to let them go.I promised to love you...

Narrator: Avita Jay
Published: 05/06/2015
{"id":"2562468","ean":"9781250316912","abr":"Unabridged","title":"At the Wolf's Table","subtitle":"","author":"Rosella Postorino","rating_average":"5","narrator":"Leah Janeczko","ubr_id":"2562468","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Leah Janeczko","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 36 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}