Anna and the Swallow Man, Gavriel Savit
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Anna and the Swallow Man

Author: Gavriel Savit

Narrator: Allan Corduner

Unabridged: 6 hr 30 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 01/12/2016

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Holocaust

Ages: 12 - 17

Synopsis

Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production
A New York Times Bestseller
A Booklist Editors’ Choice Audio
An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year
A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book
Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award                             
Winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award

"Exquisite." —The Wall Street Journal

"This is masterly storytelling." —The New York Times Book Review

A stunning, beautiful, and ambitious debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of All the Light We Cannot See and The Book Thief.
 
Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She’s alone.

And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.

The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he’s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. 
 
Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit’s stunning debut reveals life’s hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.

Recommended

Prisoner of Night and Fog, Anne Blankman
Prisoner of Night and Fog
by Anne Blankman

List: $25.99

Sale: $18.20

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Heather Wilds
Published: 04/22/2014

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, John Boyne
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
by John Boyne

List: $12.50

Sale: $8.75

Club: $6.25

Narrator: Michael Maloney
Published: 09/26/2006

The Librarian of Auschwitz, Antonio Iturbe
The Librarian of Auschwitz
by Antonio Iturbe

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Marisa Calin
Published: 10/10/2017

Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In), Ruta Sepetys
Ashes in the Snow (Movie Tie-In)
by Ruta Sepetys

List: $23.00

Sale: $16.10

Club: $11.50

Narrator: Emily Klein
Published: 12/18/2018

The Book Thief, Markus Zusak
The Book Thief
by Markus Zusak

List: $25.50

Sale: $17.85

Club: $12.75

Narrator: Allan Corduner
Published: 09/26/2006

Milkweed, Jerry Spinelli
Milkweed
by Jerry Spinelli

List: $12.95

Sale: $9.07

Club: $6.47

Narrator: Ron Rifkin
Published: 09/09/2003

On the Come Up, Angie Thomas
On the Come Up
by Angie Thomas

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Bahni Turpin
Published: 02/05/2019

Sorcery of Thorns, Margaret Rogerson
Sorcery of Thorns
by Margaret Rogerson

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Emily Ellet
Published: 06/04/2019

Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys
Between Shades of Gray
by Ruta Sepetys

List: $23.00

Sale: $16.10

Club: $11.50

Narrator: Emily Klein
Published: 03/22/2011
{"id":"1223271","ean":"9781101891827","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Anna and the Swallow Man","subtitle":"","author":"Gavriel Savit","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Allan Corduner","ubr_id":"1223271","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Allan Corduner","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}