And I Darken, Kiersten White
  • List: $27.50  |  Sale: $19.25
    Club: $13.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

And I Darken

Author: Kiersten White

Series: And I Darken #1

Narrator: Fiona Hardingham

Unabridged: 13 hr 27 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 06/28/2016

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Historical - Medieval

Synopsis

The New York Times Bestseller!

“Absolutely riveting.” —Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Darkest Minds

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story’s atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters and a fearsome heroine. Fans of Victoria Aveyard’s THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE ASHES won’t want to miss this visceral, immersive, and mesmerizing novel, the first in the And I Darken series.

NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

“A dark and twisty fantasy . . . think Game of Thrones, but with teens.”—Seventeen
 
“Sinister, suspenseful, and unapologetically feminist.”—Buzzfeed
 
“Will completely spin you into another time and place.”—Bustle
 
“Takes no prisoners, offering up brutal, emotional historical fiction.”—NPR.org

An ALA Rainbow List Top Ten Selection

Recommended

The Sword and the Dagger A Novel, Robert Cochran
The Sword and the Dagger
by Robert Cochran

The Sword and the Dagger is an epic YA historical adventure by debut novelist Robert Cochran, the Emmy Award-winning executive producer and co-creator of the hit TV series 24.When empires clash,a Princess, a Knight, and an Assassinembark on the ques...

Narrator: Jef Holbrook
Published: 04/16/2019

Squire: Book 3 of the Protector of the Small Quartet, Tamora Pierce
Squire: Book 3 of the Protector of the Small Quartet
by Tamora Pierce

When Keladry of Mindelan is chosen by the legendary Lord Raoul to be his squire, the conservatives of the realm hardly think she’s up to the job. Kel quickly proves her ability as a jouster, warrior, and guardian of a fiery griffin, ultimately...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne
Published: 05/12/2009

Bright We Burn, Kiersten White
Bright We Burn
by Kiersten White

The tumultuous, edge-of-your-seat conclusion to the New York Times bestselling AND I DARKEN series--the epic saga that reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Who will live? Who will die? And who will rule triump...

Narrator: Fiona Hardingham
Published: 07/10/2018

The Door in the Wall, Marguerite de Angeli
The Door in the Wall
by Marguerite de Angeli

Set in the fourteenth century, the classic story of one boy's personal heroism when he loses the use of his legs.

Narrator: Roger Rees
Published: 05/27/2008

Lady Knight Book 4 of the Protector of the Small Quartet, Tamora Pierce
Lady Knight
by Tamora Pierce

The stunning conclusion to the New York Times bestselling series from the fantasy author who is a legend herself: TAMORA PIERCE. Victory is not always what it seems.Keladry of Mindelan has finally achieved her lifelong dream of becoming a knight&m...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne
Published: 09/08/2009

Viking's Chosen, The, Quinn Loftis
Viking's Chosen, The
by Quinn Loftis

His orders are clear: launch a raid against England, and bring home the spoils of war. But the prophecy is also clear: General Torben will take a foreign bride-one who is a seer and a healer just like his mother. The eldest princess of England is sa...

Narrator: Chris Andrew Ciulla
Published: 03/14/2018

Now I Rise, Kiersten White
Now I Rise
by Kiersten White

The highly anticipated, mind-blowing New York Times bestselling sequel to Kiersten White’s New York Times bestseller, AND I DARKEN—the series that reads like HBO’s Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. &#...

Narrator: Fiona Hardingham
Published: 06/27/2017

Trail of Fate The Youngest Templar Trilogy, Book 2, Michael P. Spradlin
Trail of Fate
by Michael P. Spradlin

Washed up on a foreign shore, Tristan is lucky to be alive. As before, it seems to be a miracle— the Holy Grail the young Templar squire is protecting has saved his life yet again. But now he is lost in a strange land, and he doesn't know if h...

Narrator: Paul Boehmer
Published: 10/27/2009

The False Princess, Eilis O'Neal
The False Princess
by Eilis O'Neal

Princess and heir to the throne of Thorvaldor, Nalia has led a privileged life at court. But everything changes when she learns, just after her sixteenth birthday, that she is a false princess, a stand-in for the real Nalia, who has been hidden away...

Narrator: Mandy Williams
Published: 01/25/2011

And I Darken Bundle

Get 5% off your total order by adding 3 or more audiobooks from And I Darken

And I Darken, Kiersten White
Now I Rise, Kiersten White
Bright We Burn, Kiersten White

And I Darken
And I Darken #1

Now I Rise
And I Darken #2

Bright We Burn
And I Darken #3



Or Choose Any 3 Audiobooks From This Series >
{"id":"1349987","ean":"9780399569074","abr":"Unabridged","title":"And I Darken","subtitle":"","author":"Kiersten White","rating_average":"4.25","narrator":"Fiona Hardingham","series_id":"8863","ubr_id":"1349987","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"27.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"17.88","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Fiona Hardingham","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}