A Walking Life: Reclaiming Our Health and Our Freedom One Step at a Time, Antonia Malchik
  • List: $24.98  |  Sale: $17.49
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

A Walking Life: Reclaiming Our Health and Our Freedom One Step at a Time

Author: Antonia Malchik

Narrator: Eliza Foss

Unabridged: 9 hr 3 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Hachette Audio

Published: 05/07/2019

Genre: Social Science - Anthropology - Cultural

Synopsis

For readers of On Trails: an incisive, utterly engaging exploration of walking: how it is fundamental to our being human, how we've designed it out of our lives, and how it is essential that we reembrace it"I'm going for a walk." How often has this phrase been uttered by someone with a heart full of anger or sorrow? Or as an invitation, a precursor to a declaration of love? Our species and its predecessors have been bipedal walkers for at least six million years; by now, we take this seemingly arbitrary motion for granted. Yet how many of us still really walk in our everyday lives? Driven by a combination of a car-centric culture and an insatiable thirst for productivity and efficiency, we're spending more time sedentary and alone than we ever have before. If bipedal walking is truly what makes our species human, as paleoanthropologists claim, what does it mean that we are designing walking right out of our lives? Antonia Malchik asks essential questions at the center of humanity's evolution and social structures: Who gets to walk, and where? How did we lose the right to walk, and what implications does that have for the strength of our communities, the future of democracy, and the pervasive loneliness of individual lives? The loss of walking as an individual and a community act has the potential to destroy our deepest spiritual connections, our democratic society, our neighborhoods, and our freedom. But we can change the course of our mobility. And we need to. Delving into a wealth of science, history, and anecdote -- from our deepest origins as hominins to our first steps as babies, to universal design and social infrastructure, A Walking Life shows exactly how walking is essential, and how deeply reliant our brains and bodies are on this simple pedestrian act -- and how we can reclaim it.

Recommended

Gods of the Upper Air How a Circle of Renegade Anthropologists Reinvented Race, Sex, and Gender in the Twentieth Century, Charles King
Gods of the Upper Air
by Charles King

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 08/06/2019

The World Until Yesterday What Can We Learn from Traditional Societies?, Jared Diamond
The World Until Yesterday
by Jared Diamond

List: $27.50

Sale: $19.25

Club: $13.75

Narrator: Jay Snyder
Published: 12/31/2012

The Precipice Existential Risk and the Future of Humanity, Toby Ord
The Precipice
by Toby Ord

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Toby Ord
Published: 03/24/2020

The Unsettlers In Search of the Good Life in Today's America, Mark Sundeen
The Unsettlers
by Mark Sundeen

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Mark Sundeen
Published: 01/10/2017

Civilized To Death The Price of Progress, Christopher Ryan
Civilized To Death
by Christopher Ryan

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Christopher Ryan
Published: 10/01/2019

Sand Talk How Indigenous Thinking Can Save the World, Tyson Yunkaporta
Sand Talk
by Tyson Yunkaporta

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Tyson Yunkaporta
Published: 05/12/2020

Pandora's Seed The Unforeseen Cost of Civilization, Spencer Wells
Pandora's Seed
by Spencer Wells

List: $16.99

Sale: $11.89

Club: $8.49

Narrator: Spencer Wells
Published: 06/08/2010

Don't Sleep, There Are Snakes Life and Language in the Amazonian Jungle, Daniel L. Everett
Don't Sleep, There Are Snakes
by Daniel L. Everett

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Daniel Everett
Published: 06/06/2017

Bullshit Jobs A Theory, David Graeber
Bullshit Jobs
by David Graeber

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Christopher Ragland
Published: 05/15/2018
{"id":"3106479","ean":"9781549171017","abr":"Unabridged","title":"A Walking Life: Reclaiming Our Health and Our Freedom One Step at a Time","subtitle":"Reclaiming Our Health and Our Freedom One Step at a Time","author":"Antonia Malchik","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Eliza Foss","ubr_id":"3106479","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.98","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.24","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Eliza Foss","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}