A Quiet Life In The Country
  • List: $9.99  |  Sale: $7.00
    Club: $4.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

A Quiet Life In The Country: A Lady Hardcastle Mystery

Author: T E Kinsey

Series: Lady Hardcastle #1

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden

Unabridged: 7 hr 38 min

Format: Digital Audiobook (DRM Protected)

Publisher: Brilliance Audio

Published: 10/04/2016

Genre: Fiction - Mystery & Detective - Amateur Sleuth

Synopsis

Lady Emily Hardcastle is an eccentric widow with a secret past. Florence Armstrong, her maid and confidante, is an expert in martial arts. The year is 1908 and they’ve just moved from London to the country, hoping for a quiet life.But it is not long before Lady Hardcastle is forced out of her self-imposed retirement. There’s a dead body in the woods, and the police are on the wrong scent. Lady Hardcastle makes some enquiries of her own, and it seems she knows a surprising amount about crime investigation…As Lady Hardcastle and Flo delve deeper into rural rivalries and resentment, they uncover a web of intrigue that extends far beyond the village. With almost no one free from suspicion, they can be certain of only one fact: there is no such thing as a quiet life in the country.

Recommended

Cure
by Robin Cook

The New York Times-bestselling author and master of the medical thriller returns with another heart-pounding story of medical intrigue. With her young son's potentially fatal neuroblastoma in complete remission, New York City medical examiner Laur...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 08/10/2010

The Golden Tresses of the Dead
by Alan Bradley

A finger in a wedding cake is only the beginning in this deliciously shocking mystery featuring Flavia de Luce, “the world’s greatest adolescent British chemist/busybody/sleuth” (The Seattle Times). Although it is autumn in the sma...

Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Published: 01/22/2019

The Word is Murder
by Anthony Horowitz

SHE PLANNED HER OWN FUNERAL. BUT DID SHE ARRANGE HER OWN MURDER?New York Times bestselling author of Magpie Murders and Moriarty, Anthony Horowitz has yet again brilliantly reinvented the classic crime novel, this time writing a fictional version o...

Narrator: Rory Kinnear
Published: 06/05/2018

The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers
by Lilian Jackson Braun

Polly Duncan is off to Paris, temporarily leaving Jim Qwilleran without his lady companion. Good thing there's lots to keep Jim busy. Like a mysterious death from a bee sting that leaves everyone but Koko the Siamese in a state of confusion. If only...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 01/02/2007

The Sherlockian
by Graham Moore

Hurtling from present day New York to Victorian London, The Sherlockian weaves the history of Sherlock Holmes and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle into an inspired and entertaining double mystery that proves to be anything but "elementary."In December 1893, ...

Narrator: Steven Crossley
Published: 12/01/2010

The Frame-Up
by Meghan Scott Molin

By day she writes comic books. By night, she lives them.MG Martin lives and breathes geek culture. She even works as a writer for the comic book company she idolized as a kid. But despite her love of hooded vigilantes, MG prefers her comics stay on ...

Narrator: Andrea Emmes
Published: 12/01/2018

Tuesday the Rabbi Saw Red
by Harry Kemelman

With his Rabbi Small mysteries, acclaimed author Harry Kemelman has made the best-seller lists every day of the week! The adventures of the unassuming Rabbi are hailed by critics and fans for their wit, wisdom, and the unparalleled logic of one of t...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 05/01/1998

Heads You Lose
by Lisa Lutz

New York Times-bestselling author Lisa Lutz conspires with-or should we say against?-coauthor David Hayward to write an original and hilarious tag-team crime novel. Meet Paul and Lacey Hansen: orphaned, pot-growing twentysomething siblings eking o...

Narrator: Abby Craden
Published: 04/05/2011

The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes
by David Handler

HARLAN COBEN calls it "One of my all-time favorite series! ...David Handler is so good at writing one smart, funny page-turner after another that he makes it look easy." Fans of JANET EVANOVICH and CARL HIAASEN, get ready. If you haven't ...

Narrator: Sean Runnette
Published: 10/31/2017
{"id":"1410885","ean":"9781531846121","abr":"Unabridged","title":"A Quiet Life In The Country: A Lady Hardcastle Mystery","subtitle":"A Lady Hardcastle Mystery","author":"T E Kinsey","rating_average":"3.2","narrator":"Elizabeth Knowelden","ubr_id":"1410885","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"9.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"6.49","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Elizabeth Knowelden","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}