A Bloodsmoor Romance, Joyce Carol Oates
  • List: $48.99  |  Sale: $34.30
    Club: $24.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

A Bloodsmoor Romance

Author: Joyce Carol Oates

Narrator: Tavia Gilbert

Unabridged: 29 hr

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 04/28/2020

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

Finally returned to print in a beautiful new trade paperback edition, comes Joyce Carol Oates’ lost classic: a satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic Romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose 19th century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture.

Set in a nineteenth century similar to our own, A Bloodsmoor Romance follows the beautiful Zinn sisters, five young women who refuse—for the most part—”the obligations of Christian marriage.”

Full of Oates’s mordant wit and breathlessly told in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator shocked by the Zinn sisters’ sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of their time, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, “a novel of manners” in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott which Oates turns on its head.

Oates’s dark romp interweaves murder and mayhem, ghosts, and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women’s suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the 19th century’s greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde.

A biting assessment of the American landscape and a virtuosic transformation of a literary genre, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical anti-romance—Little Women by way of Stephen King.

Recommended

To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

Valentine A Novel, Elizabeth Wetmore
Valentine
by Elizabeth Wetmore

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 03/31/2020

My Dark Vanessa A Novel, Kate Elizabeth Russell
My Dark Vanessa
by Kate Elizabeth Russell

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Grace Gummer
Published: 03/10/2020

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005

Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars. A Novel, Joyce Carol Oates
Night. Sleep. Death. The Stars.
by Joyce Carol Oates

List: $48.99

Sale: $34.30

Club: $24.49

Narrator: Cheryl Smith
Published: 06/09/2020

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015

Anxious People A Novel, Fredrik Backman
Anxious People
by Fredrik Backman

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Marin Ireland
Published: 09/08/2020

Where the Crawdads Sing, Delia Owens
Where the Crawdads Sing
by Delia Owens

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 08/14/2018

White Ivy A Novel, Susie Yang
White Ivy
by Susie Yang

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Emily Woo Zeller
Published: 11/03/2020
{"id":"3971983","ean":"9780063022423","abr":"Unabridged","title":"A Bloodsmoor Romance","subtitle":"","author":"Joyce Carol Oates","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Tavia Gilbert","ubr_id":"3971983","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"48.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"29.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Tavia Gilbert","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 29 hours 1 minutes","abr_length":"Abridged: "}