Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail, Cheryl Strayed
  • List: $24.00  |  Sale: $16.80
    Club: $12.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

Author: Cheryl Strayed

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne

Unabridged: 13 hr 2 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 03/20/2012

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs

Synopsis

Oprah's Book Club 2.0 selection.

A powerful, blazingly honest memoir: the story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe—and built her back up again.
 
At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother's death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life: to hike the Pacific Crest Trail from the Mojave Desert through California and Oregon to Washington State—and to do it alone. She had no experience as a long-distance hiker, and the trail was little more than “an idea, vague and outlandish and full of promise.” But it was a promise of piecing back together a life that had come undone.
 
Strayed faces down rattlesnakes and black bears, intense heat and record snowfalls, and both the beauty and loneliness of the trail. Told with great suspense and style, sparkling with warmth and humor, Wild vividly captures the terrors and pleasures of one young woman forging ahead against all odds on a journey that maddened, strengthened, and ultimately healed her.

Recommended

Scrappy Little Nobody, Anna Kendrick
Scrappy Little Nobody
by Anna Kendrick

A collection of humorous autobiographical essays by the Academy Award-nominated actress and star of Up in the Air and Pitch Perfect.“I’m excited to publish my first book, and because I get uncomfortable when people have high expectations...

Narrator: Anna Kendrick
Published: 11/15/2016

Becoming, Michelle Obama
Becoming
by Michelle Obama

An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States   In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of...

Narrator: Michelle Obama
Published: 11/13/2018

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo, Amy Schumer
The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo
by Amy Schumer

“Amy’s got your back. She’s in your corner. She’s an honesty bomb. And she’s coming for you.” —Actress Tilda Swinton and Trainwreck co-star The Emmy Award-winning comedian, actress, writer, and star of Insi...

Narrator: Amy Schumer
Published: 08/16/2016

The Tender Bar A Memoir, J. R. Moehringer
The Tender Bar
by J. R. Moehringer

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.J....

Narrator: Adam Grupper
Published: 09/05/2017

The Glass Castle A Memoir, Jeannette Walls
The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

Shoe Dog, Phil Knight
Shoe Dog
by Phil Knight

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In this candid and riveting memoir, for the first time ever, Nike founder and CEO Phil Knight shares the inside story of the company’s early days as an intrepid start-up and its evolution into one of the world’s...

Narrator: Norbert Leo Butz
Published: 04/26/2016

Such a Pretty Fat One Narcissist's Quest to Discover If Her Life Makes Her Ass Look Big, Or Why Pi e Is Not the Answer, Jen Lancaster
Such a Pretty Fat
by Jen Lancaster

A NOTE FROM JEN LANCASTER:"To whom the fat rolls…I'm tired of books where a self-loathing heroine is teased to the point where she starves herself skinny in hopes of a fabulous new life. And I hate the message that women can't poss...

Narrator: Jamie Heinlein
Published: 05/12/2009

Eat, Pray, Love One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia, Elizabeth Gilbert
Eat, Pray, Love
by Elizabeth Gilbert

A transformational journey through Italy, India, and Bali searching for pleasure and devotion—the massive bestseller from the author of The Signature of All Things This beautifully written, heartfelt memoir touched a nerve among both readers a...

Narrator: Elizabeth Gilbert
Published: 02/16/2006

The Glass Castle A Memoir, Jeannette Walls
The Glass Castle
by Jeannette Walls

  Topics & Questions for Discussion   1. Though The Glass Castle is brimming with unforgettable stories, which scenes were the most memorable for you? Which were the most shocking, the most inspiring, the funniest?   2. Discu...

Narrator: Jeannette Walls
Published: 09/15/2010

Reviews Write A Review

AudiobooksNow review by Lisa the Librarian on 2012-09-26 12:39:42

This book is pretty much what youd expect if you have read the Amazon summary. Long, healing walk on the PCT that heals the soul. Yep, thats about right. Learning about the PCT and California and Oregon natural wonders is interesting. Great brief appearances by other PCT hikers. Watching the evolution into badass Amazonian hiking queen is empowering and fun. The worst part is the family element: Her mother died and family drifted apart. The grieving is acceptable, but by the end I had the thought: Get over it already. She died years ago. Youve hiked hundreds of miles and still havent resolved yourself that your parents will die? So, tedious by the end on the emotional angle.

{"id":"318569","ean":"9780307970305","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail","subtitle":"From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail","author":"Cheryl Strayed","rating_average":"4.3","narrator":"Bernadette Dunne","series_id":"9417","ubr_id":"318569","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"15.60","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Bernadette Dunne","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 12 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}