Where the Crawdads Sing
  • List: $17.50  | Sale: $12.25
    $0.00 with Free Trial
    • facebook
    • Twitter
    • googleplus
    • pinterest

Details

Where the Crawdads Sing

Author: Delia Owens

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell

Unabridged: 11 hr 50 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Penguin Audio

Published: 08/14/2018

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Recommended

The Pilot's Wife
by Anita Shreve

Anita Shreve's hauntingly beautiful #1 bestseller and Oprah's Book Club selection about tragedy, grief, betrayal, and the 'impossibility of knowing another person.'As a pilot's wife, Kathryn has learned to expect both intense exhilaration and long ...

Narrator: Melanie Griffith
Published: 10/01/2013

The Help
by Kathryn Stockett

The #1 New York Times bestselling novel and basis for the Academy Award–winning film.   Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who's always taken orders quietly, but lately she's unable to hold her bitterness back. Her fri...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia, Cassandra Campbell, Bahni Turpin, Octavia Spencer
Published: 02/10/2009

Life of Pi
by Yann Martel

Winner of the Booker Prize and a New York Times bestseller.    Martel's novel tells the story of the amazing journey of an unusual boy named Pi.

Narrator: Jeff Woodman
Published: 01/09/2003

Middlesex
by Jeffrey Eugenides

In the spring of 1974, Calliope Stephanides, a student at a girls' school, Grosse Pointe, MI, finds herself drawn to a chain-smoking, strawberry-blonde classmate with a gift for acting. The passion that furtively develops between them - along with C...

Narrator: Kristoffer Tabori
Published: 03/01/2003

To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

Voted America's Best-Loved Novel in PBS's The Great American ReadHarper Lee's Pulitzer Prize-winning masterwork of honor and injustice in the deep South—and the heroism of one man in the face of blind and violent hatredOne of the most ch...

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

The Secret Life of Bees
by Sue Monk Kidd

An intoxicating debut novel of "one motherless daughter's discovery of...the strange and wonderful places we find love" —The Washington PostSue Monk Kidd's ravishing debut novel has stolen the hearts of reviewers and readers alike...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia
Published: 01/28/2003

The Reader
by Bernhard Schlink

Hailed for its coiled eroticism and the moral claims it makes upon the reader, this mesmerizing novel is a story of love and secrets, horror and compassion, unfolding against the haunted landscape of postwar Germany.When he falls ill on his way home...

Narrator: Carol Janeway
Published: 11/11/2008

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan
by Lisa See

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan is a brilliantly realistic journey back to an era of Chinese history that is as deeply moving as it is sorrowful. With the period detail and deep resonance of Memoirs of a Geisha, this lyrical and emotionally...

Narrator: Janet Song,Jodi Long
Published: 06/28/2005

The Art of Racing in the Rain
by Garth Stein

Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny...

Narrator: Christopher Evan Welch
Published: 05/13/2008
{"id":"2308465","ean":"9780525640370","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Where the Crawdads Sing","subtitle":"","author":"Delia Owens","rating_average":"4.5","narrator":"Cassandra Campbell","ubr_id":"2308465","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"17.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.38","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Cassandra Campbell","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 50 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}