What Set Me Free (The Story That Inspired the Major Motion Picture Brian Banks): A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed, Brian Banks
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

What Set Me Free (The Story That Inspired the Major Motion Picture Brian Banks): A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed

Author: Brian Banks

Narrator: Brian Banks

Unabridged: 8 hr 15 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 07/02/2019

Genre: Biography & Autobiography - Personal Memoirs

Synopsis

Brian Banks, the major motion picture starring Aldis Hodge, Greg Kinnear, and Sherri Shepherd, winner of the audience award at the 2018 LA Film Festival, opens nationwide in 2019! Discover the unforgettable and inspiring true story of Brian Banks—a young man who was wrongfully convicted as a teenager and imprisoned for more than five years, only to emerge with his spirit unbroken and determined to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL.At age sixteen, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player, ranked eleventh in the nation as a linebacker. Before his seventeenth birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit. Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of forty-one years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal—and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison. At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded in darkness, until he had epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, Brian made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying and applying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment. When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to re-build his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age twenty-eight, he made that dream come true. Perfect for fans of Just Mercy, I Beat the Odds, and Infinite Hope, this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.

Recommended

Hustle Harder, Hustle Smarter, Curtis 50 Cent Jackson
Hustle Harder, Hustle Smarter
by Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson
Published: 04/28/2020

Where Do I Begin? Stories from a Life Lived Out Loud, Elvis Duran
Where Do I Begin?
by Elvis Duran

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Elvis Duran
Published: 10/01/2019

Over the Top A Raw Journey to Self-Love, Jonathan Van Ness
Over the Top
by Jonathan Van Ness

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Jonathan Van Ness
Published: 09/24/2019

In Pieces, Sally Field
In Pieces
by Sally Field

List: $25.98

Sale: $18.19

Club: $12.99

Narrator: Sally Field
Published: 09/18/2018

Grateful American A Journey from Self to Service, Gary Sinise
Grateful American
by Gary Sinise

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Gary Sinise
Published: 02/12/2019

Inside Out A Memoir, Demi Moore
Inside Out
by Demi Moore

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Demi Moore
Published: 09/24/2019

Becoming, Michelle Obama
Becoming
by Michelle Obama

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Michelle Obama
Published: 11/13/2018

Life Will Be the Death of Me . . . and you too!, Chelsea Handler
Life Will Be the Death of Me
by Chelsea Handler

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Chelsea Handler
Published: 04/09/2019

Unorthodox The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots, Deborah Feldman
Unorthodox
by Deborah Feldman

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Rachel Botchan
Published: 03/03/2020
{"id":"3203554","ean":"9781508295020","abr":"Unabridged","title":"What Set Me Free (The Story That Inspired the Major Motion Picture Brian Banks): A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed","subtitle":"A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed","author":"Brian Banks","rating_average":"4","narrator":"Brian Banks","ubr_id":"3203554","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Brian Banks","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 8 hr 15 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}