Watching You: A Novel, Lisa Jewell
  • List: $23.99  |  Sale: $16.79
    Club: $11.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Watching You: A Novel

Author: Lisa Jewell

Narrator: Gabrielle Glaister

Unabridged: 10 hr 51 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 12/26/2018

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Synopsis

The instant New York Times and #1 Sunday Times bestselling author of the “riveting thriller” (PopSugar) Then She Was Gone delivers another suspenseful page-turner about a shocking murder in a picturesque and well-to-do English town, perfect “for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, and Luckiest Girl Alive” (Library Journal).Melville Heights is one of the nicest neighborhoods in Bristol, England; home to doctors and lawyers and old-money academics. It’s not the sort of place where people are brutally murdered in their own kitchens. But it is the sort of place where everyone has a secret. And everyone is watching you. As the headmaster credited with turning around the local school, Tom Fitzwilliam is beloved by one and all—including Joey Mullen, his new neighbor, who quickly develops an intense infatuation with this thoroughly charming yet unavailable man. Joey thinks her crush is a secret, but Tom’s teenaged son Freddie—a prodigy with aspirations of becoming a spy for MI5—excels in observing people and has witnessed Joey behaving strangely around his father. One of Tom’s students, Jenna Tripp, also lives on the same street, and she’s not convinced her teacher is as squeaky clean as he seems. For one thing, he has taken a particular liking to her best friend and fellow classmate, and Jenna’s mother—whose mental health has admittedly been deteriorating in recent years—is convinced that Mr. Fitzwilliam is stalking her. Meanwhile, twenty years earlier, a schoolgirl writes in her diary, charting her doomed obsession with a handsome young English teacher named Mr. Fitzwilliam… In Lisa Jewell’s latest brilliant “bone-chilling suspense” (People) no one is who they seem—and everyone is hiding something. Who has been murdered—and who would have wanted one of their neighbors dead? As “Jewell teases out her twisty plot at just the right pace” (Booklist, starred review), you will be kept guessing until the startling revelation on the very last page.

About the Author

How often does an author begin their career by a challenge? That is exactly how British author, Lisa Jewell began her writing career. Her friend, Yasmin Boland, challenged her to write three chapters of a novel, and she would reward her with dinner at her favorite restaurant. The challenge was met, and Jewell turned those chapters into her first novel, Ralph's Party. It became the UK's bestselling first novel in 1999.

Jewell attended grammar school, but left in the sixth form, to use an art foundation scholarship at Barnet College, followed by a degree in fashion design from Epsom School of Art and Design. She worked in the fashion side of retail for several years in British Warehouse and Thomas Pink.

Lisa Jewell is considered one of the most popular authors in the UK today, with seventeen novels in her portfolio of work. She is also an internationally known and bestselling author with over two million sold in English-speaking countries alone, let alone being translated into twenty-five languages.

Among her novels are: Ralph's Party, Thirtynothing, After the Party, Then She Was Gone, The House We Grew Up In, and The Girls in the Garden. She resides in London with her husband, and two daughters.

{"id":"2627847","ean":"9781508266884","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Watching You: A Novel","subtitle":"A Novel","author":"Lisa Jewell","rating_average":"4.11","narrator":"Gabrielle Glaister","ubr_id":"2627847","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Gabrielle Glaister","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 10 hr 51 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}