Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights, Salman Rushdie
  • List: $20.00  |  Sale: $14.00
    Club: $10.00
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights

Author: Salman Rushdie

Narrator: Robert G. Slade

Unabridged: 11 hr 26 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 09/08/2015

Genre: Fiction - Magic Realism

Synopsis

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • Los Angeles Times • San Francisco Chronicle • Harper’s Bazaar • St. Louis Post-Dispatch • The Guardian • The Kansas City Star • National Post • BookPage • Kirkus Reviews

From Salman Rushdie, one of the great writers of our time, comes a spellbinding work of fiction that blends history, mythology, and a timeless love story. A lush, richly layered novel in which our world has been plunged into an age of unreason, Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights is a breathtaking achievement and an enduring testament to the power of storytelling.

In the near future, after a storm strikes New York City, the strangenesses begin. A down-to-earth gardener finds that his feet no longer touch the ground. A graphic novelist awakens in his bedroom to a mysterious entity that resembles his own sub–Stan Lee creation. Abandoned at the mayor’s office, a baby identifies corruption with her mere presence, marking the guilty with blemishes and boils. A seductive gold digger is soon tapped to combat forces beyond imagining.

Unbeknownst to them, they are all descended from the whimsical, capricious, wanton creatures known as the jinn, who live in a world separated from ours by a veil. Centuries ago, Dunia, a princess of the jinn, fell in love with a mortal man of reason. Together they produced an astonishing number of children, unaware of their fantastical powers, who spread across generations in the human world.

Once the line between worlds is breached on a grand scale, Dunia’s children and others will play a role in an epic war between light and dark spanning a thousand and one nights—or two years, eight months, and twenty-eight nights. It is a time of enormous upheaval, in which beliefs are challenged, words act like poison, silence is a disease, and a noise may contain a hidden curse.

Inspired by the traditional “wonder tales” of the East, Salman Rushdie’s novel is a masterpiece about the age-old conflicts that remain in today’s world. Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights is satirical and bawdy, full of cunning and folly, rivalries and betrayals, kismet and karma, rapture and redemption.

Praise for Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights

“Rushdie is our Scheherazade. . . . This book is a fantasy, a fairytale—and a brilliant reflection of and serious meditation on the choices and agonies of our life in this world.”—Ursula K. Le Guin, The Guardian

“One of the major literary voices of our time . . . In reading this new book, one cannot escape the feeling that [Rushdie’s] years of writing and success have perhaps been preparation for this moment, for the creation of this tremendously inventive and timely novel.”—San Francisco Chronicle

“A wicked bit of satire . . . [Rushdie] riffs and expands on the tales of Scheherazade, another storyteller whose spinning of yarns was a matter of life and death.”—USA Today

“A swirling tale of genies and geniuses [that] translates the bloody upheavals of our last few decades into the comic-book antics of warring jinn wielding bolts of fire, mystical transmutations and rhyming battle spells.”—The Washington Post

“Great fun . . . The novel shines brightest in the panache of its unfolding, the electric grace and nimble eloquence and extraordinary range and layering of his voice.”—The Boston Globe


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

Pinball, 1973, Haruki Murakami
Pinball, 1973
by Haruki Murakami

Published in 1980 by Japanese author Haruki Murakami, Pnball, 1973 is the second book in the "Trilogy of the Rat" series. It is preceded by Hear the Wind Sing (1979) and followed by A Wild Sheep Chase (1982), and is the second novel written by ...

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, Haruki Murakami
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage
by Haruki Murakami

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage is the long-awaited new novel—a book that sold more than a million copies the first week it went on sale in Japan—from the award-winning, internationally best-selling author Haruk...

Narrator: Philip Gabriel
Published: 08/12/2014

All the Names They Used for God Stories, Anjali Sachdeva
All the Names They Used for God
by Anjali Sachdeva

For fans of Dave Eggers and Kelly Link, an exhilarating collection of stories that explores the mysterious, often dangerous forces that shape our lives—from censorship and terrorism to technology and online dating. Spanning centuries, continen...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 02/20/2018

The Lonely Hearts Hotel A Novel, Heather O'Neill
The Lonely Hearts Hotel
by Heather O'Neill

NATIONAL BESTSELLERLonglisted for the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for FictionA Globe and Mail Most Anticipated BookA NOW Magazine Book You Have to ReadA Toronto Star Book We Can’t Wait to Read“Heather O...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 05/09/2017

Coraline, Neil Gaiman
Coraline
by Neil Gaiman

In Coraline's family's new flat there's a locked door. On the other side is a brick wall—until Coraline unlocks the door . . . and finds a passage to another flat in another house just like her own.Only different.The food is better there. Boo...

Narrator: Neil Gaiman
Published: 11/11/2003

A Secret History of Witches, Louisa Morgan
A Secret History of Witches
by Louisa Morgan

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters, and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman. Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mA¨re Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, t...

Narrator: Polly Lee
Published: 09/05/2017

Wind/Pinball Two novels, Haruki Murakami
Wind/Pinball
by Haruki Murakami

NATIONAL BESTSELLERIn the spring of 1978, a young Haruki Murakami sat down at his kitchen table and began to write. The result: two remarkable short novels—Hear the Wind Sing and Pinball, 1973—that launched the career of one of...

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

Hear the Wind Sing, Haruki Murakami
Hear the Wind Sing
by Haruki Murakami

Hear the Wind Sing is the first novel by Haruki Murakami. First published in the June 1979 issue of Gunzo, one of the most influential literary magazines in Japan, it was published one month later as a book. Hear the Wind Sing is the first book in t...

Narrator: Ted Goossen
Published: 08/04/2015

The Ten Thousand Doors of January, Alix E. Harrow
The Ten Thousand Doors of January
by Alix E. Harrow

In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut. In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity hersel...

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 09/10/2019
{"id":"1062113","ean":"9781101926697","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights","subtitle":"","author":"Salman Rushdie","rating_average":"2.33","narrator":"Robert G. Slade","ubr_id":"1062113","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"20.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"13.00","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Robert G. Slade","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 18 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}