Twisted, Jonathan Kellerman
  • List: $13.48  |  Sale: $9.44
    Club: $6.74
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Twisted

Author: Jonathan Kellerman

Narrator: Lindsay Crouse

Abridged: 5 hr 57 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 11/23/2004

Genre: Fiction - Thrillers

Synopsis

Hollywood homicide detective Petra Connor has helped psychologist Alex Delaware crack tough cases in the past. And in Jonathan Kellerman’s New York Times bestseller Billy Straight she took the lead in the desperate hunt for a teenage runaway stalked by a vengeful murderer. Now the complex and wryly compassionate Petra is once again at the center of the action, in a novel of cunning twists and page-turning suspense.

Lifeless bodies sprawl in a dance-club parking lot after a brutal L.A. drive-by. Of the four seemingly random victims, one stands out: a girl with pink shoes who cannot be identified–and who, days later, remains a Jane Doe. With zero leads and no apparent motive, it’s another case destined for the cold file–until Petra decides to follow her instincts and descends into a world of traveling grifters and bloodthirsty killers, pursuing a possible eyewitness whose life is in mortal danger.

Finding her elusive quarry–alive–isn’t all Petra has on her plate: departmental politics threatens to sabotage her case, and her personal life isn’t doing much better. If all that wasn’t enough, Isaac Gomez, a whiz-kid grad student researching homicide statistics at the station house, is convinced he’s stumbled upon a bizarre connection between several unsolved murders. The victims had nothing in common, yet each died by the same method, on the same date–a date that’s rapidly approaching again. And that leaves Petra with little time to unravel the twisted logic of a cunning predator who’s evaded detection for years–and whose terrible hour is once more at hand.

“Why is it so hard to put down a Kellerman thriller?” asks Publishers Weekly. “It’s simple: the nonstop action leaves you breathless; the plot twists keep you guessing; the themes . . . are provocative.” Those in need of still further proof that “Kellerman has shaped the psychological mystery novel into an art form” (Los Angeles Times Book Review) need look no further than Twisted.

Recommended

Lightning, Dean Koontz
Lightning
by Dean Koontz

A storm struck on the night Laura Shane was born, and there was a strangeness about the weather that people would remember for years. But even more mysterious was the blond-haired stranger who appeared out of nowhere – the man who saved Laura ...

Narrator: Christopher Lane
Published: 05/29/2007

The Wife Between Us, Greer Hendricks
The Wife Between Us
by Greer Hendricks

"Julia Whelan reads the novel in her low, pleasant voice, moving down a register to capture Richard's infuriating condescension and lightening slightly for the younger Emma. With its perfidious turns, this escapist entertainment is a fine example of...

Narrator: Julia Whelan
Published: 01/09/2018

More Twisted Collected Stories, Vol. II, Jeffery Deaver
More Twisted
by Jeffery Deaver

From the bestselling author of The Cold Moon, unabridged stories of spine-tingling suspense! In the tradition of O. Henry and Edgar Allen Poe, Jeffery Deaver's latest collection of intricately plotted, bone-chilling short fiction includes an all-n...

Narrator: Boyd Gaines
Published: 12/26/2006

Hearts In Atlantis, Stephen King
Hearts In Atlantis
by Stephen King

Stephen King, whose first novel, Carrie, was published in 1974, the year before the last U.S. troops withdrew from Vietnam, is the first hugely popular writer of the TV generation. Images from that war -- and the protests against it -- had flooded A...

Narrator: William Hurt
Published: 09/01/2001

Unaccustomed Earth Stories, Jhumpa Lahiri
Unaccustomed Earth
by Jhumpa Lahiri

From the internationally bestselling, Pulitzer Prize—winning author, a superbly crafted new work of fiction: eight stories that take us from Cambridge and Seattle to India and Thailand.  In the stunning title story, Ruma, a young mother i...

Narrator: Sarita Choudhury
Published: 04/01/2008

Four Blind Mice, James Patterson
Four Blind Mice
by James Patterson

Detective Alex Cross is on his way to resign from the Washington, D.C. Police Force when his partner shows up at his door with a case he can't refuse. One of John Sampson's oldest friends, from their days together in Vietnam, has been arrested for ...

Narrator: Peter J. Fernandez
Published: 11/01/2005

Kinsey and Me Stories, Sue Grafton
Kinsey and Me
by Sue Grafton

In 1982, Sue Grafton introduced us to Kinsey Millhone. Thirty years later, Kinsey is an established international icon and Sue, a number-one bestselling author. To mark this anniversary year, Sue has given us stories that reveal Kinsey’s origi...

Narrator: Judy Kaye
Published: 01/08/2013

The Kite Runner, Khaled Hosseini
The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini

A Stunning Novel of Hope and RedemptionTaking us from Afghanistan in the final days of the monarchy to the present, The Kite Runner is the unforgettable and beautifully told story of the friendship between two boys growing up in Kabul. Raised in the...

Narrator: Khaled Hosseini
Published: 06/01/2003

Just After Sunset Stories, Stephen King
Just After Sunset
by Stephen King

Who but Stephen King would turn a Port-O-San into a slimy birth canal, or a roadside honky-tonk into a place for endless love? A book salesman with a grievance might pick up a mute hitchhiker, not knowing the silent man in the passenger seat listens...

Narrator: Stephen King
Published: 11/11/2008

About the Author

American author, Jonathan Kellerman, comes from a decisively different viewpoint when writing his novels, than most authors. Kellerman was born in New York City to parents who were successful authors themselves. His journey began when his family moved to Los Angeles California. He grew up there and received a BA in Psychology from UCLA. He paid for his education by various jobs as cartoonist, illustrator, journalist, and editor, as well as teaching guitar. An unpublished novel that he co-wrote won him a Samuel Goldwyn writing award. Screenplays were readily available to him, but he chose not to get into that venue. He received his PhD from USC in clinical psychology. His research thesis was entitled.....attribution of blame for childhood psychopathology. Kellerman is currently a Clinical Professor of Pediatrics at the Keck School of Medicine.

The first published book from Kellerman was a medical text book entitled.....Psychological Aspects of Childhood Cancer. His extensive research and hands on experience while working at Children's Hospital of Los Angeles prepared him for the knowledge needed to write his first published book.

He published a book for parents titled Helping the Fearful Child. Through many cases and observations, came his first novel.....When the Bough Breaks, which became a bestseller and was adapted for a TV movie. His career in medicine continued all throughout his writing. He was a consultant and expert witness in the legal system which impacted the characters in his novels.

The psychologist and novelist has been very vocal in speaking out against the "misguided" release of mentally ill people into the community without benefit of counseling, psychotherapy, as well as medication. He currently lives in Los Angeles with his wife, who is also a bestselling crime writer. They have four children, two of whom are also novelists.

{"id":"319955","ean":"9780739307182","abr":"Abridged","title":"Twisted","subtitle":"","author":"Jonathan Kellerman","rating_average":"3.78","narrator":"Lindsay Crouse","ubr_id":"319956","abr_id":"319955","ubr_price":"22.48","abr_price":"13.48","ubr_memprice":"14.61","abr_memprice":"8.76","ubr_narrator":"","abr_narrator":"Lindsay Crouse","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: 6 hr"}