Try Not to Breathe, Holly Seddon
  • List: $22.50  |  Sale: $15.75
    Club: $11.25
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Try Not to Breathe

Author: Holly Seddon

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden, Katharine McEwan

Unabridged: 11 hr 16 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 02/23/2016

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Synopsis

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon’s arresting fiction debut—an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.
 
Some secrets never die. They’re just locked away.
 
Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning. Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found unconscious after a merciless assault. Amy Stevenson, who has been in a coma for fifteen years, forgotten by the world. Amy Stevenson, who, unbeknownst to her doctors, remains locked inside her body, conscious but paralyzed, reliving the past.
 
Soon Alex’s routine includes visiting hours at the hospital, then interviews with the original suspects in the attack. But what starts as a reporter’s story becomes a personal obsession. How do you solve a crime when the only witness lived but cannot tell the tale? Unable to tear herself away from her attempt to uncover the unspeakable truth, Alex realizes she’s not just chasing a story—she’s seeking salvation.
 
Shifting from present to past and back again, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer until its heart-stopping conclusion. The result is an utterly immersive, unforgettable debut.
 
Praise for Try Not to Breathe

“A brilliant, beautifully written thriller.”—Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors

“A razor-sharp plot and wonderfully complex characters . . . Not since The Girl on the Train have I been so captivated by a work of suspense.”—New York Times bestselling author Tess Gerritsen

“A fast-paced debut about long-buried secrets and tangled truths.”—New York Times bestselling author Kimberly McCreight
 
“Engrossing . . . Seddon’s storytelling skills are strong. . . . The world she’s constructed is fascinating and slightly dark.”—Kirkus Reviews


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

Deadly Cross, James Patterson
Deadly Cross
by James Patterson

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Brad Sanders
Published: 11/23/2020

Daylight, David Baldacci
Daylight
by David Baldacci

List: $26.98

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Brittany Pressley
Published: 11/17/2020

If It Bleeds, Stephen King
If It Bleeds
by Stephen King

List: $29.99

Sale: $21.00

Club: $14.99

Narrator: Will Patton
Published: 04/28/2020

Invisible Girl A Novel, Lisa Jewell
Invisible Girl
by Lisa Jewell

List: $23.99

Sale: $16.79

Club: $11.99

Narrator: Donna Banya
Published: 10/13/2020

A Time for Mercy, John Grisham
A Time for Mercy
by John Grisham

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Michael Beck
Published: 10/13/2020

The Searcher A Novel, Tana French
The Searcher
by Tana French

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Roger Clark
Published: 10/06/2020

The Sentinel A Jack Reacher Novel, Lee Child
The Sentinel
by Lee Child

List: $22.50

Sale: $15.75

Club: $11.25

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 10/27/2020

Tom Clancy Shadow of the Dragon, Marc Cameron
Tom Clancy Shadow of the Dragon
by Marc Cameron

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Scott Brick
Published: 11/17/2020

Piece of My Heart, Mary Higgins Clark
Piece of My Heart
by Mary Higgins Clark

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: January LaVoy
Published: 11/17/2020
{"id":"1270215","ean":"9780399567605","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Try Not to Breathe","subtitle":"","author":"Holly Seddon","rating_average":"4.09","narrator":"Elizabeth Knowelden","ubr_id":"1270215","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"22.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.62","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Elizabeth Knowelden","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}