Trumpocracy: The Corruption of the American Republic The Corruption of the American Republic, David Frum
  • List: $23.99  |  Sale: $16.79
    Club: $11.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

Trumpocracy: The Corruption of the American Republic

Author: David Frum

Narrator: James Anderson Foster

Unabridged: 7 hr 46 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 01/16/2018

Genre: Political Science - Government - Executive Branch

Synopsis

Bestselling author, former White House speechwriter, and Atlantic columnist and media commentator David Frum explains why President Trump has undermined our most important institutions in ways even the most critical media has missed, in this thoughtful and hard-hitting book that is a warning for democracy and America’s future."From Russia to South Africa, from Turkey to the Philippines, from Venezuela to Hungary, authoritarian leaders have smashed restraints on their power. Media freedom and judicial independence have eroded. The right to vote remains, but the right to have one’s vote counted fairly may not. Until the US presidential election of 2016, the global decline of democracy seemed a concern for other peoples in other lands. . . . That complacent optimism has been upended by the political rise of Donald Trump. The crisis is upon Americans, here and now."Quietly, steadily, Trump and his administration are damaging the tenets and accepted practices of American democracy, perhaps irrevocably. As he and his family enrich themselves, the presidency itself falls into the hands of the generals and financiers who surround him.While much of the country has been focused on Russia, David Frum has been collecting the lies, obfuscations, and flagrant disregard for the traditional limits placed on the office of the presidency. In Trumpocracy, he documents how Trump and his administration are steadily damaging the tenets and accepted practices of American democracy. During his own White House tenure as George W. Bush’s speechwriter, Frum witnessed the ways the presidency is limited not by law but by tradition, propriety, and public outcry, all now weakened. Whether the Trump presidency lasts two, four, or eight more years, he has changed the nature of the office for the worse, and likely for decades.In this powerful and eye-opening book, Frum makes clear that the hard work of recovery starts at home. Trumpocracy outlines how Trump could push America toward illiberalism, what the consequences could be for our nation and our everyday lives, and what we can do to prevent it.

Recommended

Crisis of Character A White House Secret Service Officer Discloses His Firsthand Experience with Hillary, Bill, and How They Operate, Gary J. Byrne
Crisis of Character
by Gary J. Byrne

In this runaway #1 New York Times bestseller, former secret service officer Gary Byrne, who was posted directly outside President Clinton's oval office, reveals what he observed of Hillary Clinton's character and the culture inside the White House ...

Narrator: Brian Troxell
Published: 06/28/2016

The Plot to Hack America, Malcolm Nance
The Plot to Hack America
by Malcolm Nance

In April 2016, computer technicians at the Democratic National Committee discovered that someone had accessed the organization’s computer servers and conducted a theft that is best described as Watergate 2.0. In the weeks that followed, the na...

Narrator: Gregory Itzin
Published: 02/28/2017

Fire and Fury Inside the Trump White House, Michael Wolff
Fire and Fury
by Michael Wolff

"[Holter Graham] uses his deep, elastic voice to punctuate key ideas, and he speeds up and slows down to create tension...The result is a wonderful performance of a most important audiobook." — AudioFile MagazineThis program includes an author...

Narrator: Michael Wolff
Published: 01/09/2018

The Deep State How an Army of Bureaucrats Protected Barack Obama and Is Working to Destroy the Trump Agenda, Jason Chaffetz
The Deep State
by Jason Chaffetz

Former Congressman and current Fox News contributor Jason Chaffetz explains how we ended up with a politicized federal bureaucracy that actively works to promote the Democrat party agenda and undermine Donald Trump.The liberal media loves to charac...

Narrator: Jason Chaffetz
Published: 09/18/2018

Siege Trump Under Fire, Michael Wolff
Siege
by Michael Wolff

Michael Wolff, author of the bombshell bestseller Fire and Fury, once again takes us inside the Trump presidency to reveal a White House under siege.With Fire and Fury, Michael Wolff defined the first phase of the Trump administration; now, in Siege...

Narrator: Holter Graham
Published: 06/04/2019

Fear Trump in the White House, Bob Woodward
Fear
by Bob Woodward

“Explosive.”—The Washington Post “Devastating.”—The New Yorker “Unprecedented.”—CNN THE INSIDE STORY ON PRESIDENT TRUMP, AS ONLY BOB WOODWARD CAN TELL ITWith authoritative reporting honed throu...

Narrator: Robert Petkoff
Published: 09/11/2018

Clinton Cash The Untold Story of How and Why Foreign Governments and Businesses Helped Make Bill and Hillary Rich, Peter Schweizer
Clinton Cash
by Peter Schweizer

READ THE BOOK DONALD TRUMP REFERENCED AND READ IN HIS MAJOR ANTI-HILLARY CLINTON SPEECH.In 2000, Bill and Hillary Clinton owed millions of dollars in legal debt. Since then, they’ve earned over $230 million. Where did the money come from? Mos...

Narrator: Walter Dixon
Published: 05/05/2015

Kushner, Inc. Greed. Ambition. Corruption. The Extraordinary Story of Jared Kushner and Ivanka Trump, Vicky Ward
Kushner, Inc.
by Vicky Ward

The first explosive book about Javanka and their infamous rise to powerJared Kushner and Ivanka Trump are the self-styled Prince and Princess of America. Their swift, gilded rise to extraordinary power in Donald Trump’s White House is unpreced...

Narrator: Fiona Hardingham
Published: 03/19/2019

The World as It Is A Memoir of the Obama White House, Ben Rhodes
The World as It Is
by Ben Rhodes

From one of Barack Obama’s closest aides comes a revelatory behind-the-scenes account of his presidency—and how idealism can confront harsh reality and still survive—in the tradition of Arthur Schlesinger, Jr.’s A Thousand Da...

Narrator: Mark Deakins
Published: 06/05/2018
{"id":"2002819","ean":"9780062852878","abr":"Unabridged","title":"Trumpocracy: The Corruption of the American Republic","subtitle":"The Corruption of the American Republic","author":"David Frum","rating_average":"4.28","narrator":"James Anderson Foster","ubr_id":"2002819","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"James Anderson Foster","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 40 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}