This Tender Land, William Kent Krueger
  • List: $24.99  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

This Tender Land

Author: William Kent Krueger

Narrator: Scott Brick

Unabridged: 14 hr 6 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Recorded Books

Published: 09/03/2019

Genre: Fiction - Literary

Synopsis

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the New York Timesbestselling author of Ordinary Grace. 1932, Minnesotathe Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children, forcibly separated from their parents, are sent to be educated. It is also home to an orphan named Odie OBanion, a lively boy whose exploits earn him the superintendents wrath. Forced to flee, he and his brother Albert, their best friend Mose, and a brokenhearted little girl named Emmy steal away in a canoe, heading for the mighty Mississippi and a place to call their own. Over the course of one unforgettable summer, these four orphans will journey into the unknown and cross paths with others who are adrift, from struggling farmers and traveling faith healers to displaced families and lost souls of all kinds. With the feel of a modern classic, This Tender Land is an en¬thralling, big-hearted epic that shows how the magnificent American landscape connects us all, haunts our dreams, and makes us whole.

Recommended

To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee

Voted America's Best-Loved Novel in PBS's The Great American ReadHarper Lee's Pulitzer Prize-winning masterwork of honor and injustice in the deep South—and the heroism of one man in the face of blind and violent hatredOne of the most ch...

Narrator: Sissy Spacek
Published: 07/08/2014

The Woman in Cabin 10, Ruth Ware
The Woman in Cabin 10
by Ruth Ware

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF IN A DARK, DARK WOOD Featured in TheSkimm An Entertainment Weekly “Summer Must List” Pick A New York Post “Summer Must-Read” Pick Included in Summer Book...

Narrator: Imogen Church
Published: 07/19/2016

Little Fires Everywhere, Celeste Ng
Little Fires Everywhere
by Celeste Ng

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club PickThe runaway New York Times bestseller!Named a Best Book of the Year by: People, The Washington Post, Bustle, Esquire, Southern Living, The Daily Beast, GQ, Entertainment Weekly, NPR, Amazon, Barnes & N...

Narrator: Jennifer Lim
Published: 09/12/2017

An American Marriage, Tayari Jones
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are rippe...

Narrator: Sean Crisden
Published: 02/06/2018

The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho
The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho continues to change the lives of its readers forever. With more than two million copies sold around the world, The Alchemist has established itself as a modern classic, universally admired.Paulo Coelho’s masterpi...

Narrator: Jeremy Irons
Published: 10/04/2005

Where the Crawdads Sing, Delia Owens
Where the Crawdads Sing
by Delia Owens

#1 New York Times BestsellerA Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review"Perfect for fa...

Narrator: Cassandra Campbell
Published: 08/14/2018

Love and Summer, William Trevor
Love and Summer
by William Trevor

An author who has received international critical acclaim for his exquisite prose, William Trevor saw his novel The Story of Lucy Gault short-listed for the prestigious Booker Prize. Love and Summer tells the tale of Ellie Dillahan, an orphan ente...

Narrator: Jim Norton
Published: 02/22/2010

The Help, Kathryn Stockett
The Help
by Kathryn Stockett

The #1 New York Times bestselling novel and basis for the Academy Award–winning film.   Aibileen is a black maid in 1962 Jackson, Mississippi, who's always taken orders quietly, but lately she's unable to hold her bitterness back. Her fri...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia, Cassandra Campbell, Bahni Turpin, Octavia Spencer
Published: 02/10/2009

The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins
The Girl on the Train
by Paula Hawkins

The #1 New York Times Bestseller, USA Today Book of the Year, now a major motion picture.   The debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people's lives.   “Nothing is more addicting th...

Narrator: Clare Corbett
Published: 01/13/2015
{"id":"3358609","ean":"9781501903403","abr":"Unabridged","title":"This Tender Land","subtitle":"","author":"William Kent Krueger","rating_average":"3","narrator":"Scott Brick","ubr_id":"3358609","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"24.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Scott Brick","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 14 hours 5 minutes","abr_length":"Abridged: "}