These Shallow Graves, Jennifer Donnelly
  • List: $27.50  |  Sale: $19.25
    Club: $13.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

These Shallow Graves

Author: Jennifer Donnelly

Narrator: Kim Bubbs

Unabridged: 13 hr 32 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 10/27/2015

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Girls & Women

Synopsis

From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.
    Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon—like all the girls in her class—she’ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer—a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly.
    Wild aspirations aside, Jo’s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City’s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun.
    The more Jo hears about her father’s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo’s father would never have resorted to that. And then she meets Eddie—a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father’s newspaper—and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.
    The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.

Praise for These Shallow Graves:

"These Shallow Graves delivered all that I adore: lovely prose, historical intrigue, unique characters and setting. I devoured this book!"-Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray and Out of the Easy

"An intelligent, personable heroine-Jo Montfort's hopes for an enlightened future uncover a dark past, resulting in a splendidly hair-raising tour of the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York."-Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity and Black Dove, White Raven

"A fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller that plunges its intrepid investigative-journalist heroine into the sordid underworld of nineteenth-century New York City and into her own family's dark secrets."-Julie Berry, award-winning author of All the Truth That's In Me

"Jo Montfort is a gutsy modern heroine in a beguiling tale of old New York. Money, murder, betrayal, and family secrets....I loved spending time in this world!"-Elizabeth Ross, author of William C. Morris Award finalist Belle Epoque

[STAR] "Fast-paced and thrilling...a smart, insightful, timely depiction of a young woman poised on the brink of a new world after the shattering of another."-Booklist, Starred

[STAR] "Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery...[and] the injustices Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant."-Publishers Weekly, Starred

[STAR] "A riveting historical mystery-thriller...[that] succeeds as a wonderfully paced thriller, a heart-pounding romance and an unflinching look at the hard choices one young woman must make when society disparages her dreams."-Shelf Awareness, Starred

"A beautifully written mystery."-School Library Journal

"[A] fast-paced thriller...the story races to its surprising conclusion."-Kirkus Reviews

"A heroine you can't help cheering on."-The Horn Book


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

Dairy Queen, Catherine Gilbert Murdock
Dairy Queen
by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

When you don’t talk, there’s a lot of stuff that ends up not getting said.Harsh words indeed, from Brian Nelson of all people. But, D.J. can’t help admitting, maybe he’s right.When you don’t talk, there’s a lot of...

Narrator: Natalie Moore
Published: 05/23/2006

The Princess Diaries, Volume I: The Princess Diaries, Meg Cabot
The Princess Diaries, Volume I: The Princess Diaries
by Meg Cabot

She's just a New York City girl living with her artist mom…News flash: Dad is prince of Genovia. (So that's why a limo always meets her at the airport!)Downer: Dad can't have any more kids. (So no heir to the throne.)Shock of the century: Like...

Narrator: Anne Hathaway
Published: 09/23/2003

Revolution, Jennifer Donnelly
Revolution
by Jennifer Donnelly

BROOKLYN: Andi Alpers is on the edge. She’s angry at her father for leaving, angry at her mother for not being able to cope, and heartbroken by the loss of her younger brother, Truman. Rage and grief are destroying her. And she’s about t...

Narrator: Emily Janice Card
Published: 10/12/2010

Panic, Lauren Oliver
Panic
by Lauren Oliver

Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a poor town of twelve thousand people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.Heather never thought she would compete in panic, a legendary game played by graduatin...

Narrator: Sarah Drew
Published: 03/04/2014

Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell
Fangirl
by Rainbow Rowell

In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow se...

Narrator: Rebecca Lowman
Published: 09/10/2013

Life Uploaded, Sierra Furtado
Life Uploaded
by Sierra Furtado

This heartwarming, coming-of-age tale from top YouTube lifestyle vlogger Sierra Furtado explores what it means to redefine happiness on your own terms, and to stay true to who you are even in the face of Internet insta-fame. All sixteen-year-old Ha...

Narrator: Rebekkah Ross
Published: 10/18/2016

Pants on Fire, Meg Cabot
Pants on Fire
by Meg Cabot

It’s just that telling the truth is so . . . tricky. She knows she shouldn’t be making out with a drama club hottie behind her football-player boyfriend’s back. She should probably admit that she can’t stand eating quahogs (c...

Narrator: Krista Sutton
Published: 05/22/2007

Emily the Strange: The Lost Days, Rob Reger
Emily the Strange: The Lost Days
by Rob Reger

13 Elements you will find in the first Emily the Strange novel: 1. Mystery 2. A beautiful golem 3. Souped-up slingshots 4. Four black cats 5. Amnesia 6. Calamity Poker 7. Angry ponies 8. A shady truant officer 9. Top-13 lists 10. A sandstorm genera...

Narrator: Angela Goethals
Published: 06/16/2009

The Chosen One, Carol Lynch Williams
The Chosen One
by Carol Lynch Williams

Thirteen-year-old Kyra has grown up in an isolated polygamous community without questioning her father's three wives and her twenty brothers and sisters. Or at least without questioning them much—if you don't count her secret visits to the Mob...

Narrator: Jenna Lamia
Published: 05/12/2009
{"id":"1092141","ean":"9781101916254","abr":"Unabridged","title":"These Shallow Graves","subtitle":"","author":"Jennifer Donnelly","rating_average":"3","narrator":"Kim Bubbs","ubr_id":"1092141","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"27.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"17.88","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kim Bubbs","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}