These Shallow Graves, Jennifer Donnelly
  • List: $27.50  |  Sale: $19.25
    Club: $13.75
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

These Shallow Graves

Author: Jennifer Donnelly

Narrator: Kim Bubbs

Unabridged: 13 hr 32 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 10/27/2015

Genre: Young Adult Fiction - Girls & Women

Ages: 13 - 17

Synopsis

From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.
    Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon—like all the girls in her class—she’ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer—a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly.
    Wild aspirations aside, Jo’s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City’s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun.
    The more Jo hears about her father’s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo’s father would never have resorted to that. And then she meets Eddie—a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father’s newspaper—and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.
    The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.

Praise for These Shallow Graves:

"These Shallow Graves delivered all that I adore: lovely prose, historical intrigue, unique characters and setting. I devoured this book!"-Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray and Out of the Easy

"An intelligent, personable heroine-Jo Montfort's hopes for an enlightened future uncover a dark past, resulting in a splendidly hair-raising tour of the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York."-Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity and Black Dove, White Raven

"A fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller that plunges its intrepid investigative-journalist heroine into the sordid underworld of nineteenth-century New York City and into her own family's dark secrets."-Julie Berry, award-winning author of All the Truth That's In Me

"Jo Montfort is a gutsy modern heroine in a beguiling tale of old New York. Money, murder, betrayal, and family secrets....I loved spending time in this world!"-Elizabeth Ross, author of William C. Morris Award finalist Belle Epoque

[STAR] "Fast-paced and thrilling...a smart, insightful, timely depiction of a young woman poised on the brink of a new world after the shattering of another."-Booklist, Starred

[STAR] "Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery...[and] the injustices Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant."-Publishers Weekly, Starred

[STAR] "A riveting historical mystery-thriller...[that] succeeds as a wonderfully paced thriller, a heart-pounding romance and an unflinching look at the hard choices one young woman must make when society disparages her dreams."-Shelf Awareness, Starred

"A beautifully written mystery."-School Library Journal

"[A] fast-paced thriller...the story races to its surprising conclusion."-Kirkus Reviews

"A heroine you can't help cheering on."-The Horn Book


From the Hardcover edition.

Recommended

Dairy Queen, Catherine Gilbert Murdock
Dairy Queen
by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

List: $15.00

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.50

Narrator: Natalie Moore
Published: 05/23/2006

The Chosen One, Carol Lynch Williams
The Chosen One
by Carol Lynch Williams

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Jenna Lamia
Published: 05/12/2009

Panic, Lauren Oliver
Panic
by Lauren Oliver

List: $22.99

Sale: $16.09

Club: $11.49

Narrator: Sarah Drew
Published: 03/04/2014

Not If I See You First, Eric Lindstrom
Not If I See You First
by Eric Lindstrom

List: $22.98

Sale: $16.09

Club: $11.49

Narrator: Lauren Fortgang
Published: 12/01/2015

Little Wrecks, Meredith Miller
Little Wrecks
by Meredith Miller

List: $21.99

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: Khristine Hvam
Published: 06/13/2017

The Princess Diaries, Volume I: The Princess Diaries, Meg Cabot
The Princess Diaries, Volume I: The P...
by Meg Cabot

List: $12.95

Sale: $9.07

Club: $6.47

Narrator: Anne Hathaway
Published: 09/23/2003

Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell
Fangirl
by Rainbow Rowell

List: $25.00

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.50

Narrator: Rebecca Lowman
Published: 09/10/2013

Saints and Misfits, S. K. Ali
Saints and Misfits
by S. K. Ali

List: $23.00

Sale: $16.10

Club: $11.50

Narrator: Ariana Delawari
Published: 07/11/2017

Life Uploaded, Sierra Furtado
Life Uploaded
by Sierra Furtado

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Rebekkah Ross
Published: 10/18/2016
{"id":"1092141","ean":"9781101916254","abr":"Unabridged","title":"These Shallow Graves","subtitle":"","author":"Jennifer Donnelly","rating_average":"3","narrator":"Kim Bubbs","ubr_id":"1092141","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"27.50","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"17.88","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Kim Bubbs","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 13 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}