The World's Fastest Man: The Extraordinary Life of Cyclist Major Taylor, America's First Black Sports Hero, Michael Kranish
  • List: $23.99  |  Sale: $16.79
    Club: $11.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The World's Fastest Man: The Extraordinary Life of Cyclist Major Taylor, America's First Black Sports Hero

Author: Michael Kranish

Narrator: David Sadzin

Unabridged: 11 hr 48 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Published: 05/07/2019

Genre: History - African American

Synopsis

In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure—the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world’s fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era.In the 1890s, the nation’s promise of equality had failed spectacularly. While slavery had ended with the Civil War, the Jim Crow laws still separated blacks from whites, and the excesses of the Gilded Age created an elite upper class. Amidst this world arrived Major Taylor, a young black man who wanted to compete in the nation’s most popular and mostly white man’s sport, cycling. Birdie Munger, a white cyclist who once was the world’s fastest man, declared that he could help turn the young black athlete into a champion. Twelve years before boxer Jack Johnson and fifty years before baseball player Jackie Robinson, Taylor faced racism at nearly every turn—especially by whites who feared he would disprove their stereotypes of blacks. In The World’s Fastest Man, years in the writing, investigative journalist Michael Kranish reveals new information about Major Taylor based on a rare interview with his daughter and other never-before-uncovered details from Taylor’s life. Kranish shows how Taylor indeed became a world champion, traveled the world, was the toast of Paris, and was one of the most chronicled black men of his day. From a moment in time just before the arrival of the automobile when bicycles were king, the populace was booming with immigrants, and enormous societal changes were about to take place, The World’s Fastest Man shines a light on a dramatic moment in American history—the gateway to the twentieth century.

Recommended

Black Fortunes The Story of the First Six African Americans Who Escaped Slavery and Became Millionaires, Shomari Wills
Black Fortunes
by Shomari Wills

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Ron Butler
Published: 01/30/2018

The Color of Money Black Banks and the Racial Wealth Gap, Mehrsa Baradaran
The Color of Money
by Mehrsa Baradaran

List: $20.99

Sale: $14.70

Club: $10.49

Narrator: Lisa Renee Pitts
Published: 09/26/2017

The Birth of a Nation Nat Turner and the Making of a Movement, Nate Parker
The Birth of a Nation
by Nate Parker

List: $9.99

Sale: $7.00

Club: $4.99

Narrator: Nate Parker
Published: 09/27/2016

What Truth Sounds Like Robert F. Kennedy, James Baldwin, and Our Unfinished Conversation About Race in America, Michael Eric Dyson
What Truth Sounds Like
by Michael Eric Dyson

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Michael Eric Dyson
Published: 06/05/2018

Stamped from the Beginning: A Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America, Ibram X. Kendi
Stamped from the Beginning: A Definit...
by Ibram X. Kendi

List: $26.99

Sale: $18.89

Club: $13.49

Narrator: Christopher Dontrell Piper
Published: 02/07/2017

Never Caught, Erica Armstrong Dunbar
Never Caught
by Erica Armstrong Dunbar

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Robin Miles
Published: 02/07/2017

Zora Hurston and the Strange Case of Ruby McCollum, C. Arthur Ellis
Zora Hurston and the Strange Case of ...
by C. Arthur Ellis

List: $19.95

Sale: $13.97

Club: $9.97

Narrator: Trei Taylor
Published: 01/06/2017

Defining Moments in Black History Reading Between the Lies, Dick Gregory
Defining Moments in Black History
by Dick Gregory

List: $21.99

Sale: $15.39

Club: $10.99

Narrator: James Shippy
Published: 09/05/2017

The Black Hebrew Awakening The Final 400 Years As Slaves In America, Dante Fortson
The Black Hebrew Awakening
by Dante Fortson

List: $14.99

Sale: $10.50

Club: $7.49

Narrator: Doug Rice
Published: 06/19/2019
{"id":"3097363","ean":"9781508286400","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The World's Fastest Man: The Extraordinary Life of Cyclist Major Taylor, America's First Black Sports Hero","subtitle":"The Extraordinary Life of Cyclist Major Taylor, America's First Black Sports Hero","author":"Michael Kranish","rating_average":"0","narrator":"David Sadzin","ubr_id":"3097363","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"David Sadzin","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr 48 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}