The Word is Murder, Anthony Horowitz
  • List: $26.99  |  Sale: $18.89
    Club: $13.49
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Word is Murder

Author: Anthony Horowitz

Narrator: Rory Kinnear

Unabridged: 9 hr 2 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 06/05/2018

Genre: Fiction - Mystery & Detective - Amateur Sleuth

Synopsis

SHE PLANNED HER OWN FUNERAL. BUT DID SHE ARRANGE HER OWN MURDER?New York Times bestselling author of Magpie Murders and Moriarty, Anthony Horowitz has yet again brilliantly reinvented the classic crime novel, this time writing a fictional version of himself as the Watson to a modern-day Holmes.One bright spring morning in London, Diana Cowper – the wealthy mother of a famous actor - enters a funeral parlor. She is there to plan her own service.Six hours later she is found dead, strangled with a curtain cord in her own home.Enter disgraced police detective Daniel Hawthorne, a brilliant, eccentric investigator who’s as quick with an insult as he is to crack a case. Hawthorne needs a ghost writer to document his life; a Watson to his Holmes. He chooses Anthony Horowitz.Drawn in against his will, Horowitz soon finds himself a the center of a story he cannot control. Hawthorne is brusque, temperamental and annoying but even so his latest case with its many twists and turns proves irresistible. The writer and the detective form an unusual partnership. At the same time, it soon becomes clear that Hawthorne is hiding some dark secrets of his own.A masterful and tricky mystery that springs many surprises, The Word is Murder is Anthony Horowitz at his very best.

Recommended

The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers, Lilian Jackson Braun
The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers
by Lilian Jackson Braun

Polly Duncan is off to Paris, temporarily leaving Jim Qwilleran without his lady companion. Good thing there's lots to keep Jim busy. Like a mysterious death from a bee sting that leaves everyone but Koko the Siamese in a state of confusion. If only...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 01/02/2007

Tuesday the Rabbi Saw Red, Harry Kemelman
Tuesday the Rabbi Saw Red
by Harry Kemelman

With his Rabbi Small mysteries, acclaimed author Harry Kemelman has made the best-seller lists every day of the week! The adventures of the unassuming Rabbi are hailed by critics and fans for their wit, wisdom, and the unparalleled logic of one of t...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 05/01/1998

The Frame-Up, Meghan Scott Molin
The Frame-Up
by Meghan Scott Molin

By day she writes comic books. By night, she lives them.MG Martin lives and breathes geek culture. She even works as a writer for the comic book company she idolized as a kid. But despite her love of hooded vigilantes, MG prefers her comics stay on ...

Narrator: Andrea Emmes
Published: 12/01/2018

The Golden Tresses of the Dead A Flavia de Luce Novel, Alan Bradley
The Golden Tresses of the Dead
by Alan Bradley

A finger in a wedding cake is only the beginning in this deliciously shocking mystery featuring Flavia de Luce, “the world’s greatest adolescent British chemist/busybody/sleuth” (The Seattle Times). Although it is autumn in the sma...

Narrator: Jayne Entwistle
Published: 01/22/2019

Someday The Rabbi Will Leave, Harry Kemelman
Someday The Rabbi Will Leave
by Harry Kemelman

From Friday the Rabbi Slept Late to Thursday the Rabbi Walked Out , the best-selling Rabbi David Small series follows the perceptive small town rabbi through every challenging day of the week. Now David Small steps beyond his daily responsibilities ...

Narrator: George Guidall
Published: 04/29/1999

The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes A Stewart Hoag Mystery, David Handler
The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes
by David Handler

HARLAN COBEN calls it "One of my all-time favorite series! ...David Handler is so good at writing one smart, funny page-turner after another that he makes it look easy." Fans of JANET EVANOVICH and CARL HIAASEN, get ready. If you haven't ...

Narrator: Sean Runnette
Published: 10/31/2017

And Then You Were Gone A Novel, R. J. Jacobs
And Then You Were Gone
by R. J. Jacobs

For fans of B. A. Paris and Mary Kubica comes a propulsive, twisting psychological thriller that asks, How can you save someone else if you can't save yourself? After years of learning how to manage her bipolar disorder, Emily Firestone finally has...

Narrator: Amy McFadden
Published: 03/13/2019

Heads You Lose, Lisa Lutz
Heads You Lose
by Lisa Lutz

New York Times-bestselling author Lisa Lutz conspires with-or should we say against?-coauthor David Hayward to write an original and hilarious tag-team crime novel. Meet Paul and Lacey Hansen: orphaned, pot-growing twentysomething siblings eking o...

Narrator: Abby Craden
Published: 04/05/2011

A Quiet Life In The Country A Lady Hardcastle Mystery, T E Kinsey
A Quiet Life In The Country
by T E Kinsey

Lady Emily Hardcastle is an eccentric widow with a secret past. Florence Armstrong, her maid and confidante, is an expert in martial arts. The year is 1908 and they’ve just moved from London to the country, hoping for a quiet life.But it is no...

Narrator: Elizabeth Knowelden
Published: 10/04/2016
{"id":"2202067","ean":"9780062848345","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Word is Murder","subtitle":"","author":"Anthony Horowitz","rating_average":"4.38","narrator":"Rory Kinnear","ubr_id":"2202067","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"26.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.19","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Rory Kinnear","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 9 hr","abr_length":"Abridged: "}