• Regular: $23.99

    Sale: $16.79 (30% Off)

    Club: $11.99

Details

The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense

Author: Alafair Burke

Narrator: Xe Sands

Unabridged: 7 hr 10 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Harper Audio

Published: 01/23/2018

Genre: Fiction - Suspense

Synopsis

His ScandalHer SecretFrom New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Recommended

The Da Vinci Code
by Dan Brown

While in Paris on business, Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon receives an urgent late-night phone call: the elderly curator of the Louvre has been murdered inside the museum. Near the body, police have found a baffling cipher. While working to solv...

Narrator: Paul Michael
Published: 04/04/2006

The Broker
by John Grisham

In his final hours in the Oval Office, the outgoing President grants a controversial last-minute pardon to Joel Backman, a notorious Washington power broker who has spent the last six years hidden away in a federal prison. What no one knows is that ...

Narrator: Michael Beck,Dennis Boutsikaris
Published: 01/11/2005

The 5th Horseman
by James Patterson

It is a wild race against time as Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer and the newest member of the Women's Murder Club, attorney Yuki Castellano, lead an investigation into a string of mysterious patient deaths--and reveal a hospital administration determined ...

Narrator: Carolyn McCormick
Published: 02/27/2006

The Concrete Blonde
by Michael Connelly

The Dollmaker was the name of the serial killer who had stalked Los Angeles ruthlessly, leaving grisly calling cards on the faces of his victims. Now, with a single faultless shot, Harry Bosch thinks he has ended the city's nightmare.But the dead ma...

Narrator: Dick Hill
Published: 05/25/2005

The Shack
by William P. Young

Mackenzie Allen Phillips's youngest daughter, Missy, has been abducted during a family vacation. Evidence that she may have been brutally murdered is found in an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Four years later, in the midst of his gr...

Narrator: Roger Mueller
Published: 07/09/2013

The Beach House
by James Patterson

Jack Mullen is in law school in New York City when the news comes that his brother, Peter, has drowned in the ocean off East Hampton. Jack knows his brother practically grew up in the water, and that this couldn't be an accident. Someone must have w...

Narrator: Gil Bellows
Published: 11/01/2005

The Taking
by Dean Koontz

In one of the most dazzling books of his celebrated career, Dean Koontz delivers a masterwork of page-turning suspense that surpasses even his own inimitable reputation as a chronicler of our worst fears—and best dreams. In The Taking he tells...

Narrator: Ariadne Meyers
Published: 05/25/2004

Blind Alley
by Iris Johansen

The New York Times bestselling author of Firestorm, Iris Johansen, returns with a psychological thriller so terrifying, so relentlessly paced, it won’t leave you time to catch your breath before the next shock comes. A forensic sculptor is loc...

Narrator: Bernadette Dunne,Kate Burton
Published: 06/04/2004

The King of Torts
by John Grisham

The office of the public defender is not known as a training ground for bright young litigators. Clay Carter has been there too long and, like most of his colleagues, dreams of a better job in a real firm. When he reluctantly takes the case of a y...

Narrator: Michael Beck,Dennis Boutsikaris
Published: 02/04/2003
{"id":"2002759","ean":"9780062798473","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense","subtitle":"A Novel of Psychological Suspense","author":"Alafair Burke","rating_average":"4.00","narrator":"Xe Sands","ubr_id":"2002759","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"23.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"14.39","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Xe Sands","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 7 hr 10 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}