The White and the Gold, Thomas B. Costain
  • List: $25.00  |  Sale: $17.50
    Club: $12.50
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The White and the Gold

Author: Thomas B. Costain

Narrator: Richard Matthews

Unabridged: 16 hr 57 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Random House Audio

Published: 08/24/2010

Genre: History - World

Synopsis

This is the fascinating story of the French regime in Canada. Few periods in the history of North America can equal it for romance and color, drama and suspense, great human courage and far-seeing aspiration. Costain, who writes history in the terms of the people who lived it, wrote of this book: "Almost from the first I found myself caught in the spell of these courageous, colorful, cruel days. But whenever I found myself guilty of overstressing the romantic side of the picture and forgetful of the more prosaic life beneath, I tried to balance the scales more properly. [This] is...a conscientious effort at a balanced picture of a period which was brave, bizarre, fanatical, lyrical, lusty, and, in fact, rather completely unbalanced."

Recommended

Factfulness Ten Reasons We're Wrong About the Worldand Why Things Are Better Than You Think, Hans Rosling
Factfulness
by Hans Rosling

For fans of Freakonomics and Thinking, Fast and Slow, here is a book by Hans Rosling, the scientist called "a true inspiration" by Bill Gates, that teaches us how to see the world as it truly is. Factfulness: The stress-reducing habit of only carryi...

Narrator: Richard Harries
Published: 04/03/2018

The Silk Roads A New History of the World, Peter Frankopan
The Silk Roads
by Peter Frankopan

It was on the Silk Roads that East and West first encountered each other through trade and conquest, leading to the spread of ideas, cultures, and religions. From the rise and fall of empires to the spread of Buddhism and the advent of Christianity ...

Narrator: Laurence Kennedy
Published: 02/16/2016

The Geography of Genius A Search for the World's Most Creative Places from Ancient Athens to Silicon Valley, Eric Weiner
The Geography of Genius
by Eric Weiner

Travel the world with Eric Weiner, the New York Times bestselling author of The Geography of Bliss, as he journeys from Athens to Silicon Valley—and throughout history, too—to show how creative genius flourishes in specific places at spe...

Narrator: Eric Weiner
Published: 01/05/2016

The Six Wives of Henry VIII, Alison Weir
The Six Wives of Henry VIII
by Alison Weir

This acclaimed best-seller from popular historian Alison Weir is a fascinating look at the Tudor family dynasty and its most infamous ruler. The Six Wives of Henry VIII brings to life England’s oft-married monarch and the six wildly differen...

Narrator: Simon Prebble Prebble
Published: 02/24/2003

Origin Story A Big History of Everything, David Christian
Origin Story
by David Christian

A captivating history of the universe -- from before the dawn of time through the far reaches of the distant future. Most historians study the smallest slivers of time, emphasizing specific dates, individuals, and documents. But what would it look l...

Narrator: Jamie Jackson
Published: 05/22/2018

A Short History of Nearly Everything, Bill Bryson
A Short History of Nearly Everything
by Bill Bryson

One of the world’s most beloved and bestselling writers takes his ultimate journey -- into the most intriguing and intractable questions that science seeks to answer.In A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson trekked the Appalachian Trail -- well, mo...

Narrator: Richard Matthews,Bill Bryson
Published: 02/04/2003

A History of the World in 6 Glasses, Tom Standage
A History of the World in 6 Glasses
by Tom Standage

Throughout human history, certain drinks have done much more than just quench thirst. As Tom Standage relates with authority and charm, six of them have had a surprisingly pervasive influence on the course of history, becoming the defining drink dur...

Narrator: Sean Runnette
Published: 03/25/2011

Upheaval Turning Points for Nations in Crisis, Jared Diamond
Upheaval
by Jared Diamond

A brilliant new theory of how and why some nations recover from trauma and others don't, by the author of the landmark bestsellers Guns, Germs, and Steel and Collapse. In his earlier bestsellers Guns, Germs and Steel and Collapse, Jared Diamond tran...

Narrator: Henry Strozier
Published: 05/07/2019

A Short History of Nearly Everything, Bill Bryson
A Short History of Nearly Everything
by Bill Bryson

One of the world’s most beloved and bestselling writers takes his ultimate journey -- into the most intriguing and intractable questions that science seeks to answer.In A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson trekked the Appalachian Trail -- well, mo...

Narrator: Richard Matthews,Bill Bryson
Published: 05/06/2003
{"id":"327096","ean":"9781415911143","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The White and the Gold","subtitle":"","author":"Thomas B. Costain","rating_average":"0","narrator":"Richard Matthews","ubr_id":"327096","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"25.00","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"16.25","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"Richard Matthews","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 6 hr 30 min","abr_length":"Abridged: "}