The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals, Peter Heller
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals

Author: Peter Heller

Narrator: James Boles

Unabridged: 10 hr 54 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 10/02/2007

Genre: Nature

Synopsis

In the tradition of The Perfect Storm, The Whale Warriors takes us on a hair-raising journey aboard a whale-saving pirate ship with a vigilante crew whose mission is to stop illegal Japanese whaling in the stormy remote seas off Antarctica. For two months, journalist Peter Heller rode aboard the vegan pirate ship Farley Mowat as it stalked its prey—a Japanese whaling fleet—through the storms and ice of Antarctica. The ship is black, flies under a jolly roger, and carries members of the Sea Shepherd Society, a radical environmental group who are willing to die to stop illegal whale hunting. The Sea Shepherd ship, led by the charismatic Captain Paul Watson—a modern-day anti-Ahab—takes extreme risks in defense of whales and ratchets up the stakes. The ship is almost sunk twice, once in a force gale. Heller re-creates a nail-biting showdown when Watson and the crew attempt to ram an enormous Japanese whaling ship on the high seas, trying to tear open its hull with a steel blade called a "can opener." The crews on board both ships know that there will be no assistance in this desolate part of the ocean. In thirty-five-foot seas, it is a deadly game of Antarctic chicken and a fast-paced, rollicking adventure in which the stakes cannot be higher.

Recommended

Fire Season Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout, Philip Connors
Fire Season
by Philip Connors

List: $16.95

Sale: $11.87

Club: $8.47

Narrator: Sean Runnette
Published: 04/05/2011

Cradle to Cradle Remaking the Way We Make Things, William McDonough
Cradle to Cradle
by William McDonough

List: $15.99

Sale: $11.20

Club: $7.99

Narrator: Stephen Hoye
Published: 08/11/2008

The River A novel, Peter Heller
The River
by Peter Heller

List: $17.50

Sale: $12.25

Club: $8.75

Narrator: Mark Deakins
Published: 03/05/2019

The Soul of an Octopus A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness, Sy Montgomery
The Soul of an Octopus
by Sy Montgomery

List: $24.99

Sale: $17.50

Club: $12.49

Narrator: Sy Montgomery
Published: 05/12/2015

The Nature Principle, Richard Louv
The Nature Principle
by Richard Louv

List: $24.47

Sale: $17.13

Club: $12.23

Narrator: Rick Adamson
Published: 05/10/2011

The Perfect Storm A True Story of Men Against the Sea, Sebastian Junger
The Perfect Storm
by Sebastian Junger

List: $19.99

Sale: $13.99

Club: $9.99

Narrator: Richard Davidson
Published: 01/07/2000

The Forest Unseen A Year's Watch in Nature, David George Haskell
The Forest Unseen
by David George Haskell

List: $17.99

Sale: $12.59

Club: $8.99

Narrator: Michael Healy
Published: 01/22/2014

The Dog Stars, Peter Heller
The Dog Stars
by Peter Heller

List: $20.00

Sale: $14.00

Club: $10.00

Narrator: Mark Deakins
Published: 08/07/2012
{"id":"240701","ean":"9781400175277","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals","subtitle":"The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals","author":"Peter Heller","rating_average":"0","narrator":"James Boles","ubr_id":"240701","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"James Boles","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}