The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals, Peter Heller
  • List: $19.99  |  Sale: $13.99
    Club: $9.99
    • Facebook Share
    • Twitter Share
    • Pinterest Share

Details

The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals

Author: Peter Heller

Narrator: James Boles

Unabridged: 10 hr 54 min

Format: Digital Audiobook

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Published: 10/02/2007

Genre: Nature

Synopsis

In the tradition of The Perfect Storm, The Whale Warriors takes us on a hair-raising journey aboard a whale-saving pirate ship with a vigilante crew whose mission is to stop illegal Japanese whaling in the stormy remote seas off Antarctica.

Recommended

Never Cry Wolf, Farley Mowat
Never Cry Wolf
by Farley Mowat

More than half a century ago, the naturalist Farley Mowat accepted an assignment to investigate why wolves were killing Arctic caribou. Mowat’s account of the summer he lived in the frozen tundra alone – studying the wolf population...

Narrator: Adam Sims
Published: 06/28/2010

The Soul of an Octopus A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness, Sy Montgomery
The Soul of an Octopus
by Sy Montgomery

In this astonishing book from the author of the best selling memoir The Good Good Pig, Sy Montgomery explores the emotional and physical world of the octopus—a surprisingly complex, intelligent, and spirited creature—and the remarkable c...

Narrator: Sy Montgomery
Published: 05/12/2015

The Perfect Horse The Daring U.S. Mission to Rescue the Priceless Stallions Kidnapped by the Nazis, Elizabeth Letts
The Perfect Horse
by Elizabeth Letts

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion, the remarkable story of the heroic rescue of priceless horses in the closing days of World War II In the chaotic last days of the war, a small troop of battle-weary Amer...

Narrator: Paul Boehmer
Published: 08/23/2016

H Is for Hawk, Helen Macdonald
H Is for Hawk
by Helen Macdonald

When Helen Macdonalds father died suddenly on a London street, she was devastated. An experienced falconer captivated by hawks since childhood, shed never before been tempted to train one of the most vicious predators: the goshawk. But in her grief,...

Narrator: Helen Macdonald
Published: 03/03/2015

The Other End of the Leash: Why We Do What We Do Around Dogs, Patricia B. McConnell
The Other End of the Leash: Why We Do What We Do Around Dogs
by Patricia B. McConnell

The Other End of the Leash shares a revolutionary, new perspective on our relationship with dogs, focusing on our behavior in comparison with that of dogs. An applied animal behaviorist and dog trainer with more than twenty years experience, Dr. Pat...

Narrator: Ellen Archer
Published: 05/17/2016

Silent Spring, Rachel Carson
Silent Spring
by Rachel Carson

First published in 1962, Silent Spring can singlehandedly be credited with sounding the alarm and raising awareness of humankind's collective impact on its own future through chemical pollution. No other book has so strongly influenced the environme...

Narrator: Kaiulani Lee
Published: 11/30/2006

Braiding Sweetgrass Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants, Robin Wall Kimmerer
Braiding Sweetgrass
by Robin Wall Kimmerer

An inspired weaving of indigenous knowledge, plant science, and personal narrative from a distinguished professor of science and a Native American whose previous book, Gathering Moss, was awarded the John Burroughs Medal for outstanding nature writi...

Narrator: Robin Wall Kimmerer
Published: 07/05/2016

The Perfect Storm A True Story of Men Against the Sea, Sebastian Junger
The Perfect Storm
by Sebastian Junger

Man’s struggle against the sea is a theme that has created some of the world’s most exciting stories. Now, in the tradition of Moby Dick comes a New York Times best-seller destined to become a modern classic. Written by journalist Sebast...

Narrator: Richard Davidson
Published: 01/07/2000

The Stranger in the Woods The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit, Michael Finkel
The Stranger in the Woods
by Michael Finkel

Many people dream of escaping modern life, but most will never act on it. This is the remarkable true story of a man who lived alone in the woods of Maine for 27 years, making this dream a reality—not out of anger at the wo...

Narrator: Mark Bramhall
Published: 03/07/2017
{"id":"240701","ean":"9781400175277","abr":"Unabridged","title":"The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals","subtitle":"The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals","author":"Peter Heller","rating_average":"0","narrator":"James Boles","ubr_id":"240701","abr_id":"0","ubr_price":"19.99","abr_price":"0.00","ubr_memprice":"11.99","abr_memprice":"0.00","ubr_narrator":"James Boles","abr_narrator":"","ubr_length":"Unabridged: 11 hr ","abr_length":"Abridged: "}